Helmet experts your opinions please

  1. #1

    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    334

    Helmet experts your opinions please

    To the veteran members and fett helmet experts I wanna know what you think.I recently bought this helmet off ebay to finish off my costume. It was said to be a re-cast off a dp deluxe helmet.and judging by the pics it does appear to be.At least the one showing the painted helmets compared to each other there is definately a size diffrence but it doesnt look that way on my end noew that the actual helmet is here.When i got the helmet i compared it to my unaltered 95 don post helmet and there is really not a significant size difference. My confusion is that the back of the helmet has that same warped area just like the 95 post now am i wrong to think if this was cast off a fiberglass original then that warped area shouldnt be there right?
    And the Dp deluxe helmet was originally made in fiberglass right and not plastic?
    As most of you know i occasionally cast fg helmets which are modded dps so i know how the process works.
    I cant imagine a helmet that originally retailed for close to 1000.00 would have a warped back panel.
    And I guess for some reason i would have thought this helmet would be significantly bigger than a standard 95 post helmet.Any way check out these pics and lmk your opinions.I just wanna know if i got want i was supposed to or if i got taken.It is a nice cast and helmet is great the person did a good job but im not sure if its what he claimed it to be.
    I am tall and wanted this helmet for myself to finish off my costume but this helmet really isnt much larger than my 95 post or the modded ones i make.Anyway thanks in advance for any help.-Jason P.s. Admins this is a link to an ended auction but if this isnt allowed than lmk i will upload pics to my host.
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...egory=790&rd=1

  2. #2
    Tyler Durden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,696

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I own a deluxe, and it appears that the photo in the auction has the same "dremmel marks" as the deluxe. Does your helmet have "dremmel marks" over it?

    The back panel of the deluxe does have some warpage.

  3. #3
    batninja's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,900

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    Tyler,
    I also received a DP Deluxe cast as my first 'professional' helmet. However, the ends of my T-visor section were rounded. I had to Bondo and Dremel to square them out.

    Is this normal for Deluxe helmets? I notice the E-bay auction's helmet is squared, not rounded.

    Is it possible that there were several 'runs', where say, the first edition had rounded edges and the later editions did not?

    Things that make you go Hmmmm....


  4. #4

    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    334

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please


    tylerdurden wrote:

    I own a deluxe, and it appears that the photo in the auction has the same "dremmel marks" as the deluxe. Does your helmet have "dremmel marks" over it?

    The back panel of the deluxe does have some warpage.
    yes sir it does they are hard to make out but they are there i compared my helmet with an old post of yours where you pictured your deluxe helmet and everywhere that there is "damage" to your helmet mine has the same areas "damaged" as well so i guess this is the real deal.I was just confused because the pic that shows the dlxe helmet next to what the seller says is a 95-96 standard post helemt in that pic the deluxe looks signifiacntly larger but when i compare my 95 post to this new helmet the size difference isnt as dramatic as in the auction pic.
    Like i said though i am in now way bashing this guys work he did and excellent job on the recast i just wanted to make sure i really got what i paid for.Thanks Tyler-jason

  5. #5

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I don't think the second helmet is a DP. The rounded dome & extra height look much more like the Rubie's Jango to me. In which case, the scale would be more appropriate compared with the DP deluxe.

  6. #6

    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    334

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please


    bigkidbiggertoys wrote:

    I don't think the second helmet is a DP. The rounded dome & extra height look much more like the Rubie's Jango to me. In which case, the scale would be more appropriate compared with the DP deluxe.
    I agree I think it is also the rubies jango in that pic cause you can make out the earcap which on the rubies jango is squared at the point where it meets the midpoint of the ear piece.

  7. #7
    Tyler Durden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,696

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    The ends of the DP deluxe visor area are square, and the ends of the visor area should go back further (compared to the real deal). I've seen a couple of DP deluxe recasts (same one maybe?) where the artisan tried to correct that problem and gave the ends a "rounded" appearance, which isn't accurate anyway.

    But no, the deluxes, from the ones I have seen, did not have a rounded end to the T-visor.

    ::Edit:: Found the photo. That is my very early deluxe (#75), and a Don Post 95. I know it's a poor shot for comparisons, though.


  8. #8
    Baddblood's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Oakland, CA. USA
    Posts
    814

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    What would you say is the finish on that finished helmet of his?

  9. #9

    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    334

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please


    Baddblood wrote:

    What would you say is the finish on that finished helmet of his?
    if you were asking me about the one I bought. I think it was done well.Mine i got any way has minimal work to finish it.It does have all the pre-done scuffing and scratches on it which i may bondo and sand smooth as i like to make my own "damage".But all in all I think it is a nice helmet.

  10. #10
    Baddblood's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Oakland, CA. USA
    Posts
    814

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    Looks like a cross between ESB And ROTJ?

  11. #11
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I got my helmet from your seller as well. He said it is a DP Deluxe recast. I've since weathered mine a little more...
    Mine measures:
    28.5" circumference just above the brow
    10" wide
    10" front to back
    9.5" tall


  12. #12
    DarthVader1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Phenix City, AL
    Posts
    2,462

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I have the same helmet as well. I just made a few little changes to it, specially inside and the RF.

    Robert

  13. #13

    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    planet Earth-currently
    Posts
    42

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    Can you post some of the other measurements from the helmet. I am trying to make one from the post Make your own bucket, but do not have anything but pictures to go by. can you provide some of the criticla deminsions?

  14. #14
    Baddblood's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Oakland, CA. USA
    Posts
    814

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I gave in an decided to buy one of the helmets.
    How long did it take for him to ship it out to you guys? He hasn't responded to my e-mails lately and I'm begining to get a little concerned.

  15. #15
    Seven's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    From
    Salem, Oregon
    Posts
    606

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please

    I ordered this same helmet when it was alittle more in price. I too noticed that the size difference between the deluxe and the regular was really not that noticeable. The obvious difference was all the "Damage" the Deluxe/recast had and the more rounded top. In my opinion I expected it to have more of a flare and I agree the back seems warped. I was not too pleased with the RF that came with it. It was full of pits. The T-Visor has to also be shaped by you. The shipping time was about two weeks. He seems to make the helmets after he has the order. So I am sure that gives some time for shipping. I like the helmet better than my old DP as it is FG and just looks better.

  16. #16
    DarthVader1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2003
    From
    Phenix City, AL
    Posts
    2,462

    Re: Helmet experts your opinions please


    pastafett wrote:

    Can you post some of the other measurements from the helmet. I am trying to make one from the post Make your own bucket, but do not have anything but pictures to go by. can you provide some of the criticla deminsions?
    I'll be posting measurements of the whole helmet as soon as I come back from Dragon*Con next week. Sorry, but I have a lot more to worry about right now, and I'm not even talking about my wife yet...!

    Robert

Similar Threads

  1. need expert opinions on MR Fett helmet
    By daric larone in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Jan 28, 2010, 1:49 PM
  2. Need help from experts !! Boba Helmet.
    By Madrid Boba in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Dec 13, 2008, 7:25 PM
  3. MR Helmet opinions
    By jackpot76 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Dec 10, 2007, 9:14 PM
  4. Need helmet color opinions.
    By electric_jay in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Jul 17, 2006, 1:02 PM
  5. Helmet origin experts need confirmation
    By skygunbro in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 9, 2004, 7:34 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •