Subscribe
  1. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jan 23, 2007, 11:36 PM - Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #1

    Howdy fellers!

    I am currently weathering my armor, but I haven't seen too many threads going into detail about it. So I thought I'd ask for some opinions:


    Is there something I can do differently to make it look better? Different color? Different thickness? Too dirty? Too clean?

    I'm open to suggestions.
  2. Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,566
    Jan 23, 2007, 11:52 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #2

    Arturo is the king of weathering Jango armor so he probably has the best advice, but I'll try to help with what I can.

    I think it looks too thick and too light brown/orange. Go with a darker color and lighter layers. Also, you want a "dabbing" effect while that looks more like a "smearing" effect.
  3. I helped at SDCC '08 MandalorFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,738
    Jan 24, 2007, 12:56 AM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #3

    It looks good as rust, but if you're going for dirty, I would use more of a black "carbon" wash dabbed on.


  4. Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,517
    Jan 24, 2007, 2:22 AM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #4

    I'm not a Jango expert, but looks like a bit too much rust there. I agree that Seeker would prolly give the best advice for weathering.
    D
  5. SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    4,372
    Jan 24, 2007, 9:26 AM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #5

    Yep - I think seeker couldp probably help out.

    When i get home ill let you know which colors to use.

    But for now i think you use some windex and dabb and remove some of it.
  6. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jan 24, 2007, 9:52 AM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #6

    Quote SEEKER said: View Post
    But for now i think you use some windex and dabb and remove some of it.
    Roger that ... I'll get started. Thanks for the help, fellers.
  7. SEEKER's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    4,372
    Jan 25, 2007, 8:28 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #7

    here are the pics. I mainly use acrylic paints for my weathering. I'll use black, Raw Umber, and Burn Sienna. mix those colors in here and there. dont worry about being too much. use windex to remove it by dabbing.

    i went crazy on pics.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest1.jpg 
Views:	351 
Size:	68.4 KB 
ID:	15187   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest2.jpg 
Views:	373 
Size:	66.9 KB 
ID:	15188   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest3.jpg 
Views:	376 
Size:	68.3 KB 
ID:	15189  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest4.jpg 
Views:	385 
Size:	66.6 KB 
ID:	15190   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest5.jpg 
Views:	350 
Size:	65.1 KB 
ID:	15191   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest6.jpg 
Views:	342 
Size:	58.0 KB 
ID:	15192  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest7.jpg 
Views:	338 
Size:	64.0 KB 
ID:	15193   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	chest8.jpg 
Views:	357 
Size:	68.1 KB 
ID:	15194  
  8. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,704
    Jan 26, 2007, 9:16 AM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #8

    Man, I never tire of looking at Seeker's suit. Beautiful man! I LOVE your display too... I wish I could display my Boba this way when I'm not wearing it. The wife would SO not allow it in the house!
  9. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Jan 26, 2007, 1:05 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #9

    Thanks for the pics, Seeker, and for the paint list. As Bob said, that's one awesome way to display the armor!
  10. Southern hunter's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    374
    Feb 3, 2007, 5:58 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #10

    Seeker did an absolutely AWESOME JOB of weathering!

    Jimmy BufFETT, here's my two cents worth on weathering.

    I would take a look around you at things that are dented and worn. Generally speaking, high spots get the paint rubbed off or scratched, low spots accumulate grime and dirt.

    One thing I would suggest is to "weather" the clothing as well as the armor. I think scratched, damaged, dirty, lived-in armor looks odd if the soft parts are pristine and laundry fresh instead of being a frayed, wrinkled and a little dirty. How much sense does that make? I wouldn't go overboard and soak the jumpsuit in a puddle of red mud, but I would give it a good broken-in look complete with stains. I have taken parts of a costume and rubbed them lightly on brick walls and concrete to get some realistic looking wear and tear.

    I think of the film Saving Private Ryan and how those guys looked. I mean really, there are a lot of times soldiers, be they Mandalorians or humans, have to go several days in the same clothes. Hey, no matter where you go in the universe, things get dirty.

    Keep up the good work and plz post pix!
  11. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,369
    Feb 3, 2007, 7:11 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #11

    Wow! That display rocks.
  12. DaddyFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Feb 7, 2007, 12:52 PM - Re: Armor Weathering: Need Opinions #12

    i agree never gid sick of those pic's.... and the suit in person is even better.....

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando?
    By skruffynerfherder in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Sep 2, 2009, 12:22 AM
  2. Your opinions on my back armor
    By clonecollector in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jan 14, 2009, 10:03 AM
  3. Paintball Armor Opinions
    By tubachris85x in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2006, 11:01 PM
  4. Back Armor - opinions please
    By bobamaker in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Dec 22, 2004, 4:11 PM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 4:19 PM