I need an opinion

  1. #1

    I need an opinion

    Hello all! I'm new and I'd just like an expert opinion on this bucket listed on eBay.







    It's obviously needs a little work, but I'm tight on cash and the auction is only at $40 right now with two days to go. It's listed as a Mystery helmet.

  2. #2

    Re: I need an opinion

    Hey, I really don't know much at all about the mystery helmet, but you can punch that into the search function and learn alot about it. I know that it has been discussed here with great frequency. I believe it means that no one exactly knows where the first cast like it came from. Welcome to TDH! You are in the right place for everything "Fett".

    Cheers
    Debbi

  3. #3
    Mojo-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2007
    From
    UK
    Posts
    4,783

    Re: I need an opinion

    It looks like a Sgt Fang piece? could be wrong though as I have never owned one...

  4. #4
    BLUERAM's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Pekin, IL
    Posts
    143

    Re: I need an opinion

    Looks like a recast or bad pull of a SGT Fang, but if your on a tight budget and don't mind the extra work.... Looks like most of the work on the front is sanding away excess materials but the lower mandibles look like they turn into the helmet, might be hard to fix. Also no pics of the back of the helmet. For a good budget bucket I would contact SGT Fang directly(cost just over twice this auction)

  5. #5
    DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    The first state
    Posts
    1,935

    Re: I need an opinion

    Ditto on the recast mystery....and if you're on a budget, you'll likely not find a better deal.

  6. #6
    tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    From
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    2,878

    Re: I need an opinion

    reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeecaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssssst ! But yea, short on cash, go for the extra work. Thats what Im doing for my boba helmet!

  7. #7

    Re: I need an opinion

    Def a recast, saying that I've seen worse, MUCH worse

  8. #8
    stellardude's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2007
    From
    Ottawa, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    192

    Re: I need an opinion

    I'm with Blueram on this... depending on the material those mandibles might be hard to fix. I know, with my fiberglass recast it would be impossible.. the material is just too hard and thick.

    Also, as stated above... no pics of the back.. that's a tricky area if the keyholes are not well cast.

    I would try Gypsyboy here,... his are nice raw castings.. haven't heard any complaints on here.. and his are only $65 + shipping.

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/showthread.php?t=23067

  9. #9
    saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    bozeman, mt go cats!!!
    Posts
    2,800

    Re: I need an opinion

    it looks like a sgt fangs recast. the cheek corners, dent, and slight offset to the turn signals look very close to the helmet i have, (a sgt fang original)

Similar Threads

  1. Question: Opinion on Helmet
    By TK8495 in forum Site News & Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Jul 30, 2009, 6:47 AM
  2. I need your opinion Guys
    By Lokan in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Jun 21, 2009, 12:32 PM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  4. Vaticast (just an opinion)
    By Dougie Fett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 29, 2008, 6:08 AM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 12:31 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •