Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234567 ... LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Aug 29, 2002, 3:41 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #26

    Well, I did some or my Photoshop magic in the computer and took the helmet picture that scarbrs provided and placed it over the real Jango Fett. The only modification I did was stretched the helmet horizontally (just a bit) and it looks VERY close to the shape of the real helmet. I can't say the same about the paint job but it seems like its a good "cheap" alternative. All you have to do is stretch it a bit instead of lowering the dome alone. I dont have anything to upload the picture in for you to see but feel free to email me and I will send you a pic of my modification picture ASAP.

    thecolourclear@yahoo.com
  2. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Aug 30, 2002, 9:37 AM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #27

    Here is the pic.
    It look great.
    What did you do with the color it matches so good.
    Eric

    [img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0PAAAANUUq37H9oR*Ba*XN4ybi4W850LryCDwBlhDDwlpC*DpB BkEogc8cFZz1KjemhKYYHwc!e9alHL8meY2Wmds!cfv6j8L/JF-with-rubies.jpg[/img]
  3. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Aug 30, 2002, 10:05 AM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #28

    All I did was messed with the contras. I still think, from the looks of the pic, that the whole thing needs a paint job. Plus, you'd want the helmet silver to match the entire armor.

    Gino
  4. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Aug 30, 2002, 10:27 AM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #29

    Yea im going to paint it then use the same sliver to paintthe armor.
    What type of paint should i use. I was at Wal-mart and the Plasti-cote has a silver crome arcylic enamel.
    You think that if i heat it up i can strech it?

    Eric
  5. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Aug 30, 2002, 10:42 AM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #30

    The best paint I found so far is Rust-Oleum Silver. There is a "premium" version of this that I've not yet tested. I've tested about 7 different brands so far and this is the best so far. I haven't painted any of my armor yet. I want to test a small part of the inside of the helmet to see if the same paint will hold up against it. The Krylon was also a good choice but I've tried 3 different Krylons and they all seem to have the same slight "glitter" effect. The Rust-Oleum looks great when adding the Silver Leaf Rub-n-Buff.

    As far as the stretching, I think it might work. People have done that with the Don Post Boba Fett helmet. The placed it in the car on a hot day and let the plastic get a bit soft. Then stuff the inside with towels or newspaper to hold the desired shape and let it cool like that. They said "do NOT put it in the oven". Please becarefull when doing this. I'm going to stuff my helmet with towels and then blow dry it 1st. Just to play it safe. I don't want my helmet all warped and funck looking when I get back in the car.

    Gino

    P.S. Eric, you should have a better pic of the Rubies helmet on JF as a side-by-side comparison of the original helmet. Please see if you can post that instead.
  6. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Sep 2, 2002, 6:13 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #31

    [img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0OgB0cFsUdUfH9oR*Ba*XN4ybi4W850LrR93kSJZLQBsZGZX!f l9ZCiH!cDXbZc89Ana2YoBF3KodatFK0zgyY8GVOZyQqRZh/JF-with-rubies-2.jpg[/img]
  7. Kylash327
    Guest
    Sep 2, 2002, 7:01 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #32

    Yah know the most ironic thing, they put the pinstripes on the crappy little kid face mask that comes with the costume but they didnt put them on the deluxe collectors helmet...ugh
  8. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Sep 2, 2002, 7:32 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #33

    Shape actually looks pretty good there. The color is obviously off. The range finder stalk looks a bit thick. Is there a way to remove it and put on a new one?
  9. darthdav's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    210
    Sep 2, 2002, 7:53 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #34

    I think the main problem with the Rubies helmet is the SIZE. The shape is off, sure but that’s no big deal. If they just made it a bit bigger they would have a winner on their hands. But if you are under 5.5 tall, this thing should be fantastic. And for the price, well, it can't be beat. Looks like it is going to put some people who sell DP re-casts for $200 out of business!

    Now, a fully custom fiber glass one ... now THAT"S worth the money! I love mine.

  10. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Sep 3, 2002, 9:30 AM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #35

    Actually, the range finder stalk isn't as thick as it looks on the picture. I did the picture modification and I was a bit lazy and did a crappy job of cropping the picture out. The range finder stalk seems to be ok. As far as the size of the whole helmet, it does appear like it could be a bit bigger.

    Gino
  11. Admin Staff Star Wars Chick's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    5,575
    Sep 3, 2002, 4:41 PM - Re: Rubies Helmet Review #36

    Well, I'm 5'2" so I would fall in that 5'5" and under category.
  12. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Sep 4, 2002, 4:35 PM - Merged: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #37

    I just got my helmet from Entertainment Earth and was fairly happy with what I got. However, there is alot of work to be done. I'm going to stretch the helmet a BIT wider, replace the visor and repaint the whole thing. Anyone have any pointers? Also, please post pictures of your modified helmet and what you did to give all of us good pointers.

    Thanks
    Gino

    P.S. Anyone know of any good place that I could find material to replace the visor? SMaybe a store that just about every state would have and not some "mom and pop" plastic store in your neck of the woods. Maybe tell me what the material is called and I could look it up on www.smartpages.com
  13. Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    150
    Sep 4, 2002, 8:35 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #38

    For a visor go to Menards or Home Depot and pick up a face sheild. Menards is cheaper.Then go to Walmart and get car window tint put them togther after you cut it to shape.
    I haven't worked on mine yet but thats what i got.

    How you going to streach it? I mean the heats not a problem but to get it to stay might be?


    Eric
  14. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Sep 4, 2002, 8:55 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #39

    I think there is a guy on ebay who sells the visor already cut and tinted. What do you guys mean stretching the helmet and how does one stretch their helmet"" Seriously, how do you stretch it and why.
    Thanks,
    Mike
  15. Lynn TXP 0369's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,785
    Sep 4, 2002, 9:51 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #40

    I think he is refering to the streching of the helmet to make it wider so that it has a better flair to it.

    I have heard that putting the helmet in your car for awhile on a good hot day to heat up evenly so you can make your mods and correct any factory warpage then cooling it down quickley with water to keep its shape.
  16. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Sep 5, 2002, 11:50 AM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #41

    Yeah. I was talking about addind a flare. The pictures seemed to look longer or taller. But now that I've actually took a good look at it, I don't think I'll need to do that. Has anyone tried just adding the Rub N Buff without repainting it? Seems to me that the color is pretty close to the armor color I've done some test painting with. It's just that It doesn't have any shine or gloss to it.

    Oh yeah, I almost forgot. This might sound like a dumb question but how do you take out the rangefinder from the Rubies helmet? I'm just afraid that I might break it. Is there a trick or some good pointers?


    Gino
  17. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Sep 5, 2002, 6:49 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #42

    JFC, I asked the same rub n buff question a few weeks ago. Some said give it a shot and I think it was seeker who said he put r&b on his knee armor and it never fully dried. The store that has r&b by my house has been sold out for 2 weeks so I have yet to try it.
    I like the rangefinder question, I was curious about it myself. Does anyone know?
    Thanks,
    Mike
  18. SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    4,363
    Sep 5, 2002, 8:50 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #43

    The R&B on my knee pieces worked well. I'm actually considering doing my whole armor with rub and buff. while at dragon con the paint hardly came off. And the armor was worned for 12 hours straight.

    check out this pic here. I did the knee's and shoe part

    <image src=http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/misc/RPF_Images/Jango_Fett_Small2.jpg>
  19. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Sep 5, 2002, 8:59 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #44

    Seeker, I am also thinking about rub and buffing my helmet"". Do you think clear coting it after would stop it from rubbing off?
    Thanks,
    Mike
  20. sith_camaro's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    737
    Sep 5, 2002, 10:11 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #45

    Don't worry about it rubbing off. The spray paint on my thigh pieces would always wear off like crazy from my holster straps. Not that I have it RNB'd, it doesn't come off anymore!
  21. whojedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    212
    Sep 5, 2002, 10:18 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #46

    I got my Rubies Jango helmet today, and it isn't as bad as I was expecting. But it would take alot of work to make it look good. Luckily, I have gotten my hands on a much better helmet that is currently being "Jangofied".

    I may sacrifice my Rubies one to the mod gods just to see what they can do with it. If you are of a smaller build, the helmet would probably work okay.
  22. mgr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,193
    Sep 6, 2002, 9:28 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #47

    So, does anyone know how to dismantle the rangefinder yet.
    Thanks,
    Mike
  23. Jango Fett Costume
    Guest
    Sep 9, 2002, 11:26 AM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #48

    Yeah.. anyone try taking the range finder apart? Another pointer that some might be interested in. I sprayed some Rustoleum Clear coat enamel spray on the silver part of one of the cheeks and it looks pretty good. It actually looks like a shiny silver. I think I'm going to do that for the whole silver part. I've bought some Rustoleum blues for the rest. They are "Painter's Touch". Has anyone tried these paints yet? I did a little part of the back of the helmet to test and it just seemed to bead up. I guess I should have sanded and primed it 1st, duh. But I wanted to test it 1st just for $hits and giggles. Has anyone worked with this paint before? Cuz I read in their site that they are "oil based paints". Any other suggestions? I might try again after the sanding and prime it. But I did read that some people were using "brilliant blue" and "deep blue" by Rustoleum. These are the colors I have bought and was wondering if they were the same "Painter's Touch" that everyone else has been using.

    Keep the Rubies tips comming guys.

    Gino

    P.S. I think I'll use the clear coat on my whole armor as well. I don't think I'll be using the Ru N Buff on my Rustoleum silver since it's been rubbing off on a test piece I did over a month ago. That and it leaves lots of finger prints on it when pressed somewhat firmly.
  24. sith_camaro's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    737
    Sep 11, 2002, 7:28 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #49

    Yep, I used Painter's touch for one of my blues. Painter's Touch brilliant blue for the light, and Krylon regal blue gloss for the dark.
  25. Kylash327
    Guest
    Sep 11, 2002, 8:35 PM - Merged: Re: Show us your Rubies Helmet modifications #50

    Does anyone have a pic of ojne of the Rubies helmets on their head? Id like to see the size.

Similar Threads

  1. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  2. Video Review of Original ESB AT-AT Driver Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2008, 11:50 AM
  3. Video Review of Original ANH TIE Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Oct 15, 2008, 2:34 PM
  4. Alclad II Paint Review for Fett Helmet
    By Jades Dark Heart in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jun 5, 2005, 8:53 PM
  5. Rubies Jango blaster review(UPDATE 11/8 new paint)
    By phantom viper in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2005, 9:48 PM