Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 1, 2005, 6:22 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #26

    Quote Jango_Fett_Jr said:
    Hey Gator, did you have to buy that servo horn seperarely? I got Hyperdyne's servo, and I was planning on doing the same thing as you, but the horns that come with the servo aren't that long.
    Yep. I went to my local RC shop and searched through all of the various servo horns, that would fit my servo, till I found the longest one they had. I picked up the package of horns and a seperate package of longer screws. I don't remember the type right now, but I will check when I get home tonight.

    Gator
  2. Kivas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    419
    Nov 1, 2005, 11:29 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #27

    Very nice.
  3. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 1, 2005, 11:50 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #28

    OK, I have determined that my servo wll fit in place. Now, my question is what exactly do I need? I have the servo, I have the zip-zap car as the controller board and transmitter; I have read that 2 AA batteries will be sufficent for power Are there any other components that I will need? Thanks again, to the people with knowledge about this stuff! It really helps, and will make my suit look that much better!

    Shinobi
  4. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 2, 2005, 3:06 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #29

    Quote Gator Fett said:
    I don't remember the type right now, but I will check when I get home tonight.
    Sorry guys. I checked last night, but I did not keep the packaging that the horns came in. Your best bet would be to find a local store and guess the size needed for your helmet.
  5. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 2, 2005, 3:10 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #30

    Quote Shinobi_Fett said:
    OK, I have determined that my servo wll fit in place. Now, my question is what exactly do I need? I have the servo, I have the zip-zap car as the controller board and transmitter; I have read that 2 AA batteries will be sufficent for power Are there any other components that I will need? Thanks again, to the people with knowledge about this stuff! It really helps, and will make my suit look that much better!

    Shinobi
    One question for you first. Is the zip-zap car controller board still connected to the cars little motor? If so, how many wires are connected? If not, are the wires still available?
  6. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 3, 2005, 9:13 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #31

    Well, I will try to get some pics up of all my starting materials. The car is still in car form, I have to dissasemble it. (The re is a tutorial on that around, I think) Also, I need to know what part of the transmitter to rip out. (the transmitter/charger is a big clunky thing that the car sits on) That part, I think I want to mount to the inside of my gauntlet, though I'm not certain how or where at this point.

    Say, anyone else think there should be an "official" helmet servo thread sticky? All this knowledge should be right at hand as a base building step. Just my thought...


    Shinobi
  7. Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,957
    Nov 3, 2005, 9:41 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #32

    Actually I had a question on the same lines. I still need to look for another car to hack up (may end up using the Zipzap this time around), but the ones that have seen, running a simple motor, only have the two wires coming out of them. The Hitech servo from Hyperdyne has three. I don't a ton about servos, but do I need to worry about the yellow one (which I've been told is for pulse and is specific to digital servos), or can i just snip that off and wire it up like I did with my reguler old servo?
  8. Prymer13's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,090
    Nov 3, 2005, 9:53 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #33

    I could be wrong but I have seen yellow wires used for remote control (hence the pulse description). If you're using a three way toggle for control, it seems to me like the yellow is useless....
  9. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 3, 2005, 9:59 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #34

    I am by no means an expert in this, but this is what I have learned so far. A standard servo has three wires, red / black / yellow. The red and black are the power wires, and the yellow is a pulse (or control wire). With out the pulse a servo will just go round and round, like a motor, as long as power is applied to the red / black wires.

    In my kit, I press the transmitter button once, and the servo moves the programed 90 deg rotation, up or down. *Here is where I am guessing.* Without the control wire, a single press of the button would only move the servo a little bit, OR it would start the servo up and not stop until the RF hit its limit or you pressed the button again. Without the control wire you may have to hold the button down until the RF gets to the positon you want. Then to reverse the operation you would have to use another button, to reverse the polarity of the power wires and control the servo in the other direction. Again, I am guessing. Hopefully someone with some real knowledge will chime in.

    Gator
  10. Jango_Fett_Jr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2002
    Posts
    1,957
    Nov 3, 2005, 10:07 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #35

    Ok I figured it was something like that. It's a little more covenient with the Hyperdyne kit, only having to press a button for it to go up.

    If you don't use the pulse control, you just need to hold down the up or down buttons until they reach the desired position. I use a three-way toggle switch; flick it one way and when it reaches the bottom/top I flick it back to the middle to stop it (or the motor will keep running and burn out). Does that make sense? Its not as simple as the pulse method, but it only takes a second to go up and down so it works for me.
  11. J-ROCK's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    262
    Nov 3, 2005, 10:08 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #36

    Hey Gator Fett,

    That's exactly how mine works..."hold the button down until the RF gets to the positon you want. Then to reverse the operation you would have to use another button, to reverse the polarity of the power wires and control the servo in the other direction."

    Again, I used the Zipzap tutorial.
  12. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 4, 2005, 12:44 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #37

    Well, my servo has 3 wires, black, red and blue... what are they? I know that black is almost always ground, and red is power. Is the blue the pulse one? Just becuase I am electrically inept, that I ask so many questions! Thanks follks!

    Shinobi
  13. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 4, 2005, 1:11 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #38

    Quote Shinobi_Fett said:
    Well, my servo has 3 wires, black, red and blue... what are they? I know that black is almost always ground, and red is power. Is the blue the pulse one? Just becuase I am electrically inept, that I ask so many questions! Thanks follks!

    Shinobi
    Actually black is NEVER ground. GREEN is the ground wire in an AC / DC circuit. In a residential AC circuit black = power, white = neutral and green = ground. In a DC application black may be power, neutral or some other use, but not ground. In your application, the black/red combo are the power/neutral or neutral/power (depending on how the circuit is wired) and the blue is the pulse.
  14. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 4, 2005, 2:20 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #39

    OK, I will be using the zip-zap car method. In these pics (lifted from Krillin) it shows red/black going to the battery. Do both go to the same battery terminal? He recommenends a bettery caes... There are blue and yellow wires rom the controller board, what wires do those go to on the servo? Blue to blue? Is the yellow unneccesary? Help! (Thank you for all the help thusfar!!!!)

    Shinobi
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	boardout.JPG.jpg 
Views:	1392 
Size:	32.3 KB 
ID:	6664   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connections.JPG.jpg 
Views:	1396 
Size:	21.2 KB 
ID:	6665  
  15. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,702
    Nov 8, 2005, 9:22 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #40

    Quote Shinobi_Fett said:
    OK, I will be using the zip-zap car method. In these pics (lifted from Krillin) it shows red/black going to the battery. Do both go to the same battery terminal? He recommenends a bettery caes... There are blue and yellow wires rom the controller board, what wires do those go to on the servo? Blue to blue? Is the yellow unneccesary? Help! (Thank you for all the help thusfar!!!!)

    Shinobi
    One of those yellows is the antenna isn't it?
  16. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 8, 2005, 9:50 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #41

    Yes, Chief, the yellow wire to the right of the pic is the antenna. But my question is this: my servo has a red black and blue wire; the controller board has a blue yellow red and black wire set-up. What wires go to the servo, and which go to the batteries? Also, how many batteries do I need? Do the same batteries power the servo and the controller board? based on my servo and the zip-zap board pics (below) can anyone draw out a wiring diagram suggestion? As I said, my electronics understanding is rudimentary at best... Thanks guys!

    Shinobi
  17. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Nov 8, 2005, 3:48 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #42

    Let's see ... I will give it a try.

    Batteries:
    Try a 2 AA battery holder from Radio Shack. The battery holder will have two prongs on one end. One positive and one negitive. Connect the controller board red wire to the positive prong and the contoller black wire to the negitive prong. Solder the wires to the prongs. These batteries will power BOTH the contoller board and the servo.

    Servo:
    Connect the servo red wire to the contoller board blue wire, and the servo black wire to the contoller board yellow wire. Don't worry about the servo blue wire right now. Do not cut it off, just let it hang loose,

    Transmitter:
    Use whatever type and number of batteries the zip-zap transmitter needs, to provide power to the transmitter board.

    That should power and control your servo. Try the switches on your transmitter to see if they work the servo. You may have to switch the red/blue and black/yellow wires to red/yellow and black/blue, if the servo spins in the wrong direction.

    Keep us posted.
    Gator
  18. Shinobi_Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    451
    Nov 8, 2005, 4:30 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #43

    Gator, you ROCK!!!

    This is what I though, but since I don't know what I'm doing, I I need to hear it from someone who does! Thank a trillion! I'll let you know when it's rigged up! ROCK ON!!

    Shinobi
  19. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,702
    Dec 7, 2005, 10:40 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #44

    Can a servo simply be dead? The reason I ask is because I've hooked mine up in exactly the way Gator Fett described and I get NOTHING out of my servo. I've even tried connecting the batteries directly to the servo just to see if the direct power would do anything and the servo simply doesn't move. No power at all. PLEASE HELP! This is driving me crazy!
  20. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,702
    Dec 8, 2005, 12:13 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #45

    Here's a picture of the three components I have:

    - the battery pack
    - the Zip Zap board
    - the Hitec Micro HS-80 servo

    As you can see, the servo has the three wires. Originally the red and yellow were attached together but I pulled the two wires appart.

    No matter what I do I can't get the motor to move. I've tried connecting the battery pack directly to the servo wires but nothing happened. Unfortunately I'm not even sure which is the positive, negative and pulse wire.

    I'm looking for some eyeglass screwdrivers so I can open the servo up and look inside but no dice yet.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSCF3144.jpg 
Views:	1263 
Size:	24.6 KB 
ID:	7288  
  21. Gator Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    806
    Dec 8, 2005, 10:17 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #46

    webchief,
    I wish I could help you out, but my electrical circuit knowledge (the very little that I have) has been tapped. Sorry.
    Gator
  22. mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,604
    Dec 8, 2005, 10:50 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #47

    A servo motor could be simply dead. On your servo, I would guess red=(+), black=(-), and yellow=pulse. That would make sense for standard wire color code.
  23. mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,604
    Dec 8, 2005, 11:23 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #48

  24. Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    4,702
    Dec 8, 2005, 11:49 AM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #49

    Cool. Thanks for the link! At least I know the black and red are the wires I'm interested in. That's what I figured but who knows...
  25. Dec 9, 2005, 2:08 PM - Re: Moveable RF (servo thingy) #50

    i bet this would make a great range finder LED

    http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...tegory_ID=4322

Similar Threads

  1. Helmet clip thingy
    By A'den Kyramud in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: May 1, 2009, 3:16 AM
  2. servo
    By teabo in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Mar 21, 2009, 5:22 PM
  3. Jango Holster buckle thingy?????
    By tc-2917 in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Jul 15, 2007, 8:37 PM
  4. Need Servo help
    By bobafett669 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Oct 23, 2005, 10:06 PM
  5. RC RF servo help!!!!!
    By thksdad in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 15, 2005, 12:20 PM