Photography Thread

superjedi

Sr Hunter
Hi all,
I've been meaning to post this for a while now. There are so many people on
TDH with amazing talents in lots of different areas. As some of Art's and others'
threads show, these talents extend to photography.
I'm just hoping that some of the folks with photography skills will chime in and
give the rest of us amateurs any tips or advice in photographing our costume items.

I own a Canon SX 50HS 12.1 MP digital, but probably use only 5% of the camera's potential! :lol:
Any advice on camera settings, lighting, backdrops, etc. would be appreciated!

Let's hear from the TDH shutterbugs. (y) :)

Hey man,

I was actually thinking the one piece I could really give back to the community would be something photography related. I'm a professional photographer here in Victoria - I started in portrait and lifestyle work, but have moved toward corporate work recently (I didn't think to post my website as I imagined it would be some form of advertising against a code of conduct) I also am a secondary school teacher, teaching photography and media arts.

I get asked a lot, "What makes a good picture? or How do I take a good picture?" This question is not only very vast and complex, but also very subjective, making it difficult to answer.

What I can help you with is some of the technical aspects of photography as they relate to your camera and how you can use these tools to create your own images that you enjoy.

Maybe instead of putting all kinds of information out there that may overwhelm some people, I will break down different areas of photography similar to that as I would teach a lesson to my students.