Helmet Paint Job - Advice + Comments.

From
    Glasgow, Scotland

Helmet Paint Job - Advice + Comments.

Thought i would share the fruits of my labour with some of you, been working on this on and off for a couple of months. Its the first lid i have painted up mostly with Humbroll paints as im in the UK in a kind of Prepo2 style. Looking to weather it a bit more and looking for a few pointers being new to this, i see a lot of people painting some gray round the silver, how would i go about this as i have layered the paint job so far. Comments and suggestions appreciated. The ear pieces are not finished either and are just held on with some blue tack.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails picture-002-jpg   picture-004-jpg   picture-009-jpg  

picture-003-jpg  

From
    New Orleans

Re: Helmet Paint Job - Advice + Comments.

I love me a good prepro2 paint up

From
    Deliverence, Indiana

Im no expert but I think it looks great!

From
    Orlando, FL

It looks very good. As for the grey around some of the scratches I did mine topicaly with a very fine brush after the fact. Also don't forget you missed the pink color on the mandibles....not kidding.

From
    Oslo, Norway

Looking good. Which Humbrol paints did you use?

From
    Glasgow, Scotland

Thanks for the comments guys

i did notice that many helmets had that washed out colour on the mandibles. I take it you would water down the red paint and apply??? Im getting a bit lost here as i have reached a point that i'm not feeling as comfortable painting and i'm not looking forward to the kill stripes!!!! I would hate to make a mistake now!!!!

Also weathering the helmet in terms of dulling it down what is the best option i hear people using steel wool and or washing the helmet in window cleaner, again i,
    'm a bit lost here and any direction will be greatly appreciated.

Again cheers for the advice guys much appreciated.

Predatormv said: View Post