GMH Opinion???

  1. #1
    welshwarrior123's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    From
    London, Hertfordshire
    Posts
    391

    GMH Opinion???

    Hey guys,
    So im now part of the club, in that I own a GMH helmet, number 67 to be precise
    Was really lucky in how I came about it, thanks to MK1design. Is it wrong that I couldnt put it down for about an hour? I was never actually intending to get one due to the waiting list and after getting hit by customs on the last thing I bought from the states I thought I would leave it, but here it is;









    Its the resin version which I was a little apprehensive as all my previous buckets are FG and gelcoat, but rest assure the quality is just like anything else that FP makes, fantastic. Now my question,

    My intention before I received this lid was to paint it up ESB style and use it with my Fett, but looking over it at all the details and marks present on it I dont think I could bring myself fill them in. Do you think its worth removing all the details to turn this into an Empire lid, or should I leave it as is and do a PP style job and get another lid for the ESB? I know this will be the closest thing I could get to an Empire lid, but with those details and marks...I dunno...

    Welsh

  2. #2
    thirdEthree's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New Haven CT, USA
    Posts
    103

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    PP2!!!

  3. #3
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,160

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Yeh very tough decision...I painted one ESB already.

  4. #4

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Id say ESB

  5. #5
    AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    From
    Corbin, Ky
    Posts
    1,144

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    I'd say PP2, since that is the helmet that it's a direct decendant of. And while this is a really nice helmet, whenever I see one painted up in an ESB scheme, it reminds me of the '95 Don Post vinyl helmet for some reason. It's probably because I've gotten so accustomed to the larger size and proportions of the fanmade buckets. But, it's your choice...and either way will be cool!

  6. #6
    sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    From
    USA
    Posts
    847

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Give the ESB a try I'm sure you'll get your hands on another one and you can wear it for your costume.

  7. #7
    welshwarrior123's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    From
    London, Hertfordshire
    Posts
    391

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Thanks guys, See the don post thought actually went through my mind, its the size of the helmet that I first noticed. I know Fett was a small guy, but I really like the large flared out helmet you see on empire. And thought It may not work on this, I really am considering a PP1. I can get hold of Fett lids pretty easy as im good friends with a maker, but this will be the only GMH I will own, and I know I will want a PP1 in a few years...But this is my only helmet at present, and if it ends up a PP1 I have no lid for my SE and im supposed to be on the UK TDH stall in November with him.

    F4R: You got a thread or any photos of the GMH ESB job you did? May actually sway it for me

  8. #8
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,160

  9. #9
    welshwarrior123's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    From
    London, Hertfordshire
    Posts
    391

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    ahh yes I remember that, I even posted in the thread lol. Amazing paint up mate.
    Im going to have to have a real think about this now. Im doing an ESB job at present and im using some different colors, if it turns out like I want I think I may go with it for this. If not I may just have to flip a coin

  10. #10
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,250

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.

  11. #11
    sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    From
    USA
    Posts
    847

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.
    "I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of puppies suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened."

  12. #12
    saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    bozeman, mt go cats!!!
    Posts
    2,809

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies be kicked by SE fetts.
    fixed!

  13. #13
    SDmicp's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    From
    sunny San Diego
    Posts
    12

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Sorry guys, new to tdh. What is pp1 / pp2? Either way, that is a cool helmet.

  14. #14
    Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    North Texas
    Posts
    1,888

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Pre-production = PP

    so these are helmets made before the movie but not used on screen

  15. #15
    welshwarrior123's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    From
    London, Hertfordshire
    Posts
    391

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Awww dam, I like puppies... guess that settles it then

    I really think I might just flip a coin for it.

  16. #16
    thirdEthree's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    From
    New Haven CT, USA
    Posts
    103

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Honor the PP2. Can you live with the thought of those puppies as you troop around in an ESB? Shame on you.

  17. #17
    SDmicp's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    From
    sunny San Diego
    Posts
    12

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Mullreel said: View Post
    Pre-production = PP

    so these are helmets made before the movie but not used on screen
    Thanks!

  18. #18

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.
    this

    filling in cast-from-original dings and scratches seems like a very wrong thing.

  19. #19
    locitus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    From
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    752

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    As much as I love and promote authenticity I don't see it that way. By that line of thinking, GMH would only be good for PP2, which it obviously is best suited for, but it would exclude any other kind of helmet. By the same line of thinking, a FP premium or budget, or any other helmet would be unfit for example an ESB since they were not cast from it. A GMH is the closest linage we've ever had to a real helmet, which includes any other kind of PP or movie helmet. So from an accuracy standpoint, even if you fill in the scratches and make an ESB (which I would do if it was mine and I could paint good enough) it is still the best representation of a Fett helmet.

  20. #20
    james007bond's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    From
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    348

    Re: GMH Opinion???

    Lewis, leave it as PP2 buddy... it's too nice to fill in all those 'original' dings...

Similar Threads

  1. Need your opinion
    By impi in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Feb 1, 2011, 12:58 PM
  2. In need of opinion.
    By Alpha33 in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Oct 1, 2010, 1:11 AM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 7:00 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •