Subscribe
  1. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 22, 2009, 6:07 PM - I need your opinion Guys #1

    can anybody tell me who makes high quality helmet kits? I'm kinda new here and not familiar with all the members and the quality of their work. (even though everybody I've seen so far has amazing artistic abilities haha) Thanks!
    Last edited by Lokan; May 22, 2009 at 7:00 PM.
  2. A'den Kyramud's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,337
    May 22, 2009, 6:11 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #2

    dont know if id get that...look at the warped visor...ick...
  3. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 22, 2009, 6:14 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #3

    Yeah not too crazy about the dent in the helmet either...not that accurate.
  4. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    May 22, 2009, 6:49 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #4

    No posting of live auctions on the forum.
    That's a no-no

    I would suggest the MR helmet myself
    Low price if you factor in getting a raw helmet painted by someone
  5. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 22, 2009, 6:57 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #5

    sorry about that, I'll delete the link from the thread. But the Mr helmet? How is the SgtFang/Mystery Helmet, TK 409 reccomends it and I know where I can get it cheap
  6. Mojo-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2007
    Posts
    4,783
    May 22, 2009, 7:00 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #6

    Quote Lokan said: View Post
    Mr Helmet?
    Master Replica...
    Some have a cast or two...
  7. I helped at SDCC '08 Jango 5204's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,376
    May 22, 2009, 7:04 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #7

    I definitley wouldn't buy that ebay helmet. I just got an MR that was displayed only for $300. Keep your eyes open and you'll find them. Recently a place in So Cal has auctions for a non-signature helmets that run about $320-$375.
  8. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    May 22, 2009, 8:01 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #8

    I honestly recommend the FettPride helmet above everyone else. It has the strongest helmet out there, cleanest cast, and sharpest details.

    BobaMaker is a good alternative though.
  9. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 22, 2009, 9:05 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #9

    How much do FettPride helmets cost?
  10. May 22, 2009, 9:38 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #10

    After working on his bucket I gotta say FP is the man.Cleanest lid I ever dealt with.
  11. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 22, 2009, 10:02 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #11

    Guess I'll pm him. My budget is a little tight, tho...if that doesn't work out i'll probably go with the mystery helmet.
  12. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    May 23, 2009, 1:37 AM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #12

    the mystery helmet is really good. it takes a lot more clean up work than the fettpride or bobamaker, but it's the cheapest by far. the master replicas is a great lid... one of the nice things about is is that for the $300 - $400 you get not just a painted helmet, but aluminum ear caps, moving aluminum rf stalk and range finder lights.

    seeing as machined aluminum ears and stalk go for $200+ on their own and you'd pay $30ish i think for a light kit, that makes for a REALLY good value.

    the visor area has a pinch at the bottom, but its an easy fix.

    and you can always strip the paint and redo it if you aren't fond of the paint job.
  13. CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,345
    May 23, 2009, 4:43 AM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #13

    fettpride helmets rock i'll agree, but you do get what you pay for with private makers.

    cleaner helmets are going to be more expensive.

    are you planning to paint it yourself? if not take into account how much a paint job will cost too.


    The MR is a great helmet that only needs some visor correct in order to be troopable.
    you also have a fiberglass bucket with aluminum parts and lights.

    hard to beat that for the price range. just trying to make realistic feedback for you
  14. Lokan's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    45
    May 23, 2009, 10:44 AM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #14

    Does anybody here have a MR helmet? If not, where could I get one?
  15. Jun 11, 2009, 9:40 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #15

    MR helmet all the way... I got super lucky and won a BRAND NEW IN THE BOX MR SE Boba for $300. Super lucky. LED range finder works... Great helmet. check Ebay periodically, or go straight to AMAZON
  16. TehEl1te's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,274
    Jun 11, 2009, 9:45 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #16

    If TerminalFettler still makes them, his helmets are BEAUTIFUL. I personally own one and it is top knotch. FettPride is as equally awesome in my opinion. BobaMaker is also another nice option.

    El1te
  17. Member Since
    May 2009
    Posts
    4
    Jun 12, 2009, 3:57 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #17

    FP is the man. 'Nuff said.
  18. Jun 21, 2009, 1:32 PM - Re: I need your opinion Guys #18

    i would go with the MR one myself, looks good and like already said to have a raw cast preped and painted would cost as much if not more.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 8:37 PM
  2. Vaticast (just an opinion)
    By Dougie Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 29, 2008, 7:08 AM
  3. Can I get an opinion on these gauntlets
    By Darth Paul in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: May 6, 2008, 3:19 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 8:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 1:31 PM