Subscribe
  1. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 24, 2002, 11:38 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #76

    I was sucked in by that pic also. The rubies is not too bad after some work.

    Mike
  2. Spidey2222's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    889
    Oct 24, 2002, 12:55 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #77

    Also, Stay far away from the 2 piece helmet. I saw some at a costume shop and they suck bad. That's about all I can say about it.
  3. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Oct 24, 2002, 1:05 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #78

    I saw that 2 part one also. The only thing good on it is the range finder and it even looked short.

    Eric
  4. fett-uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    369
    Oct 24, 2002, 1:12 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #79

    Talking of Rubies has anyone seen the Jango Fett Delux Costume HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA a freind of mine bought one by mail order - he was gutted.
    If you havn't seen it picture novelty pyjamas!!!!
  5. gwizah_fett
    Guest
    Oct 24, 2002, 3:59 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #80

    hahaha, yeah I hope rubies comes out with a "deluxe" edition Zam Wessell. We can look forward to seeing a skin tight pair of ladies jammies with the armor stenciled on.

    For crying out loud Rubies! You can vacuform thin styrene chest plates, glue it to a pre-made vinyl vest, vacuform some thigh, shin, and kneepads, give them some elastic bands. Then slap the whole thing onto a thin blue chemical jumpsuit with a pair of vacuformed styrene gauntlets...VIOLA! You have a very nice Jango for about $12 (in bulk), which you can still mark up to $60-$70 and make a hefty profit. Geez, at least have some pride in your work. I mean I would hate to be a kid whose parents spent $35 for the Jango holsters + $60 for the deluxe costume only to look like a complete moron in a pair of underoos.

    That's why Ive always made my costumes since I was age 9.
  6. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,654
    Oct 24, 2002, 4:54 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #81

    gwizah_fett wrote:...... only to look like a complete moron in a pair of underoos.




  7. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:19 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #82

    I don't care who you are,or were your from.Don't buy A rubbies
    helmet.Save your money.You would have A better product if you
    found A D.P.(never thought I'd say that)
  8. gwizah_fett
    Guest
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:25 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #83

    Actually shawpane, the rubies is not that bad considering the alternatives, spend time + money searching for a DP, get a DP recast, or get a FG cast of a mystery helmet...The rubies is actually a decent helmet, the top is not flat like some DP's Ive seen, plus the vinyl material holds it shape well.
  9. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:28 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #84

    I wouldn't wish A rubbies helmet on A broke dick dog.But to each there own.Did you see A size diff on these helmets?
  10. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 24, 2002, 6:18 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #85

    Broke dick dog""
  11. Member Since
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    946
    Oct 25, 2002, 12:54 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #86

    If you notice...it seems all the sellers on Ebay are using the same pic on all their helmets. Even on the 2 piece cheapo. uke
  12. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 25, 2002, 1:03 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #87

    They know,
    If you buy it.You'll know to.
  13. Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    544
    Oct 25, 2002, 2:43 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #88

    I dislike the Rubies intensely, because not only does it suck, but they are charging twice as much money as DP charged for their helmet that sucked only marginally less.

    Sadly, I am short enough that I have no neck in the DP helmet. No, I can't just put the helmet up higher...not if I want to see anything. I will probably end up wearing the awful Rubies thing, if I can find one on clearance.
  14. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 25, 2002, 4:21 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #89

    Lisa,
    Good luck finding one on clearance. All the suckers(myself included) snaged them all up in my area!

    Mike
  15. mindphunk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    476
    Oct 26, 2002, 5:12 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #90

    I went to a costume shop today and saw that they were sold out of the jango jammies. Sold out? A town this small, certainly I'll run into someone at one of the bars wearing jango jammies. I cant wait....
  16. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 4:46 PM - Merged: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #91

    What mods can you do to a Rubies Jango helmet to make it better or more accurate?
  17. Spidey2222's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    889
    Nov 10, 2002, 5:15 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #92

    If I had a Rubies helmet, I would modify who owns it by dumping it off on someone on ebay.
  18. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 6:33 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #93

    Ouch. They're that bad?
  19. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Nov 10, 2002, 7:16 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #94

    They are not that bad, but they are not DP's either. It will need a paint job and a full visor to begin with. I have one and it is ok.
  20. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 7:38 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #95

    I think I can handle that. How bad are they size-wise?
  21. whojedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    212
    Nov 10, 2002, 8:09 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #96

    I'm 6'2" and it is WAY too small on me.

    That is why I am ditching it...
  22. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 8:21 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #97

    Ah, well I am only 5' 9".
  23. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Nov 10, 2002, 9:51 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #98

    I am 5,11" and it looks a little small on me but I figure it will do untill I find a better one. There are a couple of pics of mine on mgr's finished jango
  24. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 9:59 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #99

    What I am hoping to do is recast it and make a fiberglass copy. Once I recast I can modify the mold however I need to.
  25. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Nov 10, 2002, 10:05 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #100

    My buddy Shawnpayne is modifying one for me as part of a trade. I'm only 5'2" so it fits me well. He's put in a new visor and rangefinder, a hard hat liner(I think), he fiberglassed the inside to make it more sturdy and put a pretty crushed velvet liner inside He's installing some cooling fans and a mic system for me and will be repainting the entire helmet as well. I'll be posting pics when I get it.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 3:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 12:50 PM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 3:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 9:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 10:48 PM