As You Wish Artist Highlight - John Brosio

Art Andrews

Community Founder
Community Staff
as-you-wish-helmet-john-brosio-header.jpg
Welcome to our second Artist Highlight from the As You Wish Helmet Project! If you don't know what the project is, please click here to learn more! This helmet along with 49 others will be displayed a Star Wars: Celebration VI in Orlando, FL from Aug 23-26. Starting Monday, August 27 these helmets will be auctioned on eBay by the Make-A-Wish Foundation with 100% of the proceeds going to support Make-A-Wish.

Please be sure to LIKE us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/asyouwishproj

Artist Overview
john-brosio.jpg
Artist: John Brosio

TDH:
John, tell us a little about yourself.

Brosio: I am primarily a painter. My original aspirations were to film and special effects but I was always painting and drawing on the side. And, as fate would have it, folks one day started offering money for my work and it soon demanded my full attention. I do very much miss character design, molds, and mask making but we only have so much time. [TDH NOTE: John is an AMAZING painter. Check out some of his work at his website, listed above!]

TDH: What drew you to the As You Wish Helmet Project?

Brosio: What drew me to the project was two fold - I was very excited just to be part of something that matters as much as Make-A-Wish. That was a done deal right there. Secondly, I miss working with masks and practical effects/ props. I used to do it all the time and it was nice to get back into it.

TDH: Tell us a little about your inspiration for the Spirit Hunter helmet.

Brosio: First of all, I want to thank Lucasfilm and the Make A Wish foundation, dream makers both, for putting their energies together in this cause. I am honored to be a small part of it.