Subscribe
  1. 1 Week Ago - May 16, 2015, 9:52 PM - Newbie - Fett Helmet #1

Hey there, I started this thread over at the RPF, but thought I would duplicate it here in hopes of getting more feedback and advice. I hope this is ok.

Hi all, complete newbie here embarking on my first prop and pepakura build. I'm using firefeks file and having a good time giving the pep thing a go. I have nearly got it at resin/fibreglass stage but I am unsure if I should pep the 'ear pieces' or not. I have looked at several build threads and it appears the consensus is it may be easier to leave them off at this stage. What do you think?

So I finished up the pep leaving the ears off. I've started the resining and will post pics off that soon.

I've made a little more progress.. this has been my first experience with fibreglass and bondo. I have read heaps on the forums and checked out lots of youtube vids, so I think I am going the right direction, however please let me know if you have any advice or comments or can help me do things better...

First of I resined the inside and outside and then fibreglassed just the inside:

Now was time to start my adventure with bondo, I gave the resined helmet a light sand and then jumped in. I didn't get as smooth an application as I was trying for, but I guess that will come with practice.

After a bit of sanding:

Lots more work to do... Please let me know if you think I am on the right track. I am just going to keep going with filling the gaps and sanding and filling the gaps and sanding etc... Try to get a consistent shape and then worry about the details later.
  2. 1 Week Ago - May 16, 2015, 9:56 PM - Re: Newbie - Fett Helmet #2

I am in the process of sanding/bondo today, as I work I am trying to figure out how to build the ridge around the helmet. I read in my research of another builder using cardboard and then filler over the top. What have others done?
  3. 1 Week Ago - May 17, 2015, 12:28 AM - Re: Newbie - Fett Helmet #3