Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Subscribe
    Jun 17, 2005, 1:08 PM - most screen-accurate cardboard/papermache jetpack ever! (pic-heavy!) #1

Here I am again! 8)

I already started this project during the end of my EIII premiere-countdown after I saw raptorarts great cardboard/papermache jet pack.
    I was so fascinated of it, that I wanted to try to make the most screenaccurate cardboard/papermache jet pack ever. ...however as it is my first try, it may turn out as a piece of unreckognizable modern art as well.

To have it complete I post the few early pics from the countdown too and will post pics of every single step and piece, so if it works out in the end, it might be used as kind of a tutorial.

The starting bases are the blueprints that can be found in this forum (which are by the way great work!) for all the measures and shapes.
    Afterwords you need a big piece of cardboard and on it goes!

After the cutting and bending (pic1+2) of a shape that covers most of the mainbody, I used another piece of strong cardboard bend to a slight curve for the use as the backplate (always noticed the packs with a flat back, which results in hanging ot far back with the rocket pointing more backwards than up)(pic3).

The next step were the tubes.
    I used those pringles chips cardboard tubes, which have suprisingly the exact diameter as needed, but as the are too short I had to use pieces of a third taped above (pic4).
    For the maintube I used a thick cardboard tube usually used for accomodating large pieces of drawings and blueprints. Sadly it's diameter is 1cm (1/3 inch) to wide) but still better as the next smaller which was nearly 2cm too small (well, there goes the screen-accuracy ). The Tube is long enough to easily get three maintubes out of it (so next project "screen-accurate stubby jet pack"! WAAH!).
    (pic5)