Rubies Helmet Review

  1. #126
    Kr0nk
    Guest

    Merged: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    It's actually not that bad. I'm not what you would call "impressed" by it, but it's not nearly as bad some of the things I've heard about it. There's only a slight degree of warping that five minutes with a heat gun would fix. And amazingly enough, the proportions look almost right for my 5' 10" frame.

    And while it's neat to claim that I finally own a Fett helmet, I'm pretty sure I'm going to put it up for auction soon. I'd like to hold out for a fiberglass helmet (wink wink, oh white Mandalore )

    So the overall impression is good, and with some work it could be a good helmet.

  2. #127

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    I have been saying the same thing for a while now. Its not bad for a starter and if you know what your doin, you can make it look pretty decent...
    Shawnpane is doin one right now, Iam curious to see how it comes out

  3. #128

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    I'm actually very happy with how my rubies turned out. I was going to
    sell it on ebay shortly after Halloween...and convert my DP 96 into a
    better Jango...but I've decided to go ahead and tweak the rubies a
    while longer. I already replaced the visor & repainted most of it. I
    also added LEDs to the rangefinder. I plan on working on the neck
    gasket next. It's a very customize-friendly helmet...and the proportions,
    like you say, are really not too bad...just a little short in the cheeks &
    back of the head.

    I give it a 6 1/2 out of a scale of 1 to 10.



  4. #129
    judz dwedd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    1,529

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...


  5. #130

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...


    Kr0nk wrote:

    And amazingly enough, the proportions look almost right for my 5' 10" frame.
    When you say "almost right," what do you mean? I've been thinking about getting one for Barbie Fett use, since I just can't bring myself to paint my 96 DP yellow and lavender. (Besides, it's absolutely huge on me.)

  6. #131
    ShocKWavE's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,092

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    We should be thankful that someone at least manufactures a decent helmet. Sure the Rubies isn't movie spec, but it sure isnt bad and if I saw it on the street, I would say "Cool, check out Jango Fett".

    On another note, the term "Barbie Fett" is REALLY disturbing. I mean, I'm sure you are cool and everything, but you are really sending a quake in the force with those two words. How about at least Fem Fett or something??? Please?

  7. #132

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    You've got Blastech to thank for the name. Give me a little time to think about it and I'll come up with something. Just hasn't been on my priority list so far. (It makes my brother cringe, so it's fun at least in that respect.)

  8. #133
    Kr0nk
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    Speaking of Femm Fett...




    For the proportions I mean it is only slightly small on me. Barely noticable, except to our well trained eyes. To a bystander of a non-Fettnatic, it could pass for correct.

  9. #134
    ShocKWavE's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,092

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    Now thats sweet.

  10. #135

    Member Since
    Jul 2002
    From
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    210

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    Whoa...was that done by hand in photoshop?

  11. #136
    Kr0nk
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    Don't know really. It was done by an artist named James Gibson for the Star Wars Artists Guild. Here's another Mandalorian by the same artist.


  12. #137

    <B>Merged:</B> Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...


    Kr0nk wrote:

    Speaking of Femm Fett...

    HOT

  13. #138
    Defiler's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,092

    Merged: Re: Just got my Rubies Jango helmet and...

    My girl friend wanted a girl Fett costume, now I am exited on starting that project thanx to that picture.

  14. #139
    fett-uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    From
    manchester, UK
    Posts
    369

    Merged: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    I need a bit of advise with my next project, a Jango suit. What is the best option a Rubies Jango helmet or convert a DP 97? money is a slight issue especially this close to the festive season and all that, but no biggie.

    any thoughts!!

    Fett-uk

  15. #140
    TK-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    Beattyville, KY
    Posts
    1,426

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    The DP will be bigger. I have both helmets and can tell you that the DP97 is larger than the rubies. The rubies is a softer material also. So I would go with the 97.


  16. #141
    Defiler's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,092

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    I would have to say, wait for a nice helmet to appear on ebay, I saw a nice fully converted jango helmet the other day in ebay that I think is from a TDH member. If it gets too expensive there will be others. If you are in a hurry go for the Don Post but buildind a nice costume takes time so don't buy the first thing you see, when you can wait a bit more and surely get something nicer and maybe cheaper.

  17. #142
    formerly slave1117a vaders right hand's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Hoth wisconsin
    Posts
    462

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    I say reshape the dp 97 ( give it little flair and fix the indent fill in the Hole) i have had both and for all the 97 dp's problems it still looks more accurate

  18. #143
    secol_FETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    on the country whit name of chili(aji in spanish)
    Posts
    2,036

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    i second delfier and slave1117a
    wait for another, or convert your DP, and later you can buy ohter Boba style



  19. #144

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    Yeah...there seems to be a converted '95 up on ebay now! hmmm...

  20. #145
    fett-uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    From
    manchester, UK
    Posts
    369

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    Theres nothing like a blatant plug
    looking good sith, I think i'll opt for the conversion if it comes out nearly as nice as that i'll be happy.
    I could however just bid on yours and tell everybody I did it myself!

    Fett-UK

  21. #146

    Merged: Re: Rubies Jango vs DP Boba conversion

    I;ve seen Sith-Camaro's in person and it is niiice...obviously by an artist who truly cares about his work.

  22. #147
    TK1174
    Guest

    Merged: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Hey all,

    It took me FOREVER because I am such a slacker but here are some pics of my converted rubies Jango Helmet.

    Check it out at:
    http://imageevent.com/rekopacz/jangofetthelmet

    I obviously need to still add the pinstripping and permanetly glue to rangefinger on the stalk but otherwise IM all done.

    My only concern now is that the rubies helmet is WAY to small.
    I may have to upgrade to a fiberglass one now that I have the practice helmet complete.

    TK-1174
    Empire City Garrison
    www.geocities.com/rekopacz

  23. #148

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Great job on the tutorial, and the helmet as well. I think your ready for the fibergalss[img]images/smiles//icon6.gif[/img]

  24. #149

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    People are doing some really nice work w/ their rubies buckets. Its too bad that they are not a little larger.

    Looks great man

  25. #150
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Merged: Re: My Converted Rubies Helmet

    Looking good man!

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •