Subscribe
  1. Aug 11, 2012, 1:55 PM - GMH Opinion??? #1

    Hey guys,
    So im now part of the club, in that I own a GMH helmet, number 67 to be precise
    Was really lucky in how I came about it, thanks to MK1design. Is it wrong that I couldnt put it down for about an hour? I was never actually intending to get one due to the waiting list and after getting hit by customs on the last thing I bought from the states I thought I would leave it, but here it is;









    Its the resin version which I was a little apprehensive as all my previous buckets are FG and gelcoat, but rest assure the quality is just like anything else that FP makes, fantastic. Now my question,

    My intention before I received this lid was to paint it up ESB style and use it with my Fett, but looking over it at all the details and marks present on it I dont think I could bring myself fill them in. Do you think its worth removing all the details to turn this into an Empire lid, or should I leave it as is and do a PP style job and get another lid for the ESB? I know this will be the closest thing I could get to an Empire lid, but with those details and marks...I dunno...

    Welsh
  2. thirdEthree's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    103
    Aug 11, 2012, 2:12 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #2

    PP2!!!
  3. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,678
    Aug 11, 2012, 2:25 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #3

    Yeh very tough decision...I painted one ESB already.
  4. Aug 11, 2012, 2:43 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #4

    Id say ESB
  5. AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,153
    Aug 11, 2012, 3:46 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #5

    I'd say PP2, since that is the helmet that it's a direct decendant of. And while this is a really nice helmet, whenever I see one painted up in an ESB scheme, it reminds me of the '95 Don Post vinyl helmet for some reason. It's probably because I've gotten so accustomed to the larger size and proportions of the fanmade buckets. But, it's your choice...and either way will be cool!
  6. sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    Posts
    943
    Aug 11, 2012, 4:02 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #6

    Give the ESB a try I'm sure you'll get your hands on another one and you can wear it for your costume.
  7. Aug 11, 2012, 4:12 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #7

    Thanks guys, See the don post thought actually went through my mind, its the size of the helmet that I first noticed. I know Fett was a small guy, but I really like the large flared out helmet you see on empire. And thought It may not work on this, I really am considering a PP1. I can get hold of Fett lids pretty easy as im good friends with a maker, but this will be the only GMH I will own, and I know I will want a PP1 in a few years...But this is my only helmet at present, and if it ends up a PP1 I have no lid for my SE and im supposed to be on the UK TDH stall in November with him.

    F4R: You got a thread or any photos of the GMH ESB job you did? May actually sway it for me
  8. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,678
    Aug 11, 2012, 4:46 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #8

  9. Aug 11, 2012, 5:28 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #9

    ahh yes I remember that, I even posted in the thread lol. Amazing paint up mate.
    Im going to have to have a real think about this now. Im doing an ESB job at present and im using some different colors, if it turns out like I want I think I may go with it for this. If not I may just have to flip a coin
  10. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,383
    Aug 11, 2012, 6:47 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #10

    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.
  11. sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    Posts
    943
    Aug 11, 2012, 7:03 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #11

    Quote superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.
    "I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of puppies suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened."
  12. saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,875
    Aug 11, 2012, 10:35 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #12

    Quote superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies be kicked by SE fetts.
    fixed!
  13. SDmicp's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    12
    Aug 11, 2012, 11:49 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #13

    Sorry guys, new to tdh. What is pp1 / pp2? Either way, that is a cool helmet.
  14. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,968
    Aug 12, 2012, 12:04 AM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #14

    Pre-production = PP

    so these are helmets made before the movie but not used on screen
  15. Aug 12, 2012, 7:47 AM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #15

    Awww dam, I like puppies... guess that settles it then

    I really think I might just flip a coin for it.
  16. thirdEthree's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    103
    Aug 12, 2012, 8:44 AM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #16

    Honor the PP2. Can you live with the thought of those puppies as you troop around in an ESB? Shame on you.
  17. SDmicp's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    12
    Aug 12, 2012, 12:14 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #17

    Quote Mullreel said: View Post
    Pre-production = PP

    so these are helmets made before the movie but not used on screen
    Thanks!
  18. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Aug 13, 2012, 4:32 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #18

    Quote superjedi said: View Post
    If you don't do it in PP2, a million puppies will cry.
    this

    filling in cast-from-original dings and scratches seems like a very wrong thing.
  19. locitus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    746
    Aug 13, 2012, 4:52 PM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #19

    As much as I love and promote authenticity I don't see it that way. By that line of thinking, GMH would only be good for PP2, which it obviously is best suited for, but it would exclude any other kind of helmet. By the same line of thinking, a FP premium or budget, or any other helmet would be unfit for example an ESB since they were not cast from it. A GMH is the closest linage we've ever had to a real helmet, which includes any other kind of PP or movie helmet. So from an accuracy standpoint, even if you fill in the scratches and make an ESB (which I would do if it was mine and I could paint good enough) it is still the best representation of a Fett helmet.
  20. james007bond's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    348
    Sep 7, 2012, 3:38 AM - Re: GMH Opinion??? #20

    Lewis, leave it as PP2 buddy... it's too nice to fill in all those 'original' dings...

Similar Threads

  1. Need your opinion
    By impi in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Feb 1, 2011, 1:58 PM
  2. In need of opinion.
    By Alpha33 in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Oct 1, 2010, 2:11 AM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 8:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 8:00 PM