Asok Cold Cast Helmet Template Question

Cameron

Hunter
Hi All,
Long time RPF member here. Im new to the DH but Ive been lurking for years. Awesome place and peeps.

I have embarked on my first ESB Fett Helmet and Im building one of Asoks CCC lids. First let me say this lid is awesome. Im all prepped up and ready to paint but I have hit a wall.
I have read everything I can find on the site about templates and I have tried to scale every type thats been posted on here and I cant get any of them to line up on the back. The dimensions are tricky since the cast seems to be wider in the back plates so simple scaling of the image doesn't work. Ive tried stretching and tweaking and scalling by size and % and no luck getting them to line up.
Ive been at this for a week and I cant make it work. Does anyone have a solution to getting the templates to match or do you perhaps have templates already scaled for the shape of Asoks awesome helmet.
All the best and happy to be a member,
Cameron

I will be in your shoes in a little it so I'm hoping that someone has some ideas.

You might send me in PM the exact measurements of each side of the back plates and I will try to tweak it for you; I already did this for Hobbit's bobamaker helmet.

Right Side.jpg

Remember to do the same measurements for the left side too.

Rafalfett
That is so awesome of you! Im off to measure!! The wonderful giving nature of the people in this hobby never ceases to amaze me. Many thanks!
Cameron

Im sure Raf will get you completely sorted mate, but sent you a PM with some extra ideas on stencil scaling. Good luck my friend, plenty of crew to help you out here if needed :)

Thanks for all the great PM and the tips Jayvee. Im a bit scared of this paint up but with all of the great members here I might have a chance of getting through it.

Here are the modified stencils (with color separation too) for the back plate area:

View attachment ESB Back Plates (Asok CC) A4.zip