Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Scratch building Ralph McQuarrie concept helmet.

Scratch building Ralph McQuarrie concept helmet.

Hi all, my name is Onno

I’m new to the forum and discovered it a couple of weeks ago while surfing to look for reference material on Fett’s helmet, in particular the Ralph McQuarrie concept of Boba Fett.
    I’m a big fan of McQuarrie’s work and always liked the first concepts of the white helmet, suggesting Boba Fett was some sort of super trooper.

Even though I’m a model builder (also scratch build) I actually never attempted to scratch build a 1:1 Star Wars helmet. Here on the site I found the 2D helmet plans posted by wizardofflight, (great stuff!)
    I studied them and they gave me the confidence that the model project would be a success If I used them as a template.
    I Try to be as true to the concept as possible, so I slightly altered the line drawings to look less like the film version of Boba Fett and more like the concept helmet.

Last edited by OnnoHeesbeen; Oct 8, 2013 at 5:44 PM.

Re: Scratch building Ralph McQuarrie concept helmet.

I made the basic shape of the helmet out of Polystyrol plates

I made a reinforcement ring at the base of the helmet for better handling and maintaining the overall shape, later the forward part will be removed again.

cut out the parts for the "cheekbones"

Last edited by OnnoHeesbeen; Oct 9, 2013 at 3:39 AM.

added the "cheekbone" plates in the openings

Last edited by OnnoHeesbeen; Oct 9, 2013 at 3:21 AM.

adding details to the backside of the helmet

Filler and fiberglass arrived, now I can start on building the dome of the helmet.

after applying fiberglass to the dome (inside and outside) it's waiting for it to harden, then sand it roughly and apply a first coat of filler.

First layer of filler applied to the dome this morning, this stuff hardens within 5 minutes so next time I will apply thinner layers.