Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Sep 13, 2011, 11:19 AM - My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #1

    Please, searchbots. Please make sure this thread comes right up to the top whenever anyone looks for SFP

    This weekend I had the opportunity to rehab a Star Fortress clone helmet. I think you'll like the work we did.

    First, we had to securely mount it to the work surface to ensure that it would not fall over.



    (Not shown: We needed to weigh it down a bit, so we filled it with candy)

    We wanted to trim it down a bit and the Dremel was missing. So, we found a suitable replacement tool:



    A few gentle taps and the helmet was looking MUCH better:






    See how much better it looks now that it's all done!



    And last... the video (there may be some inappropriate language in there. And adults smashing fiberglass helmets with hammers without wearing safety glasses. don't do that!)

    MVI 0119 - YouTube
    Last edited by stormtrooperguy; Jul 16, 2012 at 10:25 AM.
  2. Lucksy31's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,225
    Sep 13, 2011, 11:57 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #2

    A tremendous improvement, nicely done.
  3. Sep 13, 2011, 12:33 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #3

    I laughed so tremendously much while watching that video. That level of craftsmanship obviously doesn't warrant much attention but you most certainly improved on it immensely. Although not to be a nit picker but I feel that some more work could have gone into it. We need to make shirts or do something with the maniacal Webchief and Darth STG images. T-shirts or something.
  4. Fettered's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    343
    Sep 13, 2011, 12:54 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #4

    Now THAT is what I call custom! Obviously a lot of time and effort went into this in order to get it to a respectable state. Which seems to be more than can be said of SFP.

    Well done!
  5. superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4,365
    Sep 13, 2011, 4:03 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #5

    Is there any candy left? I want some!
  6. Member Since
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    607
    Sep 13, 2011, 8:57 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #6

    now thats a really useful thread!
  7. crow86's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    145
    Sep 13, 2011, 10:27 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #7

    Pure awesomeness, and bondo will definitely fix it right up
  8. saint_nasty's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,866
    Sep 13, 2011, 11:01 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #8

    CANDY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
  9. Sep 14, 2011, 11:52 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #9

    Some disassembly required.
  10. Mojo-Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2007
    Posts
    4,783
    Sep 14, 2011, 3:26 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #10

    Love the vid Brian! whats with the tar?

    Also loved the vid of you guys mixing in the basement...
  11. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Sep 14, 2011, 4:36 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #11

    Quote Mojo-Fett said: View Post
    Love the vid Brian! whats with the tar?
    the home owner is doing some major work to the barn. that's leftover from the roof. still got some on my foot right now!
  12. Aeronnz's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    133
    Sep 14, 2011, 9:02 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #12

    Wow, although that was a terrible helmet, it actually made a pretty good pinata!
  13. Metadude's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    646
    Sep 15, 2011, 8:00 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #13

    I can safely say it looks alot better
  14. mhlayne's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    568
    Sep 15, 2011, 11:22 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #14

    Love it!
  15. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Sep 15, 2011, 12:38 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #15

    Quote Aeronnz said: View Post
    Wow, although that was a terrible helmet, it actually made a pretty good pinata!
    Originally we were going to smash it using the same sabers that we broke the real pinata with. But we decided that would take WAY too much work, so we broke out the hammer
  16. xaoslord's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    636
    Sep 15, 2011, 1:10 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #16

    Now I want candy...
  17. Dex's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    94
    Sep 21, 2011, 5:20 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #17

    Nice vid! SFP cr@ppy helmets really had it coming.... good work! When does it relisted on eb@y?

    "2nd Hand Star Fortress Helmet, minor wear...."
  18. RobaFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    315
    Sep 29, 2011, 8:06 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #18

    awsome job with the helmet, stuff like that deserves to be destroyed, i hope you didnt pay for that poor excuse for a clone helmet, i wouldnt even give that to kids as a toy
  19. Fettistics's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    552
    Nov 6, 2011, 12:24 PM - #19

    Has anyone wondered if this sick freak lurks on TDH under the radar?
  20. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Nov 7, 2011, 11:38 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #20

    I'd be surprised if they didn't pop onto all the boards now and then. They need to find stuff to recast somewhere
  21. mikala's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Nov 7, 2011, 11:55 AM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #21

    Man that was some funny stuff.
    Have been looking for a Clonetrooper helmet and that place came up in a search.
    Glad I decided further investigation was in order.
  22. Fettistics's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    552
    Nov 7, 2011, 12:24 PM - #22

    Stormtrooperguy you said "they" there is more than one of them?!
  23. stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,039
    Nov 7, 2011, 1:02 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #23

    Quote Fettistics said: View Post
    Stormtrooperguy you said "they" there is more than one of them?!
    i don't see how there could not be... with all those products?

    heck, i make parts for a couple of characters and have 3 other people that do casting for me
  24. Fettistics's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    552
    Nov 7, 2011, 1:12 PM - #24

    Yeah but you've seen SFP products it's like the caster had an epileptic seizure while making it. (no offense to those who really do suffer from epilepsy)
  25. intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    667
    Jul 10, 2012, 4:51 PM - Re: My review of a Star Fortress Productions clone helmet #25

    I know this is an old thread but I just stumbled across it and it's hilarious.

Similar Threads

  1. Star Fortress Productions
    By Malaven in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2013, 3:55 AM
  2. Star fortress productions blaster
    By MacHuffy in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: Jul 28, 2010, 4:35 AM
  3. StarWarsHelmets.com review of new e-fx Clone Captain Helmet
    By Star Wars Helmets in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Feb 25, 2009, 3:45 PM
  4. Star Fortress Vest
    By Dent_ghost 8 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Apr 17, 2005, 12:34 AM