Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456789 LastLast

Rubies Helmet Review

  1. #151
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Great job and love the tutorial!

  2. #152
    Fett4u's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Posts
    310

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    What is that you used to cover those parts during painting? Plain Masking tape? and how did you go about getting it like you did?

  3. #153
    TK1174
    Guest

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Thanks everyone for there kind words.

    I am very anxious to finish up the rest of
    the costume now.

    If any one has a good contact for a fiberglass helmet please email me privately.

    As for the question about the tape...
    I used two kinds of painters tape.
    Both thick and thin.

    I just used multiple layers to cover every inch of the
    helmet I didnt want to get painted.

    Dont forget to use automotive pinstripping
    underneath to keep the paint lines nice a crisp!

    Hope it helps!

    TK-1174
    Empire City Garrison

  4. #154
    wanabe a fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    Morgantown, WV
    Posts
    274

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    WOW!!! Looks like you got a winner.

  5. #155

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Looking good Rich!!!!
    You'll serve the ECG proud.
    Lynn

  6. #156
    fett-uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    From
    manchester, UK
    Posts
    369

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Just goes to show what a talented Mandalore can do to a Rubies Jango. Now a Rubies Boba, thats a challenge.b

    I think even TK 1174 `s immense talent may struggle on that one




  7. #157
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    I just got my helmet back from Shawnpayne yesterday and here are the before and after pics. It is a heavily mocified Rubies helmet. He first tried to use some bondo on the inside to give it some weight and strength but it wouldn't stick so he lined it with fiberglass first. Still didn't feel rigth so added bondo on top of the fiberglass. He relpaced the visor (which was a royal pain), and replaced the rangefinder and antenna. Helmet was repainted and pinstripes added. Weathering was done by misting black flat spray paint from about 3 feet away then wet sanding with 400 grit sandpaper. As for the inside, 2 cooling fans were placed inside each cheek. A microphone with a female RCA line was added so the speaker system will plug into the helmet so you can take the helmet off and on and not have to worry about wires. A hard hat liner was added for it to fit better and not move around. And last but not least, a bright and colorful lining to match my personality Weel, here's the pics:

    Before- Ughh!


    After- Much better, and a lot heavier feel to it too!











    Here's what the inside looks like:

  8. #158

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Looks great Mirax! A very definite improvement on the Rubies helmet, congrats to you and shawnpane.

    When the costume is ready we hope you'll pay us all a visit up here Nothing quite like trooping the strip

    Take care,
    Great helmet!
    Phil

  9. #159

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Very nice Mirax.

    He does a great job of weathering.


  10. #160
    Bountys Hunted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,354

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Oh yeah! WAAAAAY Better Bucket!!

    Looks like something you can be very proud of!

    Darn nice job!

    Mirax, how about a little more info on your speaker/mic setup?

    Puhl-eeze?!




  11. #161
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Thanks gang. And I definitely am looking forward to trying to get up there for some troopin on the strip JMP. As for the mic questions, you'll have to ask Shawn. I am clueless when it comes to electronics, hence my reason for having him do it for me

  12. #162
    Bountys Hunted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,354

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Okay! Thanks Mirax!

  13. #163
    fett-uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    From
    manchester, UK
    Posts
    369

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    very nice!
    it mazing what can be done with a rubies and a lot of hard work.
    like the interior, maybe you could do a custome with that colour scheme on the outside grooovy fett


  14. #164
    Appolo_50
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    looks good.... can't wait to see it on you

    hehe

  15. #165
    SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,362

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Lets see uhmm needs more weathering?

    Just kidding

  16. #166

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    That looks great!
    Its nice to see what can be done w/ a Rubies bucket...

  17. #167
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    And for only costing me $35 (plus a slave leia costume) it ain't too bad and will certainly do until I decide to upgrade.

  18. #168
    wanabe a fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    Morgantown, WV
    Posts
    274

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    WOW!!! Be proud to sport that RUBIES!!!

  19. #169
    TK-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    Beattyville, KY
    Posts
    1,426

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Looks like you got one heck of a Rubies there Mirax. Now lets see a pic with you in that with your armor on.

  20. #170

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Hey!Hey!
    Ha-ha yeah!!!!!!

  21. #171

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    looks great.cant even tell its a rubies.

    how did you get the flare?

  22. #172

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Huge,Huge,Pain in the ass.
    This may sound kind A funny(like the sweater bckplate and blowtorch)I taped A couple of pencils togather.I used themto hold the shape of the helmet while I lined with fiberglass.
    Once the fiber was dried.Moved the pencils to do the other parts of the helmet.The flair was the hardest thing to do.
    Make sure the flair is were you want it then,Duct tape the pencils to hold them in place.It worked for me.The next hardest pain in the ass is the visor.Oh dear god.All I could think is what did I get myself into.I don't know who first
    tried to hot glue the visor in the helmet.But thank you.I used
    hot glue to first hold the visor in place.Then can you say two part epoxy? (I knew you could)To make it secure.I must admit that the inside did not turn out as cleen as I had hoped
    But hell it's A rubbies.To me space insid the bucket was A little tight.I just hope mirax is thrilled.I know I am with my
    slave costume.I would post some pics of he slave costume.But I am A little hairy,and buldge in some spots.Besides,There are
    children you visit here.With all the injustice in the world.I don't want to scar them for life.lol

  23. #173

    Merged: Re: Anyone put a visor in a rubies helmet?

    I found out the hard way,Bondo does not stick to rubbies.Use
    fiberglass.Then use bondo.I hot glued the visor in place.Then ued the two part epoxy.

  24. #174
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    Actually, I didn't feel cramped at all inside of it at all, just can't see worth a darn. But I have to say, it actually feels heavy on my head now, much much heavier and sturdier than how it started. I think it is a great example of what can be done with a Rubies, they aren't complete junk and I'm very happy with it I will definitely post pics of me in it once my armor is done and attached- very soon

  25. #175

    Merged: Re: Here's my highly modified Rubies Bucket

    I didn't mean snug to wear.Snug to get big hands inside.It was A real pain in the ass doing the liner.But hell I didn't want to take all the fun out of it for ya mirax,ha ha.Just enjoy.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •