Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Feb 26, 2003, 1:31 PM - Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket #176

    Ahhh, got ya!
  2. wanabe a fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    274
    Feb 26, 2003, 7:47 PM - Merged: Re: Anyone put a visor in a rubies helmet? #177

    I just cut the visor to fit real snug, and hot glued it from the inside. Worked great!
  3. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Feb 26, 2003, 8:00 PM - Merged: Re: Anyone put a visor in a rubies helmet? #178

    Mirax,
    No your rangefinder does not break into two peices.It is solid.
  4. Defiler's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,092
    Feb 27, 2003, 5:45 AM - Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket #179

    Very nice indeed.
  5. Prymer13's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,090
    Oct 24, 2003, 10:01 AM - Merged: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #180

    I am in the process of allocating my finds for a Fett helmet and I was wondering how bad a Rubies Jango helmet is?
    I realize that, from what I have read, a DP'95 is the standard. But right now I am just trying to feel out waht all of my options and possible funds need to be.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Darren
  6. GATER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    379
    Oct 24, 2003, 10:11 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #181

    You can make a rubies look great if you put some time into it. For most people it's just to small of a helmet, but if it fits you and it looks proportionately correct, go for it. Start with a new paint job, black pinstriping around the crown of the helmet, new visor, maybe a few additions to the inside of the helmet, fans, mics, etc. Take a look at Mirax's helmet to see the possibilities, hers looks great.
  7. Prymer13's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,090
    Oct 24, 2003, 10:37 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #182

    Ok, thanks for the input...now as far as making it into an accurate Boba Fett ROTJ helmet? How close is it, dent aside.

    Darren
  8. Appolo_50
    Guest
    Oct 24, 2003, 12:11 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #183

    some people have made rubies jango's look really good... for the rest of us with less talent they are only good for coasters seriously though it wouldn't work very well for a Boba... to hard to do the dent and everything. Although I think Rubies has some boba helmets but I'm not sure.
  9. Omega_Man's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    563
    Oct 24, 2003, 2:23 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #184

    The costume store here has 2 different jango helmets one is vinyl like my Don Post...the other is 2 pieces hard plastic, i believe both are Rubies uke
  10. Member Since
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    722
    Oct 24, 2003, 2:56 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #185

    In my honest opinion the Rubies Jango helmet is ,bad,bad,bad.
    If your lookig to customize it then I guess you an have a little fun with it.
  11. Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    Posts
    445
    Oct 24, 2003, 3:32 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #186

    In my humble opinion, the Rubies Jango is good for a starter helmet. Someday, I want to get my hands on a DP '95 to modify it, but for now and for the price, I love my Rubies. It's a little harder to put a visor into, because the visors on eBay are about an 1" too long, but with a dremel, you can make it work. Also, I have made some mods to mine, adding LED's and a fan to provide some better venthilation. make sure to use Plasti-Weld, instead of superglue to hold your visor, i've had bad luck with superglue on Roto-cast vinyl.
  12. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Oct 27, 2003, 1:14 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #187

    It was decent for my first helmet but after having a DP95, it sucks. Depends on what you can afford and what you have to compare it to.
  13. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 28, 2003, 11:33 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #188

    Yes!!!!
    The Number one answer is???????
    How much money can you part with at the time!!!!
  14. Komar
    Guest
    Dec 23, 2003, 12:46 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #189

    Can you substantiate why you think the Rubies helmets are "bad,bad,bad"? I mean, that's not a horribly helpful description
  15. Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,566
    Dec 23, 2003, 1:54 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #190

    It's way too small and it's very short height wise, leaving the chin exposed on many people.
  16. BobaFettish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    3,228
    Dec 23, 2003, 8:59 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #191

  17. Member Since
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    946
    Dec 23, 2003, 9:47 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #192

    You can modify a Rubies in a lot of ways but if you strip down a DP helmet and a Rubies down to the bone....you'll see a few positives leaning toward the DP. Size and length are sure to stand out. (That sounded kind of porno didn't it?)
    In my case, I bought the Rubies Deluxe thinking I'm getting all the bells and whistles. I was happy when I got it but after the spell wore off....I started to feel like I was getting screwed because this isn't the same Helmet that was advertised. But it was. That's when I accidently found this site because I was trying to find any reference pics for Jango so I can fix up the helmet the right way. I would jump all over a DP 95 but when you have the money, there are none to be found and vise versa. Also, DP as far as I was told didn't make anymore Boba helmets. So...I took a shot in the dark thinking the Rubies was just as good as a DP. If the only choice is a Rubies...then be prepared to roll up your sleeves and put some elbow grease into it. If you want to install computer fans in a Rubies......good luck.

  18. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Dec 24, 2003, 9:52 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #193

    After having owned one and then owned some that are much nicer, I can now say it is bad. It is just too small, and I'm 5'2" and is just poorly shaped. Granted, it was super cheap and when $ is tight, you have to suck it up but I've come to realize that some things are worth waiting for a doing them right and the bucket is definitely one of them.
  19. Komar
    Guest
    Jan 2, 2004, 6:05 AM - Merged: Re: Exactly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #194

    What about a DP '96? I've seen that the 1997's aren't very good, but the '95 helmets are hard to come by. I think they're more expensive, too, so I'm looking at a '96.

    I've got a Rubies on its way, but I've got a big head, so I'm already looking to upgrade before I even try it on

    (Email me if you're in the market for a Rubies, heh.)

    Also, how close do Boba's and Jango's helmets actually match, in size and shape (not colour or damage)? Boba's looks flatter on top, I think...
  20. Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    Posts
    445
    Jan 4, 2004, 9:35 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #195

    I take back everything I said about the Rubies. I finally saw some pics with the helmet on and it's too short and too small for a person with a larger head. I have gotten my hands on a '95 DP and a fiberglass helmet from JD. I love my JD helmet and would never think about ever going back to a Rubies. Save your money and get a fiberglass helm from JD.
  21. askywalker98's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,673
    Jan 5, 2004, 1:37 PM - Merged: Rubies not shiny #196

    Hey everyone, I'm new here.

    Are the Rubies Jango helmets kind of dull? I was looking at some pictures of them on ebay and they looked like they dont have that metallic shine that other jango helmets have.

    Thanks
    -Anthony
  22. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Jan 5, 2004, 1:51 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #197

    They are not shiny.
  23. Komar
    Guest
    Jan 12, 2004, 5:44 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #198

    I'm 6'3", with a fairly long, thin head. (I think my hat size is around 7 1/2.) The only problem I have with my Rubies helmet are the cheek indentations from the inside. They make it a bit difficult to put on the helmet, and extremely hard while wearing my glasses. On the other hand, unless I'm trying to swallow a watermelon, my chin doesn't fall lower than the base of the helmet.

    I don't understand that people find this mask too short. Too narrow, maybe, but this helmet should fit nicely on a smaller head. Slicing out the area where the visor doesn't cover (in front of the mouth) and adding a full, proper visor should fix the shape somewhat.

    (There's a lot of excess plastic around the visor hole, which should probably be cut away as well, to expand the view while wearing it.)

    I suppose a true, smaller-headed artisan could do well with a Rubies, despite their inferiority. (Even a DP '95 needs a lot of work, right?)
  24. Komar
    Guest
    Jan 12, 2004, 7:25 AM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #199

    I just tried my Rubies on again:

    Okay, I was wrong - it is too short. However, that's only really if I open my mouth as wide as I can...

    I haven't worn this one too often because the cheeks push in on my face, but I still don't think it'll be a huge problem for smaller Jangos.

    On the other hand, I did pay about $20 less for a DP '96 on eBay than I did for this one, and I saw about three of them while cruising the auctions last night ('95s and/or '96s I think), so for that reason alone, I'd recommend a DP. Well, not just that reason, but if a Rubies fits, no sense going broke shelling out for a new helmet. Either way, there's a lot of work to do.
  25. Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,566
    Jan 12, 2004, 5:33 PM - Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango? #200

    The helmet can make or break a costume. A tiny Rubies on an average sized or larger man significantly degrades the costume IMO.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM