Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast

Rubies Helmet Review

  1. #51
    Jango Fett Costume
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications


  2. #52
    Jango_Fetts_Clone
    Guest

    Re: Rubies Helmet Review

    Seems that you and I are about the same size. I'm 5'3". Even though this helmet is not 100% what I want, I think I'll still get one, just so I can complete my costume in time for Halloween (after a little rework). For all of those that ordered one and were upset when it looked NOTHING like the pictures on the web site, have you considered getting together and getting a lawyer to sue them for false advertising? It might finally wake Rubies up to the fact that they produce CRAPPY costume accessories. This seems to me like a fairly clear cut case of "bait and switch", showing a picture of a fantastic looking helmet, calling it a collectors edition, and shipping something that looks this bad.

  3. #53
    Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Kingman, Arizona, United States, 107964532558835, Kingman, Arizona
    Posts
    5,575

    Re: Rubies Helmet Review

    Hmm, that actually isn't a bad idea and it sounds like you might actually have a case.

  4. #54

    Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications

    Instead of R/B has anyone tried Rust-Oleum Clear Coat Laquer...It is really glossy and creates a shell. It is almost like fiberglassing the helmet. Paint the helmet how you want it, I used Rust-Oleum Silver, Painters touch Royal blue for the light part and Wildflower for the dark. After you paint it and it has dried put on the clear coat laquer....Your paint will never come off or dull.

  5. #55

    Merged: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Has anyone else come across that description of the Rubies helmet? They also say Rubies is producing high and low quality versions of the helmet?

    Are they referring to the 2 dimensional open-back "mask" as the low quality version? I'm confused.

    Here's what I'm talking about:
    http://www.toynk.com/catalog/jango_f...et_1318914.htm

    "Pre-Sale (August/September). The Collector's Edition of the Jango Fett Helmet. Made of high quality, injected plastic. Will fit most adults. PLEASE NOTE - Rubies is producing high-quality and lower-quality versions of this helmet. This is the higher quality version."

  6. #56

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    I've seen one of these things... they are really cheesy... not worth the money at all... And the store that sells them here has them only with the pajama costume as well...

    Most of the masks I saw at our large Halloween store were all crushed in the forehead... (not dented... ) so they aren't high quality at all...

    The collectors edition is made much better... Though it's more like a soft plastic latex or something rather than hard thick plastic. In other words, it can bend and is more like rubber...

    okay, searching for the right words here... hope it made sense. *L*

    In anycase, I'm hoping my home made one turns out at least as good as the collecters and will most likely be better than the delux.

    Guri

  7. #57

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Maybe the deluxe version comes with a decapitated head inside?


  8. #58
    mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    It is GARBAGE! I have seen one and tried it on. It comes in with a front and a back which are held together w/ velcro.

    Mike

  9. #59

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Quote: Maybe the deluxe version comes with a decapitated head inside?

  10. #60

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    I've only seen it paired with the Deluxe Jango costume. It comes together like the Kellog's Clone Troope helmet. But, if you can imagine this, it looks MUCH worse.

  11. #61
    gwizah_fett
    Guest

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Yeah Unfortunately, before I got on this board I had a local reputable costume store pre-order a Jango deluxe for me. When it got here about a week ago, I took a look at it when the owner handed it to me. Wow, what a disappointment. As mentioned above it comes together in two parts hence the "two piece" designation, but other than that its crap. The hard vinyl Jango helmet looks better IMHO, but the shape is still way off. Im actually starting to sweat since I have a fiberglass helmet I won in a Ebay auction that is being shipped from australia and it's already been nearly three weeks and no helmet!!! I might have to get a Rubies Jango just in case.

  12. #62

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Well, sounds like the "2-piece deluxe" is yet another helmet to ignore.

    I wasn't really thinking of getting one, just curious.

  13. #63
    Mandalorian70
    Guest

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    It's pretty sad that they couldn't improve the costuming stuff . . .

    I'm satisfied with my DP 95 helmet but I will someday get a fiberglass helmet for my Boba setup . . .

    Take Care Friends

    John

  14. #64
    bobagoat's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    downsampling you
    Posts
    1,798

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    its rubies, its 59 bucks.

    nuff said.

  15. #65
    gwizah_fett
    Guest

    Merged: Re: WTF is a 2-piece deluxe Jango helmet?

    Hey! I was quick to judge the rubies "deluxe" version (the 1 piece model) too, but after I sunk $70 on one this week (see above post for rationale) I have to say it really isn't that bad. Its pretty stiff vinyl, it holds its shape, clean paintjob albeit 2 colors and no pinstripes, but overall i think it's actually better than most DP's from 97-98. And I say this only because Ive seen how warped they can get...Plus you can almost get away with the stock paintjob. Most DP's Ive seen have a horrible weathering job on them.



  16. #66
    The Dark Fett
    Guest

    Merged: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    I see two different types of rubies helms, the normal and the rotocast hard collectors helm. which is the best to purchase pleasae respond ASAP. THE DARK FETT is out.

  17. #67

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Go to the search option and type in Rubies... There is a ton of info on this site, you just have to look for it!

  18. #68
    mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Where are you seeing the rubies rotocast helmet?

    Mike

  19. #69
    The Dark Fett
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Its a new helmet that came out, it has the stripes and a full tented visor. I found it at two or 3 different mask shoppes in yahoo. the pictures of the rotocast helm look awesome and very detailed.

  20. #70

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Do you have a link????? I think its the same helmet we are use to seeing though. And it doesn't come with stripes or full visor.

  21. #71
    gwizah_fett
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Yeah I think it's BS. There is no such "hard" collectors edition helmet out right now. BTW, If anyone wants a Rubies Jango with the visor area and keyholes already cut out, PM me. I have two helmets and I have to sell one.

    (BTW, I had to cannabalize the rangefinder for my other helmet...It shouldnt be to difficult to replace, though it is kind of a strectch what with halloween only 8 days away.)

  22. #72
    The Dark Fett
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    ok go to the ebay site and type in jango fett under the search and u'll see the helm, man u people should know this, u can go to rubies on yahoo and find it for crying out load

  23. #73

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    Let us see a real pic of the helmet not the rubies add pic.
    Eric

  24. #74
    Kylash327
    Guest

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    I think he is confusing the touched up Rubies photo they use all the time for a real product, which we all know does not exist.

  25. #75

    Merged: Re: Is the Rubies Collectors edition rotocast helm a good one to

    I know a lot of people on e-bay are doing the same thing. Rubies had a good idea but thats not what we got.

    Eric

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •