Subscribe
  1. tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,924
    Feb 18, 2008, 11:35 PM - Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #1

    Well just as the title says, Ive been thinking alot lately about contracting with the ROTC here. Most of my reasons would be because Ive been wanting to goin into the military for along time, and plus, if I contract, I will getting paid monthly.

    The Pro's:
    -Money
    -Become an officer
    -Get physically fit (which I need to)
    -Cool people

    The con's:
    -required 8 years of service after colllege (I can do 6 reserve and 2 active..or was it the other way around?) (EDIT: I mean in terms of time away from friends, family. I would GLADLY defend my country, especially for our current situation)
    -Getting deployed somewhere

    I know quite a few members here are prior service, so I ask for their input. One thing that Im still wary of, is that I spent 7 years of my life in the Naval seacadet corp, so naturally, I want to go Navy, but I cant because the only navy rotc is at FAMU, and it I would have to do a cross-town, but I dont have my own car.

    So these are my reasons, for awhile, Ive been wanting to, but I just cant decide just yet

    Thanks

    -tubachris
    Last edited by tubachris85x; Feb 18, 2008 at 11:58 PM.
  2. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Feb 18, 2008, 11:48 PM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #2

    Getting deployed is not a CON, it's a PRO.
    Getting the opportunity to actually defend your country is quite an honor .
  3. tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,924
    Feb 18, 2008, 11:52 PM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #3

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    Getting deployed is not a CON, it's a PRO.
    Getting the opportunity to actually defend your country is quite an honor .

    Well I didnt mean it in that manner, just the time away from family. I wouldnt be joining any military if I didnt want to serve...
  4. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Feb 19, 2008, 12:03 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #4

    tubachris85x said: View Post
    Well I didnt mean it in that manner, just the time away from family. I wouldnt be joining any military if I didnt want to serve...
    Understood. My apologies if I sounded harsh.
    ( I'm a little touchy when it comes to military service )
    Some people do sign up "just for the college money"

    Time away from family can also be a good thing.
    Helps young men mature & become self-sufficient.

    IIRC you can enlist for 2 years active (depending on MOS) & do 6 years Inactive Reserve.
  5. tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,924
    Feb 19, 2008, 12:18 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #5

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    Understood. My apologies if I sounded harsh.
    ( I'm a little touchy when it comes to military service )
    Some people do sign up "just for the college money"

    Time away from family can also be a good thing.
    Helps young men mature & become self-sufficient.

    IIRC you can enlist for 2 years active (depending on MOS) & do 6 years Inactive Reserve.
    Im used to being away from family, being in seacadets, I would spend many weeks, up to month away for trainings, come home for a week, and then leave again. Been like that since I was 12

    The way Im thinking now, is that if Im eventually going to join, I might as well start now. I understand your feelings about the money thing, and I hate people who just do it for the money too, but Im desperatly in need of money these days, I am living on my own now. Im relying on financial aid money and my parents. As much as it helps every now and then, its not a very reliable source of income. I do have a job, but Im not really making much as a busser
  6. cojake's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    497
    Feb 19, 2008, 12:24 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #6

    I spent 6 years in the Marines. I often joke that it was the million dollar experience I wouldnt do again for a million dollars.
    On the positive side, I made some great friends and share a bond with others that have served. It looks great on a resume. I work in law enforcement as a correctional officer and my past military experience was a big, big plus in addition to college. It also helped pay for my college.

    On the negative side, I remember throwing my wedding together in 11 days before getting activated for Desert Storm/Desert Shield. ( my 17 year anniversary is this Friday!) It is hard on families being separated on deployments. There are a lot of politics involved. You have to learn to play along and go with the flow. Some of the military logic defies all reason
    This is a huge descision that should not be taken lightly. I considered it an honor to serve. Good luck! Jason
  7. whistle8mp's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    317
    Feb 19, 2008, 12:46 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #7

    If I were you I'd just go full time and get it over with. The way things look with the new elections, Iraq is going to be a thing of the past. But I can gaurantee at least another four years of combat in the suck. Either way it will get you where you want to go.
  8. Col.Chopper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    59
    Feb 19, 2008, 1:00 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #8

    Cool I am in USNSCC too which division are you in I am in Constitution Division
  9. tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,924
    Feb 19, 2008, 1:17 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #9

    Col.Chopper said: View Post
    Cool I am in USNSCC too which division are you in I am in Constitution Division
    I was in the Spruance division in ft lauderdale for 7 years I was LPO my last year, and CG commander
  10. Halo_1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,437
    Feb 19, 2008, 3:35 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #10

    It's a big decision and one that requires alot of thinking on your part...I myself served in the Singapore Armed Forces for 2.5 years [late 90s] as a Combat Field Engineer, E5, Section Leader. When my Active Stint ended, I served another 13 years in the Reserves, same vocation.

    Learned alot, made new friends, and the best bit? Worked with Demo and loved it so much that I always got picked to blow the biggest structures.

    It's a giant step in self reliance, and very much an honor in serving your country. IMHO, it's a win win situation [shades of Pauly Shore in In The Army Now. 8)].

    Good luck!

    Tim.
  11. Spacescopie's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    92
    Feb 19, 2008, 3:43 AM - Re: Need Opinions v. Thinking about contracting with Army ROTC #11

    Currently serving in the RAF and work very closely with the USAF.

    Every job has its pro's and cons, but not every job offers the life changing opertunities that the military does.

    You guys are lucky, in the US you are treated like heros, unlike here in the UK where the public turn the other cheek.

    Take the opertunity, you wont regret it. Even if you only do a short time you'll exit the service having seen the world and developed yourself as a person exponentially over your college peers.

    Go for it!

Similar Threads

  1. thinking of a Fett tat
    By daric larone in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Apr 3, 2010, 10:21 AM
  2. Just thinking......
    By RENEGADE 88 in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Nov 14, 2008, 7:48 AM
  3. thinking about buying from starfortress
    By green_arrow102986 in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: Oct 31, 2008, 10:36 PM