Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Helmet Prices

From
    Earth

Re: Helmet Prices

~Pay cheap, you get cheap. Pay for quality (ie more expense) ,you get quality.~

I have to disagree, that is not always the case.

Quote:
    not then do the best job you can possibly do yourself ,but don't begrudge those who can afford as that just comes over as being bitter.
    Have you ever charged anyone for your artistic ability? Or been commissioned to paint or design anything? If so then you know, as I, that quality/ "Skill" does cost. But I think we can all understand that, don't you.
    With that being said and out of the way, then lets look at the OVER-Pricing that is going on. After all that's really what I 'm talking about.

As an artist I know that I could over price and get away with it, but I don't, its called Ethics. And many people know that there are members on this board that don't know the first thing about painting their helmets (aka the whole reason we are here) and are taken advantage of with over-pricing. So if we look at the "actual totals" then lets just see were most of the cost is...This term "Skill" is over rated and way over-priced, even coming from an artist.
    In the end I'm one of those who can afford it, But chose not to. SO I say "DO It Your Self" (U.S.A)....

P.S there is no reason to suggest that someone is bitter when its something you don't agree with.

From
    Michigan...The Motor City to be exact!

Not to mention,
    In your line of work, how much do you get paid per hour? If you add up the cost of supplies and add on labor expense, you will see how much of a bargain it really is.
    Especially if the painting process takes more then a month. It isn't grunt work, it takes skill. So figure it by a skilled tradesmans rate if you want to be technical.

From
    Sacramento, CA

did you guys know there are hair people out there that charge $500+ for a freakin haircut??? That makes $250 for a custom paint job very reasonable to me.

From