MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

  1. #1
    Jluck's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    From
    michigan
    Posts
    441

    MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    want to know what you guys think...good and bad b4 i mount this to the bracket. i have a few slight touch-ups yet, and the brown is still only a base coat.....i just couldt do nemore at the time... man all the details are soo tiny! good lord my eyes and my cam suks too only 3.2 mgp.so sorry for the jumky pics.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails hpim1147-jpg   hpim1149-jpg   hpim1150-jpg  


  2. #2
    formerly old_jedi_mind_trick Bobby Fett UK's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    From
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    1,453

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Looks good to me, but what do I know.

    I do know it sits behing the keyholes on the back of the bucket, but how much can you see. Can you post a pic when installed?

  3. #3
    I helped at SDCC '08 Silver Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    From
    California
    Posts
    364

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Hey nice job. Here is a link to another thread that also shows how to make them.http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=4206

  4. #4
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,249

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Geez! That's some tiny detail.
    Now stick it in a calculator and see if it works.

  5. #5
    Jluck's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    From
    michigan
    Posts
    441

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    here is a couple pics of it mounted behind the key-slots. (key-slots are only rough trimmed yet) ...i added a lil red light for kicks (non-functional)

    ill tell ya, a great cast can show some amazing detail! thanks to FP

    im still way far from tackling the helmet itself or painting any of the other goodies until my physical situation improves.....but, i will be working on the interior of the helmet like the lining, visor etc....i can hide lil mistakes if they happen. once i get into that more ill start my offical FPH thread.

    thanks again everyone
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails hpim1168-jpg   hpim1167-jpg  
    Last edited by Jluck; Nov 20, 2007 at 8:05 PM.

  6. #6

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Man, the props guys on these movies sure did a lot of work for stuff you would never notice on the screen.

    I can't comment on if it's screen accurate, but I can say it looks well made. Nice job.

  7. #7
    never_ending_fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2006
    From
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,158

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    that looks great, i thought it was the real deal just looking at the picture (purty pictures first, read second) but, the screen used prop was painted a solid color before it was installed in the back if I'm not mistaken.

  8. #8
    Ripcode's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Muskegon, Michigan
    Posts
    2,268

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Jluck said: View Post
    want to know what you guys think...good and bad
    Looks awesome!

    However.. you went through a lot of work, since the board is painted a solid color which matches the key slots..!

    ESB:



    ROTJ:


  9. #9
    Jluck's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    From
    michigan
    Posts
    441

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    ya i no but i wanted a real looking board in the helmet instead of the painted over one. and i figured might as well paint the whole thing instead of just what shows
    something a lil different ya no....for the rest of the helmet it will be screen accurate though


    thanks for the comments guys!

  10. #10
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,249

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Hey can you describe or show pics of the mounting system you're using?
    Is that a sheet of plastic the MQ-1 board is attached to?

  11. #11

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    i was thinking that too. i'm about to mount one of those myself, and was planning my typical "squish it in epoxy putty" route, but this looks interesting.

  12. #12
    Jluck's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2007
    From
    michigan
    Posts
    441

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    im going to re-work a couple things on this idea for my helmet personally, but this may work for someone else with a smaller head or someone who's not going to fit too much stuff inside.

    my problem was with all the other things im going to put in there its not going to leave me with enough room for that super comfy feel im looking for. but i will post what i did incase it works better for someone else: pretty simple,

    first you need to make a template to find the proper dimensions to make the bracket for hardware placment on the helmet etc....

    ~Step 1
    on poster board make a grid starting w/ the width measurments of the overall keyslot area ( from the outside of the helmet ). then find "center" on the measurment.




    this will help find placement for mounting the hardware around the "texture" inside. as each side may need different length "tab" to be as level as possible.

    ~Step 2
    draw lines for the length of the board, subtracted one inch off the top and bottom then draw those lines basically creating the capital letter " I " making the "tabs" or "feet" for the bracket screws.
    each tab extends 1.5" off each side.



    cut out the template.

    ~ Step 3
    on each "tab" of the template mark a centered hole. then cut out the hole so its sorta oblong (horizontal). this way u have space to play with and move the screws. side/side, angle it etc.





    ~ Step 4
    hold the template inside ur lid flat against the keyslots to get an idea of screw length needed.
    then attach the screws with the "tee-nut" on the end. hold flat on keyslots and move the screw/tee-nut around untill u find the right placement inside the helmet. trace around the tee-nut for placement.






    bond the tee-nut too the helmet interior with what ever application u prefer (epoxy, goop)

    ~Step 5
    while that is curing, trace around the shap of ur MQ-1 onto the template and cut away any desired excess u dont want around the board.
    shaping what u want the bracket to look like. round off corners etc............ this will now serve as the template to trace ur permanate bracket onto the styrene.



    trace, cut, trim the styrene to the desired shape. i used .80 styrene for mine.
    sand if to paint, and also for roughing up the surface for adhesian.

    before permanatly attaching the MQ-1, tape it to the bracket first and do test fits incase u need to make any last min. changes for screwhole size, alighnment, test fitting ur helmet....

    if need be add a washer or two to secure a snug fit with the scews and ur set.

    its really simple, but it sounds like alot of steps. this is to ensure a really close and calculated placement for the bracket, and saving the most room as to not waste precious space inside the lid!

    well, hope this helps some folks out...if it did lmk how it turned out!
    ill post different pics of what i end up using for mine incase some ppl have a lager melon like me and plan on filling up there bucket

  13. #13
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,249

    Re: MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted

    Oh, excellent tutorial!! Thanks for taking the time to explain how you did it.
    Seems like that method should work really great.

Similar Threads

  1. mQ-1 Circuit board Blueprint
    By wizardofflight in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: May 28, 2014, 4:55 AM
  2. Blinking LED circuit board kit $8
    By james007bond in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jan 23, 2010, 9:40 AM
  3. Helm Question: Circuit Board?
    By FettDad in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Apr 19, 2008, 4:09 AM
  4. MQ-1 circuit board scale?
    By propsculptor in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Mar 27, 2005, 9:33 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •