Subscribe
  1. jarodpenn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    236
    Nov 18, 2004, 11:52 AM - Your opinions, please... #1

    Hey. I'm new around here, so I was wanting to know if maybe I could get some feedback on a buy I just made on ebay. The seller's name is 'slavefive'. The holes are already cut for the ventilation, and obviously the T-visor opening is cut as well; the auctions said it was 'braced and flared' I guess to give it a more accurate look. It's a 95 DP- I've heard they tend to be more accurate than, say, a Rubies. Just wanted some thought and suggestions. Thanks-
    http://www.slavefive.com/dp95.jpg
  2. Tambo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    847
    Nov 18, 2004, 12:11 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #2

    If you use a plastic helmet, then you have the best one to start off with (the DP 95) Your pic looks like you have a good one..flared and ready for the new visor.
  3. cal196's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,617
    Nov 18, 2004, 12:28 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #3

    Yes a decent helmet you have there. when you install the visor make sure you pull the bottom there inward so it is a strait line, then flare it out with a metal rod, hmm might sound confusing but Fett helmets do not bow out at the bottom.

    Example

  4. BigaboyFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    633
    Nov 18, 2004, 1:36 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #4



    Notice the bad flare on mine. I will need to re-think or get a new one.

    The one in the quote is quite nice. For some odd reason, I LOVE IT!


    cal196 wrote:

    Yes a decent helmet you have there. when you install the visor make sure you pull the bottom there inward so it is a strait line, then flare it out with a metal rod, hmm might sound confusing but Fett helmets do not bow out at the bottom.

  5. slavefive's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    627
    Nov 18, 2004, 2:07 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #5

    ....mmmmmmmmmmmm...I wonder who he bought it from???...

    Later
    Lewis

    PS Thanks for the sale...
  6. jarodpenn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    236
    Nov 18, 2004, 2:19 PM - Your opinions, please... #6

    Thanks for the info. I've pretty much followed instructions posted here for other costumes and I have to say everyone's right when they say keep an eye on ebay and be patient. I was really lucky with getting this one, being 'the new kid on the block' and all. Thanks to you too, slavefive!
  7. slavefive's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    627
    Nov 18, 2004, 2:37 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #7

    ...no worries

    Take care
    Lewis
  8. Nov 20, 2004, 5:57 PM - Re: Your opinions, please... #8

    hey Slavefive...
    is that a re-cast and have you anymore in the pipeline?..

    Mason...
  9. jarodpenn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    236
    Dec 6, 2004, 10:51 AM - Your opinions, please... #9

    95DP came in this weekend while I was gone and I wanted to tell you guys about it; but instead of starting a new thread, I thought I'd just go ahead and add on to this one.
    -First off, this helmet is HUGE (and I thought I had a rather stately cranium!). Maybe I'm just not used to having something on my head, but I really expected something smaller. Must have been all that talk about how the 95 was the best market buy, but FG is the best period. After seeing this, I'm not sure I would want anything MORE screen accurate. This is more scale for me. Size: Perfect
    -As far as I can tell, most of the reshaping has already been done. Can't be entirely sure as this is my first helmet. It's flared nice, and the metal ring to hold the shape is already installed in the back of the base. The mandibles are only a couple of mm's off- nothing that won't be fixed when I install the new visor. Shape: Awesome
    -The thing came ready to paint (i.e.: sanded, primer-ed, coat of chrome). It's a great job, but I'm probably going to go ahead and re-do a good portion of it just so I know what's been done already and what is still lacking. It also came with the original RF and stalk, a new resin stalk, T-visor and keyholes already cut out, green welders mask (I assume its the #5 tint), Bantha skull decal (just for fun I suppose), and an ear piece cap for the RF. The ear piece was sanded smooth so won't attach back on without the help of a screw or some epoxy. This isn't really a problem since I was going to pop the thing off anyway. Preparation: Dreamy
    I won't even count this a part of the review, but I was sure this was a 95DP as soon as I opened the box. I read on another thread there's a distinguishing scent that they're known for, and whoever wrote that wasn't kidding. Not the sellers fault, but Slavefive, you should've put a hazardous waste emblem on the side of the box, man!

    Edit: One thing I forgot to mention is that the little grebble on the front right side of the helmet has been sanded off. Anyone know what that thing really is? Let me know! Oh, and cal196: I didn't the robo when I got this, as per your suggestion to another TDH member.
  10. Member Since
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    416
    Dec 6, 2004, 11:04 AM - Re: Your opinions, please... #10


    jarodpenn wrote:

    One thing I forgot to mention is that the little grebble on the front right side of the helmet has been sanded off. Anyone know what that thing really is?
    Check it out:

    http://tdh.prop-planet.com/viewtopic...c=6037&forum=2

    Cheers!
    TJ

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 23, 2008, 1:52 AM
  2. Need opinions on this!
    By MacHuffy in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 8, 2008, 1:45 AM
  3. Can I get some opinions on this please?
    By bradbucholtz in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2008, 6:44 PM
  4. Looking for Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 19, 2007, 12:54 PM
  5. Opinions please.
    By Kripps in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: Mar 20, 2006, 11:47 PM