Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Jul 3, 2012, 11:30 PM - HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #1

    Does ANYONE know how to wire this thing? This unit came with no instructions. doesnt look like thew wireless remote board is getting power. if i switch it on and off the servo moves a tad bit but the remote does not work and i cant get anything else to work. Its driving me nuts. Ive had this thing for almost a year and cant for the life of me figure out how to make it work.
    Last edited by Darth Voorhees; Jul 4, 2012 at 8:44 AM.
  2. Aug 12, 2012, 8:35 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #2

    Seems noone has a clue about this board eh? Probably why the last owner sold it lol.

    Well im determined to get this to work! Im going to undo everything that was done to this before i took ownership and have messaged hyperdyne as another member suggested...hopefully they will be able to shed some light on the subject!
    Last edited by Darth Voorhees; Aug 12, 2012 at 8:41 PM.
  3. TK1072's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Sep 5, 2012, 8:25 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #3

    This thread is a little old, so you may have got it working by now....

    I just got my Servo Board and Receiver in yesterday and it works fine (I got the control board & receiver kit together to they are already wired to each other). But if I didn't have the instructions I'm sure I would have done something wrong. I've scanned the first few pages of the instructions and sent them to you via PM (didn't know if posting them here would violate any rules or such....). Hope they help you out. If I screwed up on the PM (which I prob did...), LMK and I can figure out how to make the scans clearer and easier to read.

    Good luck!
  4. Sep 6, 2012, 7:51 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #4

    Thanks man thats much appreciated! It is a lil old, but i STILL havent figured it out. I actually havent touched it since i posted this. Hyperdyne never got back to me.
    The pics are too small to read though, but If you can e-mail em to me, that would be great! tk6908@gmail.com thanks again man! hopefully i can get this thing working!
  5. TK1072's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Sep 6, 2012, 9:05 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #5

    Email incoming!
    I'm not sure what could be causing the issue. Maybe how the servo is plugged in to the board (the instructions say to be sure to have the servo's black ground wire nearest tot he resistor by the edge of the board)? Or maybe a wire came loose in the receiver board?
    Good luck & let me know if you have any questions!
  6. Sep 6, 2012, 9:08 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #6

    Thanks man...well i know one issue is my servo doesn t have a "plug" its just 3 wires...so im going to get a new servo and try again. thanks for the help man..hoping i can get it working once i have a new servo!
  7. Sep 15, 2012, 7:42 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #7

    Ok had this on hold for a second...i ordered a new servo, and got a shaft attachment for it as well. Gonna hit home depot next week and try to get some set screws. Then im gonna give this another shot. Thanks to TK1072 for the info..hopefully it will get this goin!
  8. Sep 19, 2012, 11:42 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #8

    Servo and shaft arrived! I may try and mess with it this weekend. Got alot to get done though for other people! hoping to have all commissions done by the end of this month/beginning of next month...then i can really get into upgrading my stuff some more
  9. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 19, 2012, 11:48 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #9

    Hey Darth!

    I've got a Hyperdyne set up and it came pre-wired. Jim (at Hyperdyne) sent me a color install wiring diagram. If you would like a copy I can email it to you.

    In regards to the shaft attachment, what exactly are you talking about? My lid is from Bobamaker and is totally awesome, but it's too thick at the ear cap for the bushing and I am having a hell of a time figuring out how to attach it to the shaft. The 77BB servo that came with the hyperdyne setup has enough torque to break the 5 minute epoxy bond I establish. The thickness of the lid is exactly 2 bushings so I'm trying to figure out how to make the drive shaft on the servo longer. Is this the attachment you are talking about? If so, are you using the same HiTech servo?

    Here's the servo I'm working with...

    HS-77BB - Hitec RCD

    Thanks,

    Douglas (Warpcell)
  10. Sep 19, 2012, 11:57 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #10

    hey doug!

    TK1072 sent me a copy of his, im going to guess its the same. but thank you!

    Im using the same servo! Check out the stickied thread here:
    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f23/r...utorial-25704/

    He shows a shaft that can be added to the shaft on the servo to extend it. he also shows a great way to secure the stalk to said shaft attachment. I bought some metal bits and a tap set to add a set screw to the stalk. excellent tutorial.

    i bought the shaft attachment and the servo at servocity. heres the link to the shaft attachment:
    Servo Shaft Attachment (.250")
  11. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 12:08 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #11

    Hey Darth,



    I found a way to shoe horn the system into the bucket. The quality of Darren's build is awesome. Now all I have to do is get this extension and I'm in business.

    Thanks again for that link! I hope you get the wiring figured out. I'd me happy to take pics of my boards if it will help you. I got the RF transmitter system with the key fob. Let me know if you want to pics. I haven't mounted it yet and can get them to you in a flash.

    Thanks,

    - Douglas
  12. Sep 20, 2012, 12:12 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #12

    yea man id love that! you can send em to the e-mail i posted a couple of posts up. i have the key fob as well...havent even thought about how im gonna get that to work in a gauntlet yet lol
  13. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 12:21 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #13

    Hey Darth,

    Almost forgot.... If you didn't notice, there are extension plugs available for the servo if you need more length. You probably already know this but I figured I would throw it out anyway.

    Here's the link.

    https://www.servocity.com/html/servo...s___leads.html


    Thanks again Bud!

    - Douglas

    - - - Updated - - -

    Here's how I hacked my key fob and installed it into the gaunt.

    http://www.thedentedhelmet.com/f22/r...ynelabs-44652/

    Hope this helps!

    - Douglas
    Last edited by Warpcell; Sep 20, 2012 at 7:29 AM.
  14. Sep 20, 2012, 12:25 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #14

    Awesome! thanks man! you rock!

    My keyfob looks different, but im guessing the same method would apply. Mine looks like an old 90's square one lol.

    Also do you need to use both buttons on your gaunt? Or can a button be pressed to drop the RF and then pressed again to raise it? I have ESB fett so im going to use my right gauntlet. I have one switch hooked up to the light though.
    Last edited by Darth Voorhees; Sep 20, 2012 at 12:32 AM.
  15. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 12:33 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #15

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 4.JPG 
Views:	154 
Size:	446.5 KB 
ID:	63807Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 3.JPG 
Views:	143 
Size:	560.2 KB 
ID:	63808Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 2.JPG 
Views:	155 
Size:	514.4 KB 
ID:	63809Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo 1.JPG 
Views:	156 
Size:	478.7 KB 
ID:	63810Here you go....
  16. Sep 20, 2012, 12:34 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #16

    Beautiful...you are the man! Between the instruction sheet and your pics, i should be able to get this going! Wish i didnt have to go to work tomorrow or id stay up tonight haha. thanks again bud!
  17. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 12:38 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #17

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Switch Zoom.jpg 
Views:	128 
Size:	2.00 MB 
ID:	63811Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FOB Installed.jpg 
Views:	129 
Size:	1.65 MB 
ID:	63812Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Key FOB Front.jpg 
Views:	128 
Size:	1.78 MB 
ID:	63813Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FOB Board Back.jpg 
Views:	122 
Size:	1.87 MB 
ID:	63814Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FOB LED Lit.jpg 
Views:	121 
Size:	2.12 MB 
ID:	63815

    Here's pics from my other link about the key fob hotwire.

    - - - Updated - - -

    No problem Darth!

    Sorry I didn't see your post earlier. I'd love to see an shot of the inside of your bucket when you get all this stuff installed.

    Good luck!

    - Douglas

    - - - Updated - - -
  18. TK1072's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Sep 20, 2012, 7:14 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #18

    Hi Warpcell,
    Nice work on installing the key fob in the gauntlet!! I have wanted to do something like this since I got my control board installed but had no idea how to get it done. Thanks for posting the instructions to your mod!
    Take care,
    -Dave
  19. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 7:28 AM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #19

    Hi Darth,

    If your remote has 2 buttons, one button sends the signal to lower the stalk and the other raises the stalk. If you have a switch on the smaller board (like in my photo) it allows the buttons to manually control the stalks motion, otherwise it is pre-programmed with a static 90 degree rotation.

    On my gauntlet, the button closest to my wrist lowers the stalk and the other one raises it.

    Rock on Bro!

    - Doug



    Quote Darth Voorhees said: View Post
    Awesome! thanks man! you rock!

    My keyfob looks different, but im guessing the same method would apply. Mine looks like an old 90's square one lol.

    Also do you need to use both buttons on your gaunt? Or can a button be pressed to drop the RF and then pressed again to raise it? I have ESB fett so im going to use my right gauntlet. I have one switch hooked up to the light though.


    Hi TK1072,

    Thanks for the props! I love tinkering around with stuff. Be careful when you solder the board, you don't want to cross a circuit. I didn't add any solder to the connections. Rather, I just let the iron heat up the original solder just enough to get a connection to the new wires. Once the original solder grabbed onto the new wire, I used hot glued to take the torque off of the connection. I also took great care in not striping the wire too far back so it wouldn't cause an arc and short out the transmitter.

    Good luck Bro!

    - Warpcell (Doug)


    Quote TK1072 said: View Post
    Hi Warpcell,
    Nice work on installing the key fob in the gauntlet!! I have wanted to do something like this since I got my control board installed but had no idea how to get it done. Thanks for posting the instructions to your mod!
    Take care,
    -Dave
  20. Sep 20, 2012, 8:34 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #20

    It works!!! it works!! thank both of you guys so much!! I havent tried the keyfob mod yet though..that one scares me a little lol. Once i get this mounted in the helmet and have everything workin, ill grow a set and try the fob mod.

    Thanks again guys!
  21. TK1072's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Sep 20, 2012, 8:50 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #21

    Quote Darth Voorhees said: View Post
    It works!!! it works!!
    Awesome; congrats on getting it working!! It's definately a cool little add-on to have to your costume.
    I'll be sure to have an extra beer tonight to drink to your success
  22. Sep 20, 2012, 8:57 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #22

    Quote TK1072 said: View Post
    Awesome; congrats on getting it working!! It's definately a cool little add-on to have to your costume.
    I'll be sure to have an extra beer tonight to drink to your success
    thanks again bro!
  23. Warpcell's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    159
    Sep 20, 2012, 10:34 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #23

    As will I!

    Congrats Darth! My servo shaft shipped today, so I should have mine up by next week. Thanks again for the help, I would never have thought of that idea.

    Cheers!

    Douglas

  24. Sep 20, 2012, 11:18 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #24

    No problem Doug!...we have to thank TD2253...i would never have thought about that shaft attachment either!
  25. Fettered's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    343
    Sep 23, 2012, 9:15 PM - Re: HELP! hyperdyne labs rangefinder servo controller #25

    This is a very cool addition. Has anyone figured out a way to slow the servo down a bit? The video from the zip-zap tutorial looks pretty fast.

Similar Threads

  1. Wire mesh?
    By Vegan Mando in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 8, 2011, 5:35 PM
  2. Hyperdyne Labs sound boards
    By Escher in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Jan 26, 2011, 1:33 AM
  3. EL Wire
    By C1RCA in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2009, 12:50 AM