Subscribe
  1. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 10, 2010, 6:06 PM - need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #1

    Guys, I'm planning on getting a MR Fett helmet to troop in until my FP comes in and I can get it painted up. I've got some leads but I wanted opinions about the "troopability" of the MR helmet from guys who are the experts here at TDH.
    How is the MR to troop with? I know (at least I think I read here) that the MR paint job is off... a lot or just a little?
    Thanks so much.
  2. Muad'Dib's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,289
    Jan 10, 2010, 6:24 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #2

    Heavy. Really heavy.

    The paintjob in my opinion while not perfect, is pretty good. The orange-ish splatter on the RF is the only place they really cheesed out on.
  3. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 10, 2010, 8:20 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #3

    Really? Heavy? Surely it can't be heavier than my Java phase I clone bucket (resin I believe)???
    Too heavy to troop with?
  4. Boba Swede's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2004
    Posts
    938
    Jan 11, 2010, 4:53 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #4

    I've trooped in my MR a couple of times... and i can say that while it may not be heavier than your average resin helmet it is wobbly.. at least on my head.. and if you turn your head to fast you find your self staring into the lining of the helmet..
  5. Muad'Dib's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,289
    Jan 17, 2010, 2:32 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #5

    You serious? The one I put on was pretty heavy.
  6. BooBoo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,574
    Jan 17, 2010, 3:16 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #6

    Heavy is relative. It is as heavy as you can bear. I troop with my MR helmet and Blaster. If you have a smallish head, the weight will be amplified by wobble. I have a larger head and have no wobble what so ever. You could always add a bit of padding to reduce wobble. Weight wise, it feels no different to me than wearing one of my motorcycle helmets (full face).

    Cheers
  7. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 17, 2010, 8:08 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #7

    Guys, thanks for the input. This is helpful.
    BoobooFett I especially appreciate your take: it's so true that "heavy" is relative. As I mentioned before- after wearing my resin Java ep. II clone helmet on troops (my neck would actually be sore afterward) the MR Fett may feel like a feather. And I don't have a smallish head so hopefully any wobbling can be fixed by extra padding as you mentioned.
    Plus I have to believe that the thrill of being Boba Fett outweighs (pardon the pun) any slight discomfort from a solid helmet.
    Tell me please do you wear a "riot chin strap" or whatever it's called for your MR? I would imagine it cuts down on any wobble as well. Or is the riot strap thing kind of a rarity? Thanks.
  8. BooBoo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,574
    Jan 17, 2010, 11:22 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #8

    I, personally, do not have a strap on my MR. But I will use one on my FettPride helmet. I'll not use a riot type strap with a chin cup. Again, going back to my 35 years of wearing a motorcycle helmet, I find the strap under the jaw far more comfortable than a chin cup.

  9. Muad'Dib's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,289
    Jan 17, 2010, 11:33 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #9

    Maybe the one I tried was resin-rich or laid up super thick but it was heavier than any Fett helmet than I have ever tried on.
    I know costuming isn't always the most comfortable and we suffer sometimes for the joy of looking cool, but I don't think
    a Fett helmet should weigh almost as much as a Vader dome.

    But it's your neck muscles that will decide that, not mine.
  10. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Jan 17, 2010, 11:36 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #10

    Quote daric larone said: View Post
    I know (at least I think I read here) that the MR paint job is off... a lot or just a little?
    Thanks so much.
    The paintjob is very nice for a production piece, but sometimes the paint on the dent is not where it belongs.
    I have fixed one up a little here;
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showt...ET-RE-PAINTING
  11. formerly buda741 rnbuda's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    Posts
    226
    Jan 18, 2010, 1:33 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #11

    How about the pinch?
  12. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 18, 2010, 9:06 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #12

    Quote rnbuda said: View Post
    How about the pinch?
    Fortunately the guy I'm buying mine from fixed it and replaced the visor. Sweet.
    I hope the paint job on the dent is decent on mine.
    Thanks for all the chime ins guys. This is most helpful.
  13. fettpride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,654
    Jan 18, 2010, 9:09 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #13

    Don't forget about the smell of formaldehyde

    I swear, my own STILL smells like whatever chemical was used in the glue for the lining. I have it in a spare room that is always closed off - every time I go in there the whole room wreaks of it I can't imagine how on earth "quality assurance" or whatever other powers that be could think that it would be ok to send something like that to the public knowing full well people were going to trap themselves in it for prolonged periods of time wearing it. Someone had to have picked up on it ... surely the factory had to wreak of it too ?! I've not had my eyes water that much since I went through CS gas training Oh, and the headache --- don't get me started

    I know of many that had the smell when they first came out. Does anyone else still have issues with it ??


    Chris
  14. TD2253's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    610
    Jan 18, 2010, 1:12 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #14

    My MR ROTS Clone helmet still has a bit of residual smell from whatever glue they used for the padding. Mind you though that I've had my MR clone helmet for over 3 years now. As far as the wobbling goes on the MR Fett helmet, I bought a basic baseball helmet ($15.00) and used the padding for my Sgt. Fang. It is comfy now and the wobble is gone.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sgtfang helmet.jpg 
Views:	80 
Size:	93.3 KB 
ID:	40570   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fanghelmet.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	84.7 KB 
ID:	40571  
    Last edited by TD2253; Jan 18, 2010 at 1:23 PM.
  15. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Jan 18, 2010, 1:16 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #15

    Quote fettpride said: View Post
    I know of many that had the smell when they first came out. Does anyone else still have issues with it ??
    I tore the lining out of mine and took off all the glue residue that I could. Then I rubbed the whole thing down with acetone inside and out. It smells fine now.
  16. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 18, 2010, 2:35 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #16

    Quote stormtrooperguy said: View Post
    I tore the lining out of mine and took off all the glue residue that I could. Then I rubbed the whole thing down with acetone inside and out. It smells fine now.
    Brian, did you keep the original padding somehow or did you put in different padding?
  17. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Jan 18, 2010, 4:12 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #17

    I completely trashed my original... stripped the paint off, stripped the interior out, etc... I used it as a project base to make my RotJ bucket out of.
  18. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 19, 2010, 4:00 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #18

    Got mine today and I couldn't be more excited and pleased. Like Christmas morning late 70's/early 80's!
    The paint job is just amazing; and my dent paint isn't that too far off in my estimation.
    And thankfully I don't detect any toxic adhesive smell on the inside.
    And finally the weight is negligible compared to helmets I've worn in the past. A slight wobble as mentioned here but nothing a bit of padding can't fix.
    Well, there's my review. Thanks again for all the input and opinions.
  19. formerly buda741 rnbuda's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    Posts
    226
    Jan 21, 2010, 2:39 AM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #19

    My MR Fett helmet is my 2nd favorite piece in my collection next to my MR ROTS Darth Vader Helmet. They're perfect for people with no artist ability at all! My paint on the dent is right on too!
  20. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 28, 2010, 2:28 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #20

    OK so the cool blinking lights on my RF worked for a minute and now they don't. Anyone know if I can change the battery or am I just SOL? Thanks.
  21. Member Since
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    410
    Jan 28, 2010, 2:33 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #21

    the battery is in the RF. Just slide the little polaroid lens doohicky on the white plastic piece on the bottom of the RF and it pops open. Underneath is a little cover for the battery housing... its a hearing aid type battery. I think you'll need a small screwdriver for the battery cover.
  22. daric larone's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    257
    Jan 28, 2010, 2:49 PM - Re: need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet #22

    Hey thanks for the rapid response! I'll give it shot. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Expert eye needed on scratchbuild
    By goodus10 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2011, 11:57 AM
  2. Need help from an expert in electronics and electricity
    By Madrid Boba in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Dec 24, 2009, 1:10 PM
  3. MR Helmet opinions
    By jackpot76 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Dec 10, 2007, 10:14 PM
  4. Need helmet color opinions.
    By electric_jay in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Jul 17, 2006, 2:02 PM
  5. Helmet experts your opinions please
    By skygunbro in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Aug 22, 2003, 11:42 PM