Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 3456789 LastLast

Rubies Helmet Review

  1. #176
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Ahhh, got ya!

  2. #177
    wanabe a fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    Morgantown, WV
    Posts
    274

    Merged: Re: Anyone put a visor in a rubies helmet?

    I just cut the visor to fit real snug, and hot glued it from the inside. Worked great!

  3. #178

    Merged: Re: Anyone put a visor in a rubies helmet?

    Mirax,
    No your rangefinder does not break into two peices.It is solid.

  4. #179
    Defiler's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,092

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Very nice indeed.

  5. #180
    Prymer13's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    VIRGINIA BEACH...VA
    Posts
    1,090

    Merged: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    I am in the process of allocating my finds for a Fett helmet and I was wondering how bad a Rubies Jango helmet is?
    I realize that, from what I have read, a DP'95 is the standard. But right now I am just trying to feel out waht all of my options and possible funds need to be.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Darren

  6. #181

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    You can make a rubies look great if you put some time into it. For most people it's just to small of a helmet, but if it fits you and it looks proportionately correct, go for it. Start with a new paint job, black pinstriping around the crown of the helmet, new visor, maybe a few additions to the inside of the helmet, fans, mics, etc. Take a look at Mirax's helmet to see the possibilities, hers looks great.

  7. #182
    Prymer13's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    VIRGINIA BEACH...VA
    Posts
    1,090

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    Ok, thanks for the input...now as far as making it into an accurate Boba Fett ROTJ helmet? How close is it, dent aside.

    Darren

  8. #183
    Appolo_50
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    some people have made rubies jango's look really good... for the rest of us with less talent they are only good for coasters seriously though it wouldn't work very well for a Boba... to hard to do the dent and everything. Although I think Rubies has some boba helmets but I'm not sure.

  9. #184

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    The costume store here has 2 different jango helmets one is vinyl like my Don Post...the other is 2 pieces hard plastic, i believe both are Rubies uke

  10. #185

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    In my honest opinion the Rubies Jango helmet is ,bad,bad,bad.
    If your lookig to customize it then I guess you an have a little fun with it.

  11. #186
    Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Detroit, MI - The Home of Rock and Roll
    Posts
    445

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    In my humble opinion, the Rubies Jango is good for a starter helmet. Someday, I want to get my hands on a DP '95 to modify it, but for now and for the price, I love my Rubies. It's a little harder to put a visor into, because the visors on eBay are about an 1" too long, but with a dremel, you can make it work. Also, I have made some mods to mine, adding LED's and a fan to provide some better venthilation. make sure to use Plasti-Weld, instead of superglue to hold your visor, i've had bad luck with superglue on Roto-cast vinyl.

  12. #187
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    It was decent for my first helmet but after having a DP95, it sucks. Depends on what you can afford and what you have to compare it to.

  13. #188

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    Yes!!!!
    The Number one answer is???????
    How much money can you part with at the time!!!!

  14. #189
    Komar
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    Can you substantiate why you think the Rubies helmets are "bad,bad,bad"? I mean, that's not a horribly helpful description

  15. #190
    Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,566

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    It's way too small and it's very short height wise, leaving the chin exposed on many people.

  16. #191
    BobaFettish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    3,228

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?


  17. #192

    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    SouthWest, Florida
    Posts
    946

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    You can modify a Rubies in a lot of ways but if you strip down a DP helmet and a Rubies down to the bone....you'll see a few positives leaning toward the DP. Size and length are sure to stand out. (That sounded kind of porno didn't it?)
    In my case, I bought the Rubies Deluxe thinking I'm getting all the bells and whistles. I was happy when I got it but after the spell wore off....I started to feel like I was getting screwed because this isn't the same Helmet that was advertised. But it was. That's when I accidently found this site because I was trying to find any reference pics for Jango so I can fix up the helmet the right way. I would jump all over a DP 95 but when you have the money, there are none to be found and vise versa. Also, DP as far as I was told didn't make anymore Boba helmets. So...I took a shot in the dark thinking the Rubies was just as good as a DP. If the only choice is a Rubies...then be prepared to roll up your sleeves and put some elbow grease into it. If you want to install computer fans in a Rubies......good luck.


  18. #193
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    After having owned one and then owned some that are much nicer, I can now say it is bad. It is just too small, and I'm 5'2" and is just poorly shaped. Granted, it was super cheap and when $ is tight, you have to suck it up but I've come to realize that some things are worth waiting for a doing them right and the bucket is definitely one of them.

  19. #194
    Komar
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Exactly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    What about a DP '96? I've seen that the 1997's aren't very good, but the '95 helmets are hard to come by. I think they're more expensive, too, so I'm looking at a '96.

    I've got a Rubies on its way, but I've got a big head, so I'm already looking to upgrade before I even try it on

    (Email me if you're in the market for a Rubies, heh.)

    Also, how close do Boba's and Jango's helmets actually match, in size and shape (not colour or damage)? Boba's looks flatter on top, I think...

  20. #195
    Michigan Jaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2003
    From
    Detroit, MI - The Home of Rock and Roll
    Posts
    445

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    I take back everything I said about the Rubies. I finally saw some pics with the helmet on and it's too short and too small for a person with a larger head. I have gotten my hands on a '95 DP and a fiberglass helmet from JD. I love my JD helmet and would never think about ever going back to a Rubies. Save your money and get a fiberglass helm from JD.

  21. #196
    askywalker98's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2004
    From
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    1,673

    Merged: Rubies not shiny

    Hey everyone, I'm new here.

    Are the Rubies Jango helmets kind of dull? I was looking at some pictures of them on ebay and they looked like they dont have that metallic shine that other jango helmets have.

    Thanks
    -Anthony

  22. #197
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    They are not shiny.

  23. #198
    Komar
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    I'm 6'3", with a fairly long, thin head. (I think my hat size is around 7 1/2.) The only problem I have with my Rubies helmet are the cheek indentations from the inside. They make it a bit difficult to put on the helmet, and extremely hard while wearing my glasses. On the other hand, unless I'm trying to swallow a watermelon, my chin doesn't fall lower than the base of the helmet.

    I don't understand that people find this mask too short. Too narrow, maybe, but this helmet should fit nicely on a smaller head. Slicing out the area where the visor doesn't cover (in front of the mouth) and adding a full, proper visor should fix the shape somewhat.

    (There's a lot of excess plastic around the visor hole, which should probably be cut away as well, to expand the view while wearing it.)

    I suppose a true, smaller-headed artisan could do well with a Rubies, despite their inferiority. (Even a DP '95 needs a lot of work, right?)

  24. #199
    Komar
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    I just tried my Rubies on again:

    Okay, I was wrong - it is too short. However, that's only really if I open my mouth as wide as I can...

    I haven't worn this one too often because the cheeks push in on my face, but I still don't think it'll be a huge problem for smaller Jangos.

    On the other hand, I did pay about $20 less for a DP '96 on eBay than I did for this one, and I saw about three of them while cruising the auctions last night ('95s and/or '96s I think), so for that reason alone, I'd recommend a DP. Well, not just that reason, but if a Rubies fits, no sense going broke shelling out for a new helmet. Either way, there's a lot of work to do.

  25. #200
    Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,566

    Merged: Re: Exactlly how bad is a Rubies Jango?

    The helmet can make or break a costume. A tiny Rubies on an average sized or larger man significantly degrades the costume IMO.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •