Helmet Prep

From
    Keller, TX

Helmet Prep

Does anyone do helmet prep? Cutting out the T-visor and Key holes? I am really a novice at the dremmel so I would hate to jack my helmet up. Pm me or email me at jadawson1@gmail.com. Thanks!!!!!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    From
    Advertising world

From
    Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Re: Helmet Prep

What material is the helmet you have?

From
    UK

We all do... It's half the fun?

Just take your time and take several small cuts and you'll be fine...

From
    Central Upstate NY

Just cut out the visor and keyslots on another bucket last night. Its a fun part of the process. Just put a cutting wheel on your dremel and go to town. Stay steady and go slow, take breaks if you need to. Oh, and wear a dust mask. Have fun

From
    Fort Worth, TX

Do the keyslots first. It helps to maintain the structural integrity of the helmet if you work the small areas first.

From
    NB, Canada

I tend to not cut right up to the edge when I use a power cutter. Leave just a little bit, which you can then clean up with sanding and stuff. I find if I try to cut it right up close I almost always have a boo-boo and cut into something I shouldn't have. On the other hand, don't worry too much if you do. That's what auto putty and fine-grit sanding are for.

From
    San Diego, California

Find the right size drill bit that will match the size of the slots but don't go out of the lines. It's better to use a smaller drill bit at least you can always file the holes down. What I did was drill two small holes on each sides (left and right) of key slot. Then I dremel the top and bottom of each key slot from hole to hole. Punch out the cut-out part of the key slot and use jeweler's files to file down the sides (especially the drill holes) and the top part of the slot for a clean look.

From
    Keller, TX

Where do you get the jewlers files? And what grit sand paper should I use to clean up the seam lines and some blemishes?

From