Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Moveable RF (servo thingy)

  1. #51
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I'm getting so frustrated with this supposedly simple project. I can't get the damned thing to work. I'm thinking of hooking it up to a 9 volt just for the Hell of it to see if the added juice does anything. I touched the wires to the 9 volt earlier and it at least moved a little. Maybe I just need more juice than 2 AAs can provide? Who knows? At this point if I fry the servo... oh well... its not working anyway.

  2. #52
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Nice... hooked up the 9 volt, flipped the switch on the Zip-Zap controller and got a nice puff of smoke from the Zip-Zap board. I guess I killed that....

    I hooked up the 9 volt to the servo directly... NOTHING. I guess that's dead too. I give up... apparently I'm not meant to get this working.

  3. #53

    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    590

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    That sucks..

  4. #54
    Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    From
    St. Catharines, ON
    Posts
    1,957

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    If you can open the back up and post a pic, it will make it easier to see exactly what you're dealing with. Were you able to find a small enough screwdriver?

  5. #55
    krillindb's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    From
    Grantham, PA
    Posts
    473

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Woah guys long time no see. I didnt realize my tutorial continues to live on, I'm flattered :o. I didnt even realize it was still online for that matter. Anyhow its been quite some time since I made that, my suit is in so many pieces that I've put it aside.

    webchief, the zipzap that you have, is it one of the old models or the new ones as the tutorial was written to use the original models. I'm sure the new models can do it as well I've just never attempted it.

    But if anyone has any specific questions I'd be glad to answer them.
    Cheers Gentlemen and Ladies.

  6. #56
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I opened it up and it was so tight in there you really couldn't see much. I'll do it again and take the pic.

    Oh yeah... I have no clue about the model of Zip-Zap. I just bought it last week on sale for $10. It was one of their discontinued models.

  7. #57
    krillindb's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2003
    From
    Grantham, PA
    Posts
    473

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Well here are pictures of radio shacks zipzaps controllers. The first one is the original model, the one I used in my tutorial, the second one is the se model which I have yet to try and the third is the monster truck model which I also havent used. You can also get the third party mini rc cars that have contollers shaped like a circle as shown in the fourth picture. These are actually in the $5-10 range so they run a little cheaper than the zips but they can tend to have more fragile wiring so if using one, just be a little more careful when working th eproject.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails controller1-jpg   controller2-jpg   controller3-jpg  

    mini-rc-car-jpg  

  8. #58
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Hi all, I need some help please...

    on my version of rc model .. comparing the provided picture.. are..

    top - positive
    2nd - left - no need
    3rd - right- no need
    4th - front
    5th - back
    6th - negative

    I attached the pos & neg appropriately to the 2 AA source..
    on my hitech servo - the wires are red/black/ yellow, and accordingly red=pos,black=neg, yellow= trigger.

    no matter how I connect the servo to 4 and 5 it doesn't go? I get some jittering when I attach the pos & neg to pos & neg on the board then touch the yellow to either the f or B? but then still nothing when using the remote?

    anyone have any thoughts? I'd post pics but they're not that great.

    p.s - it's a brand new servo -

  9. #59
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Anyone please

  10. #60
    mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Central Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,604

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Not to hijack, but I have a question to those who used the zip zaps. I was going to use one, but the remote control is kind of big. Are you guys using the zip zap remote, or finding something small like Gator has?

  11. #61
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I eventually gave up so I'm not using anything. It was too much of a pain in the rear. I killed two zip zaps because I couldn't get them to work no matter how they were hooked up. Eventually one burnt out and the other's wires were too fragile and came completely undone.

    In the end I almost rather just buy one of Hyperdyne's if I ever think of doing this for real. Its the one piece of my costume that's eluded me for years... had it almost working a few years back only to have that motor completely croak on me. Its never been the same since.

  12. #62
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I am not sure it makes a difference using a true "zip zap" model or not /shrug

    also as far as the transmitter goes I was planning on modifying as best as possible to make it as small as possible.

  13. #63
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Anyone else have any success with this method?

  14. #64
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    well actually went out and bought a zip zap as in the pics of the original... still no dice... grrrr...

    I will have to look into what voltage is required for the servo.. I went with a hitech hs 85

  15. #65
    Buckeye_01's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Hartville, Oh.
    Posts
    669

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    In all of my RC modeling days, I have never seen 3vdc drive a servo. When my transmitter drops below 9vdc, my servos start to flutter, and will not respond to any input I give them. I don't think you have enough juice driving your servos guys/gals. I understand the zipzap board is rated at only 3v, therefore, that doesn't give the servo much juice left to run on, especially to lift a stalk, even if your servo is 120oz. I'll tell ya what I would do. I would run the zipzap board with the 2AA batteries, and then I would hook a 9v battery to my servo for its juice. Don't hook anything to your board but the signal wire for your servo, and the 2AA's.

    Kivas,
    Your hitec micro servo is rated at a minimum of 5v. At 6v it's only going to pull 26oz. You may have to lighten up your stalk and range finder considerably.

    Good luck guys/gals! If I can help, feel free to ask.

  16. #66
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    ok thanks will try that. As far a lightening my stalk.. this 85 has enough torque for a 60scale plane so I think it should do it.. when it has enough juice that is.

    I kind of thought that it wasn't getting enough, but I was not able to find last night what the minimum was for this servo.

    I would think it should work with each piece having its independent power source.. and only the pulse wire connected to the board. I will give it a try

  17. #67
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    well.... tried the 9v to the servo.. and 2AA to board.. and still nothing

    I did move a little at the very begining with the 2AA's how easily do these things burn out?

  18. #68
    digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Yakima, Wa.
    Posts
    503

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Sorry to say but if you hooked it up to the 9v, it probably fried it. I did this as well. I had 4 of these so it was no biggy, I was testing to see if the board would handle 9v and increase the torque of the servo I was testing. Within a second of pushing the button the board went *poof* and the genie escaped.

  19. #69
    I helped at SDCC '08 Gonzo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2005
    From
    Fear and Loathing in a Galaxy farther...away...
    Posts
    988

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    digital509 said:
    Within a second of pushing the button the board went *poof* and the genie escaped.

    oooooo...my side!

    yeah I broke down and got Hyperdyne stuff as well. Great guy to deal w/ btw. My friend who is an EE major told me he could do it, but w/ his classes and life it was impossible to tie him down to commit to it. What really me off was when I showed him Hyperdynes stuff he was all 'oh...I was planning on going smaller than this'

    pfffffft whateva!

  20. #70
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I never attached the 9v to the board.. only the 2aa's.

    I have access to some old flight stuff so I will try out the proper controler receiver for the servo.. and see how small I can get it.. also I will be putting the board back into the zip zap to make sure it still works to eliminate that part.

    Ah well.. all fun as this is a hobby and all

  21. #71
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    hmm... welll.. I can get it all together, but it seem like the servo doesn't get enough pulse?

    I went back to a zip zap, - the zip zap is powered by 2 aa, and the servo by the 4.6 v pack it needs. I know the servo is good..and I know the board is good as I left the motor wired in... and then when I attach ther servo pulse wire..it just does a confused jiggle.

    please help.. those who have been able to get this to work please post pics.

  22. #72
    Boba Al's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    49

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    Gday guys,

    ie got a zip zap type remote control car which i have pulled apart it is powered by 6V battery charger and the boards rated at 6v. Now i decided not to go with the servo way but a Dc motor instead that is small enough to fit into the helmet nicely. All i have to do is make a b=racket to glue it in with.

    Now it wont do what the hyperdyne one does but it will go up and down as commanded so i will prob be able to do what J-ROCKS one does push button till in up postion and push button till in down postition and i thinks thats the best im gonna do with this one. ill prob upgrade to a hyperdyne when the time comes.

    I havent installed it all yet but ill let you know how the motor handels the RF stalk!

    Cheers,

    Al

  23. #73

    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I was hoping someone could help me with this.
    I tried all the ways listed here and the only way that even gets the servo shuddering was buckeye's way.
    I am using a Hitec HS-85MG, and a 1st edition zip zap board.

    Please help!

    thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails servo-jpg  

  24. #74
    Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
    Posts
    419

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    I never got it to work either, I used various zip zaps and the same servo as you.

    Eventually I bought a hitec ground car kit and works fabulously ( came with all parts needed) The only this is the transmitter is obviously bigger than the zip zap, but will be gutting it and concealing it somewhere - hopefully right gaunt -
    I am also reworking it to be non direct drive as saves likely 90% of the space.

  25. #75

    Member Since
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy)

    hmmm..

    I just hooked a 9v up to a HS-77BB..it made a hiss sound at me.
    Is this thing dead? Ya I am stupid...


Similar Threads

  1. Helmet clip thingy
    By A'den Kyramud in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: May 1, 2009, 3:16 AM
  2. Question: servo
    By teabo in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 21, 2009, 5:22 PM
  3. Jango Holster buckle thingy?????
    By tc-2917 in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jul 15, 2007, 8:37 PM
  4. Need Servo help
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Oct 23, 2005, 10:06 PM
  5. RC RF servo help!!!!!
    By thksdad in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 15, 2005, 12:20 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •