Subscribe
  1. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 24, 2002, 11:38 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #76

    I was sucked in by that pic also. The rubies is not too bad after some work.

    Mike

  2. Spidey2222's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    889
    Oct 24, 2002, 12:55 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #77

    Also, Stay far away from the 2 piece helmet. I saw some at a costume shop and they suck bad. That's about all I can say about it.
  3. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Oct 24, 2002, 1:05 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #78

    I saw that 2 part one also. The only thing good on it is the range finder and it even looked short.

    Eric
  4. fett uk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    369
    Oct 24, 2002, 1:12 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #79

    Talking of Rubies has anyone seen the Jango Fett Delux Costume HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA a freind of mine bought one by mail order - he was gutted.
    If you havn't seen it picture novelty pyjamas!!!!
  5. gwizah_fett
    Guest
    Oct 24, 2002, 3:59 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #80

    hahaha, yeah I hope rubies comes out with a "deluxe" edition Zam Wessell. We can look forward to seeing a skin tight pair of ladies jammies with the armor stenciled on.

    For crying out loud Rubies! You can vacuform thin styrene chest plates, glue it to a pre-made vinyl vest, vacuform some thigh, shin, and kneepads, give them some elastic bands. Then slap the whole thing onto a thin blue chemical jumpsuit with a pair of vacuformed styrene gauntlets...VIOLA! You have a very nice Jango for about $12 (in bulk), which you can still mark up to $60-$70 and make a hefty profit. Geez, at least have some pride in your work. I mean I would hate to be a kid whose parents spent $35 for the Jango holsters + $60 for the deluxe costume only to look like a complete moron in a pair of underoos.

    That's why Ive always made my costumes since I was age 9.
  6. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,658
    Oct 24, 2002, 4:54 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #81

    gwizah_fett wrote:...... only to look like a complete moron in a pair of underoos.




  7. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:19 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #82

    I don't care who you are,or were your from.Don't buy A rubbies
    helmet.Save your money.You would have A better product if you
    found A D.P.(never thought I'd say that)
  8. gwizah_fett
    Guest
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:25 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #83

    Actually shawpane, the rubies is not that bad considering the alternatives, spend time + money searching for a DP, get a DP recast, or get a FG cast of a mystery helmet...The rubies is actually a decent helmet, the top is not flat like some DP's Ive seen, plus the vinyl material holds it shape well.
  9. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 24, 2002, 5:28 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #84

    I wouldn't wish A rubbies helmet on A broke dick dog.But to each there own.Did you see A size diff on these helmets?
  10. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 24, 2002, 6:18 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #85

    Broke dick dog""
  11. Member Since
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    946
    Oct 25, 2002, 12:54 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #86

    If you notice...it seems all the sellers on Ebay are using the same pic on all their helmets. Even on the 2 piece cheapo. uke
  12. Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    507
    Oct 25, 2002, 1:03 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #87

    They know,
    If you buy it.You'll know to.
  13. Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    544
    Oct 25, 2002, 2:43 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #88

    I dislike the Rubies intensely, because not only does it suck, but they are charging twice as much money as DP charged for their helmet that sucked only marginally less.

    Sadly, I am short enough that I have no neck in the DP helmet. No, I can't just put the helmet up higher...not if I want to see anything. I will probably end up wearing the awful Rubies thing, if I can find one on clearance.
  14. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Oct 25, 2002, 4:21 PM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #89

    Lisa,
    Good luck finding one on clearance. All the suckers(myself included) snaged them all up in my area!

    Mike
  15. mindphunk's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    476
    Oct 26, 2002, 5:12 AM - Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to #90

    I went to a costume shop today and saw that they were sold out of the jango jammies. Sold out? A town this small, certainly I'll run into someone at one of the bars wearing jango jammies. I cant wait....
  16. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 4:46 PM - Merged: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #91

    What mods can you do to a Rubies Jango helmet to make it better or more accurate?
  17. Spidey2222's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    889
    Nov 10, 2002, 5:15 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #92

    If I had a Rubies helmet, I would modify who owns it by dumping it off on someone on ebay.
  18. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 6:33 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #93

    Ouch. They're that bad?
  19. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Nov 10, 2002, 7:16 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #94

    They are not that bad, but they are not DP's either. It will need a paint job and a full visor to begin with. I have one and it is ok.
  20. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 7:38 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #95

    I think I can handle that. How bad are they size-wise?
  21. whojedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    212
    Nov 10, 2002, 8:09 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #96

    I'm 6'2" and it is WAY too small on me.

    That is why I am ditching it...
  22. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 8:21 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #97

    Ah, well I am only 5' 9".
  23. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Nov 10, 2002, 9:51 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #98

    I am 5,11" and it looks a little small on me but I figure it will do untill I find a better one. There are a couple of pics of mine on mgr's finished jango
  24. Kr0nk
    Guest
    Nov 10, 2002, 9:59 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #99

    What I am hoping to do is recast it and make a fiberglass copy. Once I recast I can modify the mold however I need to.
  25. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Nov 10, 2002, 10:05 PM - Merged: Re: Mods to the Rubies Jango helmet #100

    My buddy Shawnpayne is modifying one for me as part of a trade. I'm only 5'2" so it fits me well. He's put in a new visor and rangefinder, a hard hat liner(I think), he fiberglassed the inside to make it more sturdy and put a pretty crushed velvet liner inside He's installing some cooling fans and a mic system for me and will be repainting the entire helmet as well. I'll be posting pics when I get it.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 3:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 12:50 PM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 3:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 9:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 10:48 PM