I need your opinion Guys

  1. #1
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    I need your opinion Guys

    can anybody tell me who makes high quality helmet kits? I'm kinda new here and not familiar with all the members and the quality of their work. (even though everybody I've seen so far has amazing artistic abilities haha) Thanks!
    Last edited by Lokan; May 22, 2009 at 6:00 PM.

  2. #2
    A'den Kyramud's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    From
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    1,337

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    dont know if id get that...look at the warped visor...ick...

  3. #3
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    Yeah not too crazy about the dent in the helmet either...not that accurate.

  4. #4
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,530

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    No posting of live auctions on the forum.
    That's a no-no

    I would suggest the MR helmet myself
    Low price if you factor in getting a raw helmet painted by someone

  5. #5
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    sorry about that, I'll delete the link from the thread. But the Mr helmet? How is the SgtFang/Mystery Helmet, TK 409 reccomends it and I know where I can get it cheap

  6. #6
    Mojo-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2007
    From
    UK
    Posts
    4,783

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    Lokan said: View Post
    Mr Helmet?
    Master Replica...
    Some have a cast or two...

  7. #7
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    Central, Ca
    Posts
    1,376

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    I definitley wouldn't buy that ebay helmet. I just got an MR that was displayed only for $300. Keep your eyes open and you'll find them. Recently a place in So Cal has auctions for a non-signature helmets that run about $320-$375.

  8. #8
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,517

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    I honestly recommend the FettPride helmet above everyone else. It has the strongest helmet out there, cleanest cast, and sharpest details.

    BobaMaker is a good alternative though.

  9. #9
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    How much do FettPride helmets cost?

  10. #10

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    After working on his bucket I gotta say FP is the man.Cleanest lid I ever dealt with.

  11. #11
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    Guess I'll pm him. My budget is a little tight, tho...if that doesn't work out i'll probably go with the mystery helmet.

  12. #12

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    the mystery helmet is really good. it takes a lot more clean up work than the fettpride or bobamaker, but it's the cheapest by far. the master replicas is a great lid... one of the nice things about is is that for the $300 - $400 you get not just a painted helmet, but aluminum ear caps, moving aluminum rf stalk and range finder lights.

    seeing as machined aluminum ears and stalk go for $200+ on their own and you'd pay $30ish i think for a light kit, that makes for a REALLY good value.

    the visor area has a pinch at the bottom, but its an easy fix.

    and you can always strip the paint and redo it if you aren't fond of the paint job.

  13. #13
    CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    From
    The miserable mill
    Posts
    2,300

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    fettpride helmets rock i'll agree, but you do get what you pay for with private makers.

    cleaner helmets are going to be more expensive.

    are you planning to paint it yourself? if not take into account how much a paint job will cost too.


    The MR is a great helmet that only needs some visor correct in order to be troopable.
    you also have a fiberglass bucket with aluminum parts and lights.

    hard to beat that for the price range. just trying to make realistic feedback for you

  14. #14
    Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    From
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    45

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    Does anybody here have a MR helmet? If not, where could I get one?

  15. #15
    peanutbutterstrangle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    From
    Long Island
    Posts
    73

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    MR helmet all the way... I got super lucky and won a BRAND NEW IN THE BOX MR SE Boba for $300. Super lucky. LED range finder works... Great helmet. check Ebay periodically, or go straight to AMAZON

  16. #16

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    If TerminalFettler still makes them, his helmets are BEAUTIFUL. I personally own one and it is top knotch. FettPride is as equally awesome in my opinion. BobaMaker is also another nice option.

    El1te

  17. #17

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    FP is the man. 'Nuff said.

  18. #18
    Sith_Lord_Hritz's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2009
    From
    NW Indiana
    Posts
    15

    Re: I need your opinion Guys

    i would go with the MR one myself, looks good and like already said to have a raw cast preped and painted would cost as much if not more.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  2. Vaticast (just an opinion)
    By Dougie Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 29, 2008, 6:08 AM
  3. Can I get an opinion on these gauntlets
    By Darth Paul in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: May 6, 2008, 2:19 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 7:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 12:31 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •