Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

  1. #1

    My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Please, searchbots. Please make sure this thread comes right up to the top whenever anyone looks for SFP

    This weekend I had the opportunity to rehab a Star Fortress clone helmet. I think you'll like the work we did.

    First, we had to securely mount it to the work surface to ensure that it would not fall over.



    (Not shown: We needed to weigh it down a bit, so we filled it with candy)

    We wanted to trim it down a bit and the Dremel was missing. So, we found a suitable replacement tool:



    A few gentle taps and the helmet was looking MUCH better:






    See how much better it looks now that it's all done!



    And last... the video (there may be some inappropriate language in there. And adults smashing fiberglass helmets with hammers without wearing safety glasses. don't do that!)

    MVI 0119 - YouTube
    Last edited by stormtrooperguy; Jul 16, 2012 at 9:25 AM.

  2. #2
    Lucksy31's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2007
    From
    Plymouth Meeting, PA, 19462
    Posts
    2,220

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    A tremendous improvement, nicely done.

  3. #3
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    I laughed so tremendously much while watching that video. That level of craftsmanship obviously doesn't warrant much attention but you most certainly improved on it immensely. Although not to be a nit picker but I feel that some more work could have gone into it. We need to make shirts or do something with the maniacal Webchief and Darth STG images. T-shirts or something.

  4. #4
    Fettered's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    From
    Florida Gulf Coast
    Posts
    343

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Now THAT is what I call custom! Obviously a lot of time and effort went into this in order to get it to a respectable state. Which seems to be more than can be said of SFP.

    Well done!

  5. #5
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,313

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Is there any candy left? I want some!

  6. #6

    Member Since
    Aug 2008
    From
    Middlesbrough UK
    Posts
    607

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    now thats a really useful thread!

  7. #7
    crow86's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    From
    PA
    Posts
    145

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Pure awesomeness, and bondo will definitely fix it right up

  8. #8
    saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    bozeman, mt go cats!!!
    Posts
    2,821

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    CANDY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

  9. #9
    Scott Kaufmann's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Boerne, Texas, United States
    Posts
    3,011

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Some disassembly required.

  10. #10
    Mojo-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2007
    From
    UK
    Posts
    4,783

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Love the vid Brian! whats with the tar?

    Also loved the vid of you guys mixing in the basement...

  11. #11

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Mojo-Fett said: View Post
    Love the vid Brian! whats with the tar?
    the home owner is doing some major work to the barn. that's leftover from the roof. still got some on my foot right now!

  12. #12
    Aeronnz's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    From
    Kansas
    Posts
    133

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Wow, although that was a terrible helmet, it actually made a pretty good pinata!

  13. #13
    Metadude's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2011
    From
    Rainbow Beach QLD Australia
    Posts
    643

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    I can safely say it looks alot better

  14. #14
    mhlayne's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    From
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    553

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Love it!

  15. #15

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Aeronnz said: View Post
    Wow, although that was a terrible helmet, it actually made a pretty good pinata!
    Originally we were going to smash it using the same sabers that we broke the real pinata with. But we decided that would take WAY too much work, so we broke out the hammer

  16. #16
    xaoslord's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    From
    Hitchins, KY (Don't feel bad...no one else has heard of it either...)
    Posts
    636

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Now I want candy...

  17. #17
    Dex's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2011
    From
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    94

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Nice vid! SFP cr@ppy helmets really had it coming.... good work! When does it relisted on eb@y?

    "2nd Hand Star Fortress Helmet, minor wear...."

  18. #18
    RobaFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    From
    Darwin River Northern Territory
    Posts
    304

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    awsome job with the helmet, stuff like that deserves to be destroyed, i hope you didnt pay for that poor excuse for a clone helmet, i wouldnt even give that to kids as a toy

  19. #19
    Has anyone wondered if this sick freak lurks on TDH under the radar?

  20. #20

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    I'd be surprised if they didn't pop onto all the boards now and then. They need to find stuff to recast somewhere

  21. #21
    mikala's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2011
    From
    West Coast Canada
    Posts
    2

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Man that was some funny stuff.
    Have been looking for a Clonetrooper helmet and that place came up in a search.
    Glad I decided further investigation was in order.

  22. #22
    Stormtrooperguy you said "they" there is more than one of them?!

  23. #23

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    Fettistics said: View Post
    Stormtrooperguy you said "they" there is more than one of them?!
    i don't see how there could not be... with all those products?

    heck, i make parts for a couple of characters and have 3 other people that do casting for me

  24. #24
    Yeah but you've seen SFP products it's like the caster had an epileptic seizure while making it. (no offense to those who really do suffer from epilepsy)

  25. #25
    intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    From
    England
    Posts
    611

    Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet

    I know this is an old thread but I just stumbled across it and it's hilarious.

Similar Threads

  1. Star Fortress Productions
    By Malaven in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2013, 2:55 AM
  2. Star fortress productions blaster
    By MacHuffy in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: Jul 28, 2010, 3:35 AM
  3. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 2:45 PM
  4. Star Fortress Vest
    By Dent_ghost 8 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2005, 11:34 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •