Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. rubio95's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    315
    Oct 12, 2013, 3:21 PM - Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #1

    Good evening, fellas. I would like to present to you my review of the Fettpride FPH2. I'm very excited, as it seems that I'll be the first to review it formally, so I hope that it will be informative and helpful for those looking to upgrade their Empire Strikes Back Boba Fett helmet.



    The key word of that last sentence is upgrade. That word was used intentionally, because, first and foremost, this simply is like nothing that has ever been available to the community. Fettpride has begun shipping these kits in full force, so this should give many of us something to chew on while they're in route.

    That said, I will grade this helmet using the following metric:

    DESIGN OF THE HELMET
    ACCESSORIES
    ATTACHING THE EARS
    CRAFTSMANSHIP
    FEEL GOOD ABOUT IT?


    So let's get to it, and hopefully you all get as excited as I did!

    DESIGN OF THE HELMET: A+
    As we all first saw in this thread, the FPH2 bears a STRIKING resemblance to the screen-used ESB helmet. The key here is that the infamous 'wavy brow' is represented faithfully. After EXHAUSTIVE examination of the ESB brow, I've concluded that it's obviously there, but ALOT more subtle than we realize. Cameras/lighting play tricks on our eyes. At some point, I'll start a thread regarding that topic (you can make ANY helmet have a wavy brow -left side, right side, middle - with the right lighting). The great thing about this helmet is that, yes, the wavy brow is there, but more importantly, it's NOT exaggerated, matching the screen-used helmet perfectly. The infamous 'flare' is also well-represented. It's not nearly as dramatic as some other helmets I've seen, but it is there, like the brow, in a very subtle and unobtrusive way.
    The FPH2 also features a totally asymmetrical visor (it's VERY uneven from side to side), which we know from the screen-used Stormtrooper and Darth Vader helmets, is totally possible. It's much easier to tell with the Stormtrooper/Vader helmets because those helmets are all the same color (for the most part), whereas Boba Fett's helmet is a chaotic mishmash of many, many colors. The visor (which is not the visor included - just a spare I had already cut and was laying around) is only taped into place, so pay no mind to the fitment, but here are a few pics of her.









    ACCESSORIES: A+
    Fettpride is known for packaging his products beautifully, and the FPH2 is certainly no exception. The box included an unwrapped helmet smothered in popcorn, but more importantly, the accessories were bubble-wrapped in two separate packages, keeping everything in perfect condition. The rangefinder stalk is hollowed (ready for Jc27's light kit), the rangefinder is very close to Terminal Fettler-quality, and all of the necessary nuts and bolts are supplied. It is as close to a mass-production-type kit as it gets.













    ATTACHING THE EARS: A-
    The best part about a helmet kit of this kind is the fact that the ears are separate, in my opinion. The only other helmet I've purchased is the Asok CC (itself a rework of the Master Replicas ESB helmet), which has three of the four ear pieces molded into the casting, and while this certainly takes a lot of frustration out of assembling the kit, it's also a bit of a bummer to me, since, like most of us here on TDH, I want my helmet(s) to be as close to screen-used as possible, in every aspect.
    Although kits featuring separate ears are not rare at all, the FPH2 ears feature a unique attachment method. The pieces have all been molded with a nut-sized cutout set into them, and the nuts that are included in the kit fit into the holes very well. This means that it's no longer necessary to drill out holes into the backsides of the ears!
    That said, lining the ears up to drill is still a pain (it was for me, at least). There are dimples set into the sides of the helmet, but I still ended up having to drill holes that were large enough in diameter to allow for some play to get them lined up properly.

    CRAFTMANSHIP:
    A+
    Like any other Fettpride product, the helmet really shines here. The fiberglass is thin enough to comfortably wear (even with the future addition of JodoKast89's forthcoming ears), but is solid enough that I don't feel that the helmet is fragile. The lines are sharp enough to cut glass, and I can't find any examples of soft detail anywhere. Fettpride has set the proper ESB damage into the helmet in the appropriate areas, so there will be no more filling the damage of the GMH and scratching in the ESB damage (commission artists-extraordinaire superjedi and deadland will especially appreciate this). All pieces included in this kit look as sharp as sharp can be, so the time spent prepping the kit will be minimal. Fettpride has also set a type of 'tag' into the interior of the helmet, which is great, since I really like the numbering systems that he typically uses.





    FEEL GOOD ABOUT IT?: A+
    So now that you have the kit in-hand, how do you feel about it? I certainly can only speak for myself, but my verdict is that I am absolutely enchanted. I've been tossing around the idea of getting a GMH, a fiberglass copy of the MR, even trying to track down the still-awesome FPH. However, when the news broke about this helmet becoming available, I got on board with it wholeheartedly. I'm glad I did.
    Now that these helmets are starting to hit our hands, I think that just about everyone will agree with me, because it was worth the wait. My grades may seem high, but that's how it is, folks. There's just so little to remotely complain about. As I said before, the detail is sharp, the tell-tales of the ESB lid are present, and the build is sturdy. Paint-up threads should start popping up like crazy in the next few weeks, and I'm looking forward to following each and every one. The TDH community is going to be able to do some amazing things with this lid.
    So get one. And I heard a rumor that if enough people flood his PMs with requests, Fettpride will get busy on a new RotJ, as well (I'm kidding. That's a lie. Leave the poor guy alone).

    Thanks for reading, and I hope it helps somebody (I just had fun writing it)...





    Last edited by rubio95; Oct 12, 2013 at 11:34 PM.
  2. DanzoFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    510
    Oct 12, 2013, 3:53 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #2

    Looks excellent dude.... :-) review A+
  3. Jc27's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,787
    Oct 12, 2013, 4:19 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #3

    That lid is top notch. My light kit will be ready soon, so I'm am anxious to see one of these lids with my kit.
  4. deadland's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,104
    Oct 12, 2013, 4:24 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #4

    I have to agree completely with Ryan on this there is nothing to complain about when it comes to this lid. Out of all the lids that I have had the privilege to own and paint this is by far my favorite. It captures everything true to the ESB lid and believe me I have had to talk Ryan off the ledge several times in converting it to an ROTJ lid!!!

    Great review bro not get to work so you can bring that bad boy over for some paint.
  5. spacebob's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    78
    Oct 12, 2013, 5:21 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #5

    this thing is boss.
    fantastic review, fantastic lid. i cant wait to get one.
  6. intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    651
    Oct 12, 2013, 5:54 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #6

    A very exciting addition and great review with excellent photo's. Thank-you for sharing.

    Andy
  7. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,340
    Oct 12, 2013, 8:07 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #7

    Nice review, and great pics! That's a sweet helmet.

    How much trimming/cutting did you do prior to taking pics? I noticed that the keyslots
    aren't cut out yet.

    I like that ear attachment method a lot. Someone I know very well has been using that
    type of arrangement for years.
  8. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,451
    Oct 12, 2013, 8:23 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #8

    Key slots should have MQ1 molded in?
  9. rubio95's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    315
    Oct 12, 2013, 8:31 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #9

    Quote superjedi said: View Post
    Nice review, and great pics! That's a sweet helmet.

    How much trimming/cutting did you do prior to taking pics? I noticed that the keyslots
    aren't cut out yet.

    I like that ear attachment method a lot. Someone I know very well has been using that
    type of arrangement for years.
    Quote Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    Key slots should have MQ1 molded in?
    I should have posted a few more pics of the backside. The MQ1 is molded in. No cutting required.

    And my helmet isn't fully trimmed yet. The mandibles still need to be finished.
  10. NikNak_aka's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    545
    Oct 12, 2013, 9:40 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #10

    Seriously can't wait to get one.
  11. Member Since
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    16
    Oct 13, 2013, 3:20 AM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #11

    Wow truly a beautiful helmet! I hope mine arrives soon.
  12. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,340
    Oct 13, 2013, 7:53 AM - Re: Review of the Fettpride's FPH2 #12

    Quote rubio95 said: View Post
    I should have posted a few more pics of the backside. The MQ1 is molded in. No cutting required.

    And my helmet isn't fully trimmed yet. The mandibles still need to be finished.
    Cool, thanks!
  13. Oct 14, 2013, 12:19 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #13

    Awesome review and awesome product!
    Last edited by Darth Voorhees; Oct 14, 2013 at 12:30 PM.
  14. BobaFiend's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    783
    Oct 15, 2013, 11:57 AM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #14

    Love it! This is so exciting!
  15. bcurtis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    341
    Oct 15, 2013, 5:01 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #15

    Such a cool helmet! How does someone get one of these? Is there a sale thread on TDH or some other way to purchase one? I'm sorry if these are dumb questions, I'm still finding my way around the forums.
  16. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,451
    Oct 15, 2013, 5:44 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #16

    No for sale thread...you can PM fettpride and ask him about getting one.
  17. bcurtis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    341
    Oct 15, 2013, 5:49 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #17

    Great! Thanks a lot.
  18. itrooper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    71
    Oct 15, 2013, 8:10 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #18

    Great Review, stunning helmet!
  19. dynamic1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,200
    Oct 16, 2013, 4:04 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #19

    GREAT write up Ryanrubio20095!!!
  20. Jc27's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,787
    Oct 16, 2013, 4:08 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #20

    Yes, great review. And thanks for the shout out. I'm hoping to get a few kits built in a few weeks. Once I have a few ready I will start a new thread for them.
  21. Member Since
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    166
    Jul 14, 2014, 8:56 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #21

  22. Member Since
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    Jul 24, 2014, 4:36 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #22

    Nice review, do they offer a paint service too?
  23. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,451
    Jul 24, 2014, 6:34 PM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #23

    Quote markbass said: View Post
    Nice review, do they offer a paint service too?
    not really he may refer you to a few painters though
  24. Jul 25, 2014, 8:31 AM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #24

    Is this the most accurate helmet out there for a ESB Fett then? I've given up on seeing the eFX this decade.
  25. bcurtis's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    341
    Jul 25, 2014, 8:32 AM - Re: Review of the Fettpride FPH2 #25

    Quote welsh_bounty_hunter said: View Post
    Is this the most accurate helmet out there for a ESB Fett then? I've given up on seeing the eFX this decade.
    Sure is.

Similar Threads

  1. Introducing the FPH2 - ESB
    By fettpride in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: Sep 10, 2013, 9:11 PM
  2. Jet Pack: Beacon review
    By dlmilano in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Feb 22, 2013, 6:01 AM
  3. District 9 Review
    By Art Andrews in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: May 9, 2012, 2:42 PM
  4. X-Files: I Want To Believe review
    By vadr_h8r in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 25, 2008, 8:53 PM
  5. New Rangefinder Review
    By Purity Knight in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2002, 1:57 AM