Subscribe
  1. mandalorian01's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    174
    Jun 28, 2011, 11:46 PM - 2nd scratch build, opinions please #1

    alrite ive finished the card board construction of the helmet (ill get pics up in a day or so) and i was wondering what do you use to get the dome and cheecks smooth... any of you that have made cardboard helmets please let me no... also my last was a rotj (didnt turn out good) im not sure if im going to paint it like a rotj a jango or a custom. opinions welcomed
  2. RafalFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,697
    Jun 29, 2011, 2:52 AM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #2

    I used wall putty to smoothen my helmet while others used bondo, a two-part putty used for automobile body repair...
  3. darthvince's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    45
    Jun 29, 2011, 4:54 PM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #3

    I used drywall paste as well. It went on super easy, and sanded pretty well. Its also very light. I sprayed it down with some polycrylic sealer to give it a little more strength. It doesnt look as nice as bondo but was easier and cheaper
  4. mandalorian01's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    174
    Jun 29, 2011, 7:01 PM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #4

    alright wall putty... were do you find it...

    also could i see some finished products of the wall putty
  5. RafalFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2,697
    Jun 30, 2011, 1:41 AM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #5

    Quote mandalorian01 said: View Post
    alright wall putty... were do you find it...

    also could i see some finished products of the wall putty
    You can find wall putty in every home store.
    And here is my first helmet made with WOF's templates







  6. darthvince's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    45
    Jun 30, 2011, 10:26 AM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #6

    I got a decent sized tub of it at lowes for about 5 bucks. Its also called lightweight spackling paste. Its usually with paints and stuff.
  7. Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    42
    Jun 30, 2011, 11:36 AM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #7

    Guys, wall putty will crack and fall off when that helmet flexes at all.
  8. Cyris's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    37
    Jul 9, 2011, 12:17 PM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #8

    My response is a little late, but if the OP is still accepting opinions, I'll add my concurrence with the spackling paste. Very to easy to use and it's definately great on the cheeks. However, I am having some issues with the dome as it can feel too easy to sand down, thus making it a little frustratring to get that even curvature--at least in my case! I've been wondering whether I should consider getting some Bondo and trying something a bit thicker for the dome, 'cause all the sanding and reapplying the paste over and over has been wearing down my patience...


    Quote Canned Ham said: View Post
    Guys, wall putty will crack and fall off when that helmet flexes at all.
    This is true. I've used fiberglass resin on the inside and braced the triangular pieces of the dome underneath to give it that extra reinforcement. It's helped quite a bit whenever you have to apply more force to your build.
  9. mandalorian01's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    174
    Jul 14, 2011, 10:39 PM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #9







    there it is.. im probably going the spackle route
  10. SUPERprops's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    442
    Jul 19, 2011, 6:21 PM - Re: 2nd scratch build, opinions please #10

    I know I'm late but why use only one tip and not both? wall putty seems to work better on the cheeks so use it there while you have some fiberglass/resin on the other areas.

    hope it helps

Similar Threads

  1. 2nd helmet build
    By mandalorian01 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Mar 16, 2011, 12:28 PM
  2. Scratch Build Helmet
    By Jango 425 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Jan 6, 2010, 11:58 AM
  3. scratch build...
    By slimguy379 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Mar 17, 2009, 7:46 PM
  4. my noob scratch build
    By slimguy379 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Mar 3, 2009, 11:42 PM
  5. scratch build
    By slimguy379 in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Feb 12, 2009, 9:57 AM