Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

  1. #1
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Howdy fellers!

    I am currently weathering my armor, but I haven't seen too many threads going into detail about it. So I thought I'd ask for some opinions:


    Is there something I can do differently to make it look better? Different color? Different thickness? Too dirty? Too clean?

    I'm open to suggestions.

  2. #2
    Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,566

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Arturo is the king of weathering Jango armor so he probably has the best advice, but I'll try to help with what I can.

    I think it looks too thick and too light brown/orange. Go with a darker color and lighter layers. Also, you want a "dabbing" effect while that looks more like a "smearing" effect.

  3. #3
    I helped at SDCC '08 MandalorFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    California USA
    Posts
    2,738

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    It looks good as rust, but if you're going for dirty, I would use more of a black "carbon" wash dabbed on.



  4. #4
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    I'm not a Jango expert, but looks like a bit too much rust there. I agree that Seeker would prolly give the best advice for weathering.
    D

  5. #5
    SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,362

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Yep - I think seeker couldp probably help out.

    When i get home ill let you know which colors to use.

    But for now i think you use some windex and dabb and remove some of it.

  6. #6
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    SEEKER said: View Post
    But for now i think you use some windex and dabb and remove some of it.
    Roger that ... I'll get started. Thanks for the help, fellers.

  7. #7
    SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,362

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    here are the pics. I mainly use acrylic paints for my weathering. I'll use black, Raw Umber, and Burn Sienna. mix those colors in here and there. dont worry about being too much. use windex to remove it by dabbing.

    i went crazy on pics.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails chest1-jpg   chest2-jpg   chest3-jpg  

    chest4-jpg   chest5-jpg   chest6-jpg  

    chest7-jpg   chest8-jpg  

  8. #8
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Man, I never tire of looking at Seeker's suit. Beautiful man! I LOVE your display too... I wish I could display my Boba this way when I'm not wearing it. The wife would SO not allow it in the house!

  9. #9
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Thanks for the pics, Seeker, and for the paint list. As Bob said, that's one awesome way to display the armor!

  10. #10

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Seeker did an absolutely AWESOME JOB of weathering!

    Jimmy BufFETT, here's my two cents worth on weathering.

    I would take a look around you at things that are dented and worn. Generally speaking, high spots get the paint rubbed off or scratched, low spots accumulate grime and dirt.

    One thing I would suggest is to "weather" the clothing as well as the armor. I think scratched, damaged, dirty, lived-in armor looks odd if the soft parts are pristine and laundry fresh instead of being a frayed, wrinkled and a little dirty. How much sense does that make? I wouldn't go overboard and soak the jumpsuit in a puddle of red mud, but I would give it a good broken-in look complete with stains. I have taken parts of a costume and rubbed them lightly on brick walls and concrete to get some realistic looking wear and tear.

    I think of the film Saving Private Ryan and how those guys looked. I mean really, there are a lot of times soldiers, be they Mandalorians or humans, have to go several days in the same clothes. Hey, no matter where you go in the universe, things get dirty.

    Keep up the good work and plz post pix!

  11. #11
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,256

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    Wow! That display rocks.

  12. #12
    DaddyFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    From
    Chicago area
    Posts
    15

    Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions

    i agree never gid sick of those pic's.... and the suit in person is even better.....

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando?
    By skruffynerfherder in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Sep 1, 2009, 11:22 PM
  2. Your opinions on my back armor
    By clonecollector in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jan 14, 2009, 9:03 AM
  3. Paintball Armor Opinions
    By tubachris85x in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2006, 10:01 PM
  4. Back Armor - opinions please
    By bobamaker in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Dec 22, 2004, 3:11 PM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 3:19 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •