Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Subscribe
  1. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,941
    Dec 28, 2013, 6:37 PM - Re: Workout review #26

    I tend to agree with you. I also use cycling in my workouts, in fact I am looking forward to more cycling next year.

    I do count calories to some extent but not in an overwhelming way. I try to eat reasonable through out the week. I have one more week to go to finish the third phase of T25 and I am still quite happy with the program. I am hoping to take a week or so off and then start into something else.....more cycling for certain.

    I hope that I will have my body fat down to below 11% at the end of this cycle. As always when you get to the numbers lower the harder it is to lower the number.
  2. madgee is offline madgee
    Jan 9, 2014, 1:18 AM - Re: Workout review #27

    Each workout is 25 minutes long with no real warm-up there is about a 3 minute cool down after each day so your total time is about 30 minutes. I have been able to stay with the program and fit in the workouts each day. The workouts are well done and easy to follow. It does require a bit of coordination but that will build with the program. The program is split into Alpha and Beta phases with the moves getting more difficult in Beta. There is also a Gamma workout that you can buy additionally but I haven't done that yet.

    New Esky Honey Bee CPX 6CH
  3. Jaro Krieg's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    277
    Jan 16, 2014, 8:56 PM - Re: Workout review #28

    i can recommend Stroglift 5x5.

    Its straight, simple and free. Due several Reasons I dont visit a Gym and simply bought my self a barbell some weights and a used rack some years ago and assambled that in my Basement - So the Idea was that i can do my workout whenever I want, listen to my tunes, can grunt and scream when i need to and can do my whole workout in underdies - and save alot time and Diesel for not driving to a gym. ^^

    Anyway - for the Programm: I gave that programm a try a couple of years ago when I decided to start lifting. Actually i lost only 5kg of weight - but lost 15cm of my waistsize within the first 3 months.

    The first Workouts are done in like 20-30 minutes because its very light - but for a beginner in lifting its essential to start light -> to get the Tech right and avoid later injuries.
    Every Workout day you adjust the weights for 5lbs (2,5kg) - You benchpressed like 100Lbs on Monday with no failure -> then on the next day you benchpress you do 102.5Lbs etc.
    So eventually it will get harder day by day, you will start to fail and hit plateus sooner or later and in the End the Workout will take like an hour. - I like it. ^^
    Actually i now use to like long Workouts. I put away the watch, no mobile, no internet just some music, me and the barbell. After a stressy day its a god thing to come down.


    I got a link where the programm is discribed
    http://s3.stronglifts.com/stronglifts-5x5-report.pdf
    only the first 60 pages are relevant The rest beyond are several testimonees. And you can skip the chapter where the author poses how much of a selfmade man he is - thats a natural habit of the writers in the Fitness-genre. ;-) According to alot of other Stuff i've read in that sector -> this one has the fewest BS so i rate it with 4 of 5 stars.
  4. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,941
    Jan 16, 2014, 9:18 PM - Re: Workout review #29

    I forgot to post my final numbers.

    So after the complete 14 week program (alpha 5 weeks, beta 5 weeks, gamma 4 weeks) I missed a total of 3 workouts.

    Final weight 182
    Final body fat 9.8%

    Still can't see my abs as well as I want but that is probably as much of a fact that I am 40 years old as anything. I am going to keep working on it to see how much more body fat I can shed.

    I have taken this week off, and I think I will start a new round of T25 on Sunday just to keep it going.
  5. Mullreel's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,941
    Jul 12, 2014, 12:43 PM - Re: Workout review #30

    Update:

    I have since completed another full round of T25 plus a bit more. I have now started P90X3. I am on week 5 of this workout. I like the workout but it is much different than T25. The P90X3 program is 30 minute workouts 6 days a week. The workouts hit more of the resistance workouts than T25 did. T25 was a bit more cardio focused. P90X3 uses more push ups and pull ups and heavier weights.

    I have really like both workouts. My weight today was 182.6 and I would imagine my body fat is about 9%. BUT I think I am about to drop some more BF, because I actually gained some weight but did not gain any inches in my waist. My arms are bigger and I am definitely stronger.


    So my thoughts are: I would recommend T25. I would also recommend P90X3. They compliment each other nicely and the time involved in each program is VERY doable even with my hectic work schedule and family commitments.

Similar Threads

  1. Jet Pack: Beacon review
    By dlmilano in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Feb 22, 2013, 6:01 AM
  2. Stormrider EE3 - ESB Mounts Workout for Kit
    By Stormrider in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: Jun 10, 2012, 8:09 PM
  3. District 9 Review
    By Art Andrews in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: May 9, 2012, 2:42 PM
  4. X-Files: I Want To Believe review
    By vadr_h8r in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 25, 2008, 8:53 PM
  5. New Rangefinder Review
    By Purity Knight in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2002, 1:57 AM