Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

  1. #1

    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    SouthWest, Florida
    Posts
    946

    Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    Does or has anyone here use a chin strap to help secure the helmet? Reason I ask is that last year I installed rectangular foam inside on the sides of my helmet. My helmet stays on much better but it gets rather hot. Without those pieces... inside the helmet doesn't get hot at all plus my visor doesn't fog either. I do use padding/foam inside the top of the helmet which is comfortable and I do need it to line up my eyes to the visor. So....I need to find a solution to secure my helmet down when I remove the foam side pieces from the helmet. I thought of installing a chin strap but wanted to ask around here first before taking that step. Any tips and suggestions are welcomed. Thanks!


  2. #2
    BobaFettish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    3,228

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    The real helmet had the strap, but I personally have never had the need for it. My first helmet had foam padding, and my current helmet has a hardhat liner like the real one. I'd say that unless your helmet is either wobbly, you plan on doing stunts while wearing it, or you just want to be completely screen accurate, there isn't a need for one.

  3. #3
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    I guess I had pretty good results w/ a hardhat liner, (as many others have.) You just buy a cheapo hard-hat, and cut the dome off, then epoxy in the outer rim w/ the liner inside your bucket. I have found that w/ a hardhat liner, I dont need to use a chin-strap. The liner holds it on my mellon very nicely. For my next bucket, I had thought to use foam as you have done, but if it makes the bucket fog up more, maybe I'll stick w/ the hard-hat liner. There are some pics that suggest a hard-hat liner or similar system was most likely use on the original bucket, but according to Jeremy Bullock, there was a chin strap on the original as well. Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    BobaFettish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    3,228

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    Yup, the real one had both. The pics are around here somewhere if you want to hunt for them.

    ::Edit:: I got bored, so I looked for the pics myself. Here's a link to the RotJ chinstrap, and here's the inside of a different RotJ helmet showing the hardhat liner but without a chinstrap.


  5. #5

    Member Since
    Jul 2002
    From
    San Diego
    Posts
    560

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    Personally, I use both the hard-hat liner and the chin strap, which works really good incase you are moving around a lot.

  6. #6

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    I also have a hard hat liner with a chin strap. There is no movement at all & I have peace of mind knowing that I am not going to accidentally knock off my expensive fiberglass helmet.

  7. #7

    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    SouthWest, Florida
    Posts
    946

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    I probably will go the route of using the hard hat liner and chin strap. I do love the foam padding because it holds the helmet to my head and I don't loose my line of sight through the visor. My helmet does wobble a bit if my head movement is too quick without the foam padding. I'll try first the hard hat liner and if I need more, then I'll add a chin strap.
    Thanks everyone for sharing your info and history of how the original was done too.

  8. #8
    Bountys Hunted's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    From
    Northern California
    Posts
    2,354

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    Gotta echo the hardhat suspension liner. The only way to go. Comfort, fast moving ability w/ the helmet staying in place.

    Da only way to travel as Fett!


  9. #9

    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    From
    SouthWest, Florida
    Posts
    946

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    Thanks BobaFettish for the link and the comparison photo. When I posted this topic I thought the addition of a chin strap was going to be a little off the wall. But from the responses it helps me to justify adding a chin strap if needed. The reason I move my head so much is that I'm always keeping my eye on the wherebouts of my 4 year old son when we go out in costume together. Yeah, BobaFettish...I probably classify that as stunt work. The little guy moves so darn fast and my helmet tends to wobble...loosing my line of sight through the visor. The foam is excellent for keeping everything in place but it's too hot and foggy for me.
    Many Thanks again everyone for sharing your info!

    Charlie

  10. #10

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    The ESB helmet used a chin strap and chin cup for the film, or so it appears. I do believe I have found the correct chin cup and straps for the ESB helmet. Technically speaking, the ROTJ helmet did appear to have the same chin strap and cup as the ESB, except it really only appears in those Prepro photos that Hammerhead posted. In ROTJ, it seems they went with a "cloth" chin strap method.


  11. #11

    Member Since
    Jul 2002
    From
    San Diego
    Posts
    560

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?


    tylerdurden wrote:

    I do believe I have found the correct chin cup and straps for the ESB helmet.
    Do you mind sharing the knowledge? And do you know where to get the strap and cup?

  12. #12
    secol_FETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    on the country whit name of chili(aji in spanish)
    Posts
    2,036

    Re: Opinion.....Chin strap for helmet?

    i can add one of that, because my helm is a Recast DP95 and its small for mi big head ... well im not too big headed but my hair



Similar Threads

  1. FS: BBF HELMET / CHIN SKIRT, not Balaclava - Continuous Run
    By BooBoo Fett in forum The Cargo Hold
    Replies: 268
    Last Post: Jul 23, 2013, 2:31 PM
  2. Helmet Chin Skirt question
    By rackey01 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 6, 2010, 1:02 PM
  3. Helmet Chin Strap
    By bobamaker in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: Oct 16, 2009, 1:56 PM
  4. Chin Strap/Cup Info
    By Jango's kid in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: Jan 11, 2009, 4:26 PM
  5. Helmet chin strap configuration
    By Gonzo Fett in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Dec 16, 2005, 7:31 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •