Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Opinions please.

  1. #1
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Opinions please.

    Before I start putting paint on this thing I'd like to ask my fellow TDH members for opinions on the overall appearance/dimensions on this scratch built. This is the one I made from WOF's temps. Please spare no expense in your critisism. I put some contrasting paint here and there to help with the lines etc.
    Thank you for your time
    Josh

  2. #2
    Ripcode's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Muskegon, Michigan
    Posts
    2,268

    Re: Opinions please.

    Good Lord that is awesome!

  3. #3
    AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    From
    Corbin, Ky
    Posts
    1,153

    Re: Opinions please.

    WOWZERS! That is awesome!
    You nailed the waviness of the visor while maintaining the cool squint!

  4. #4

    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Suburban Detroit
    Posts
    336

    Re: Opinions please.

    Man. That is really sweet! Looks great to me.

    The only think that looks a little off, but I'm no expert, is the upper sloped cheek area. It looks like there is a seem there where two pieces came together. Is that area supposed to have an angular appearance, or should it be smoothed out?

  5. #5
    CenteroftheMind's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    167

    Re: Opinions please.

    First of all, kudos on the excellent work. Second, the only thing I see that looks a little off is in the rear view, it looks a little wide and squat. That's just my opinion though.

  6. #6

    Re: Opinions please.

    wow! thats awesome! I dont really see any noticeable things either,

  7. #7
    Community Founder Art Andrews's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    From
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    8,185

    Re: Opinions please.

    WoW! Outstanding work!

  8. #8

    Re: Opinions please.

    That is definitely an amazing scratch-build.

    The two things that jump out at me is the thickness of the mandibles, especially near the bottom, and the angle of the flair looks a bit exaggerated.

  9. #9

    Re: Opinions please.

    Your work is amazing. It always is. This helmet, however, is probably your best yet. After you put some paint on it, I'm sure it will look even more incredible. You never cease to amaze me. Good work.

  10. #10

    Re: Opinions please.

    That is a great piece of work, you should be very proud.

    One minor point, from the side view, the dome looks a little low towards the back of the helmet... even though, this lid will look awesome once painted.

    Thanks for sharing this with us.

    DAZ

  11. #11

    Re: Opinions please.

    Looks Great Josh...Love the ear Lifts...

  12. #12

    Re: Opinions please.

    Looks great so far - I'm still a few steps behind you! Can't even tell that batting helmet was quartered! Look forward to monitoring your progress.

    -Propcicle

  13. #13
    formerly NoHumorMan Too Much Garlic's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    173

    Re: Opinions please.

    I envy your skills... looks really great.

  14. #14
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please.

    Thank all of you for the input thus far.
    I have fixed the creases in the upper cheeks, and am going to thin out the bottom of the mandibles tomorrow.
    The dome........well, unfortunately, it is what it is I guess. Thats really hard to duplicate and I'll deal with what I have. I'm racking my brain about how to decrease the flair without damaging the structural integrity of the cheeks. They may have to be redone. We shall see. I think I'll also relocate the dent a little more south.

    Once again, thank you all for your comments. Good or bad they are most welcome and greatly appreciated. If any body sees any thing else please feel free to chime in.

    Josh

  15. #15
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Opinions please.

    Josh, I was going to say something about the mandibles as well but you've got that covered already.

    Simply WOW man!

  16. #16
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please.

    Not to be a pain, but I think I have a good thing going here with this thread. I value the opinions of you all very much and I'm going to keep posting updates as I go. I want to make this my last bucket (this is my third attempt at it) so I can move along to other things.
    I started the paint work yesterday and the rear quarters are pretty much done. I realize my camera throws certain colors off but overall I'm happy with the results thus far. I know there are some seriously talented painters on this board ( some of your threads are like the law to me ) and I would appreciate the critisism.

    Josh

    Thanks Bob, maybe I'll have this ready for the 10th........still not sure If I can make it though.


  17. #17
    CenteroftheMind's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    From
    Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    167

    Re: Opinions please.

    I don't know nearly as much about painting as a lot of the people here, but that looks damn impressive to me.

  18. #18
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: Opinions please.

    Kripps said:
    I know there are some seriously talented painters on this board ( some of your threads are like the law to me ) and I would appreciate the critisism.
    Well from the looks of things you are one of them. The back looks great. If the rest of the bucket follows suit you will have a damn fine looking helmet in the end.

  19. #19
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please.

    Well, after reading AFFO$'s thread here http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=11503
    I had to sand down the back of this puppy and start over.
    Needless to say it was worth it IMHO.
    If you haven't checked this thread out definately do so.
    I didn't use templates or anything (not that good with the computer) and I changed the colors a tiny bit..........sorry about the wash out with the flash.


  20. #20
    Qman101's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    California, a few hours away from San Diego
    Posts
    199

    Re: Opinions please.

    Cool man! thats one great helmet!

  21. #21
    cookiemongoloid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    U.S. California
    Posts
    440

    Re: Opinions please.

    wow, that looks really nice.

  22. #22
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Opinions please.

    Now Josh IS the master!

  23. #23
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please.

    Okies,
    Had an accident with a table saw at work so no fabrication on the ears, However.....I've been painting a little and I took the masking off the visor -well, I'm not sure if its the over exagerated flair throwing it off or not, but does the visor look too narrow??. I like the squintiness but I'm not so sure about the width of the vertical part of it. Thanks for the input.

    Josh


  24. #24

    Re: Opinions please.

    Looks great!
    Nice flare too...

    Mason.

  25. #25

    Re: Opinions please.

    the vertical part looks a *little* narrow... nothing that anyone outside of this board would ever see

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 23, 2008, 12:52 AM
  2. Need opinions on this!
    By MacHuffy in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 8, 2008, 12:45 AM
  3. Can I get some opinions on this please?
    By bradbucholtz in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2008, 5:44 PM
  4. Looking for Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 19, 2007, 11:54 AM
  5. Your opinions, please...
    By jarodpenn in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Dec 6, 2004, 10:04 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •