Subscribe
  1. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Mar 7, 2007, 2:21 PM - OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #1

    I'm doing an ROTJ Boba
    I'm torn between the 2 helmets
    should I do an ESB or ROTJ helmet?
  2. Laan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,001
    Mar 7, 2007, 2:24 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #2

    I have always like the ESB. To me it has more detail to it than ROTJ. Or solve the problem and have both helmets. Then switch when ever you want.
  3. batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,900
    Mar 7, 2007, 2:24 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #3

  4. NikNak_aka's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    546
    Mar 7, 2007, 2:36 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #4

    Both (thats what i'm doing)
  5. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Mar 7, 2007, 2:49 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #5

    don't misunderstand,
    Of course I will eventually do both helmets
    but...
    I need this one for CIV (78 days)
  6. Sleeping_Jiva's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    44
    Mar 7, 2007, 3:00 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #6

    If you're short for time and want to be accurate then ROTJ is obviously the way to go as that's the version you're going for anyway. Leave the ESB for when you have more time to concentrate on the better Boba!!
  7. Southern hunter's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    374
    Mar 7, 2007, 3:16 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #7

    Quote Sleeping_Jiva said: View Post
    If you're short for time and want to be accurate then ROTJ is obviously the way to go as that's the version you're going for anyway. Leave the ESB for when you have more time to concentrate on the better Boba!!
    So are you saying the ESB Boba looks better than ROTJ? They both look pretty involved. Is one costume a little faster or easier to make?
  8. SaxeCoburg's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    863
    Mar 7, 2007, 3:44 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #8

    I’m on a very similar schedule… if I were you, I’d do ROTJ and in the future, as time allows, work on doing an ESB helmet.
  9. I helped at SDCC '08 Gonzo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    988
    Mar 7, 2007, 3:47 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #9

    If you want the easy quicker way out ----ROTJ
    If you want the more rewarding way and IMO more attractive helmet--ESB

    I know you will make the right choice

    Just do the SE Fett for awhile later you can do a ROTJ. God knows you have enough buckets to do every version
  10. KaanE is offline KaanE
    Mar 7, 2007, 3:56 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #10

    ESB with ESB --- I love it
    RotJ with RotJ ---
    RotJ with ESB --- (SE) ¡%/!$"%




  11. Satxer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    838
    Mar 7, 2007, 4:33 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #11

    Judging by time issues..ROTJ is less painting.

    Well, they both in essence have same main colors...diff ear cap colors though. But, ROTJ, as far as painting the battle damage, it's 99% silver battle damage.

    But, I'm more toward ESB.

    I did my SGT Fang helm main painting in a matter of a few hours from scratch. Give or take another couple hours of hand painting any other details. And that was doing the ESB sytle, I do have another thread of what the helm looks like, have to take the finished pics as soon as I get the decals on it.
  12. AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,153
    Mar 7, 2007, 5:22 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #12

    ACTUALLY...depending on how far along on the entire costume you are, an ESB costume would be the quicker way to go. While the helmet may be more involved the rest of the costume is less involved as far as painting, scrapes, and scratches. But if you are down to only the helmet, ROTJ will be a quicker way to go.
  13. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,077
    Mar 7, 2007, 6:05 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #13

    Quote AFettFullofDollars said: View Post
    ACTUALLY...depending on how far along on the entire costume you are, an ESB costume would be the quicker way to go. While the helmet may be more involved the rest of the costume is less involved as far as painting, scrapes, and scratches. But if you are down to only the helmet, ROTJ will be a quicker way to go.
    Exactly. ESB helmet has more detailing. ROTJ armor + Jet Pack has more detailing.
  14. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Mar 7, 2007, 8:10 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #14

    Quote Mr Fett said: View Post
    Exactly. ESB helmet has more detailing. ROTJ armor + Jet Pack has more detailing.
    Quote AFettFullofDollars said: View Post
    ACTUALLY...depending on how far along on the entire costume you are, an ESB costume would be the quicker way to go. While the helmet may be more involved the rest of the costume is less involved as far as painting, scrapes, and scratches. But if you are down to only the helmet, ROTJ will be a quicker way to go.

    Um...
    here's my Progress
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=17663


    Quote Gonzo Fett said: View Post
    God knows you have enough buckets to do every version
    Ouch, that hurt
  15. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,077
    Mar 7, 2007, 10:09 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #15

    Then paint it ROTJ! Everyone and their brother's paints theirs SE ESB. Stand out in the crowd.
  16. CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,345
    Mar 8, 2007, 5:42 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #16

    i would say paint it ROTJ if you have time constraints and are going to do an ESB later anyway.

    that was hard for me to say as an esb
  17. saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,866
    Mar 8, 2007, 6:04 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #17

    rotj suckah! red kill stripes ftw!
  18. Cerillo's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    285
    Mar 8, 2007, 9:47 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #18

    Looks like you already made up your mind, but as Mr. Fett said. I'ld go with ROTJ. "There are soooooooo many ESB's out there, Just as there are ROTJ's Vader's", but ROTS is catching up Fast!!!!" That's why I've decided to go with ANH Vader and ROTJ Fett. Of course you could switch up the Buckets and know one would now the differance "Hey Mommy It's a Power Ranger " Like that Babba Fett there Pal. C
  19. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Mar 10, 2007, 1:15 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #19

    Thanx alot for the input guys.
    Here's tonites progress
    can you tell which path I chose?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fett armour 078.jpg 
Views:	230 
Size:	62.4 KB 
ID:	16120   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fett armour 079.jpg 
Views:	220 
Size:	54.1 KB 
ID:	16121   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fett armour 080.jpg 
Views:	209 
Size:	49.3 KB 
ID:	16122  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fett armour 081.jpg 
Views:	211 
Size:	51.9 KB 
ID:	16123  
  20. evan4218's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,789
    Mar 10, 2007, 1:24 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #20

    Dont be afraid to go darker on some of the colors. Keep in mind that the color you see in the MOM pics are with flash so to the normal eye the colors appear darker then in the pics.
  21. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Mar 10, 2007, 1:30 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #21

    the pics above are with flash, (no weathering either)
    It does look darker in person
  22. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,077
    Mar 10, 2007, 9:39 AM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #22

    Nice work so far!
  23. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Mar 12, 2007, 5:06 PM - Re: OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET* #23

    You've chosen wisely!

    I think the board needs a profile mod. A section where you can just list which helmet you prefer and why

    Someday I will paint up an ESB bucket just for the experience, but I'll never[*] troop that way!

    [*] At Dragoncon I did put on Jango Fett Jr's helmet for a moment. So there does exist a Special Edition version of me out there.

Similar Threads

  1. MR Helmet opinions
    By jackpot76 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Dec 10, 2007, 10:14 PM
  2. ROTJ upper cheek color...opinions needed plz!!!
    By Jluck in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Sep 4, 2007, 8:09 PM
  3. Opinions needed on Jango bucket
    By dark1rises in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Nov 28, 2006, 5:53 PM
  4. Accurate Hood -- Opinions Needed
    By LisaFett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Aug 19, 2003, 12:06 AM
  5. Opinions needed(PICS)...
    By Nicholas Wolfwood in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 10, 2003, 12:12 AM