Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

  1. #1

    Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    The Navy base here in Lemoore, CA just showed the Clone Wars movie. It took about 20 minutes to finally "get used" to the new look.......once you are passed that, the movie was actually pretty entertaining. Lots of action and lots of emphasis on the characters' personalities (including Clones).

    The movie was pretty much full of battles from start to finish and the kids will love a lot of the cute stuff (baby Hutt, mischievious jawas, stupid droid humor, and of course R2D2 antics).

    I do feel the lightsaber battles could have been much better considering it was limitless to what could be portrayed on screen.

    Anyway, you can judge for yourself in a couple of days.

  2. #2

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    I got to see it last night at a charity for Ronald McDonald House that our local garrison was invited to troop. It was a great. I'm already looking forward to seeing it again.

  3. #3

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Personally, I'm happy to see R2-KT's appearance, it may be just me, but man I was so happy to see that.

  4. #4
    Odran Kor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2008
    From
    Bs. As., Argentina
    Posts
    174

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    I was also lucky to find an Avant Premiere... Amazing movie... Everything looks great... The history and the characters, makes you scream... I WANT MORE!!!!

  5. #5
    Johnny Boy Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2008
    From
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    89

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    mandosoldier said: View Post
    Personally, I'm happy to see R2-KT's appearance, it may be just me, but man I was so happy to see that.

    And I was happy to hear about it. A friend of mine saw the screening over the weekend and told me it was in there. If you know thw story behind R2KT, then you know how touching it is. I hope to see the movie next week.

  6. #6
    CombatBaby's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2005
    From
    The miserable mill
    Posts
    2,325

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    does anyone know if it has midnight showings across the US thursday night? or is it just a regular release Friday?

  7. #7
    tubachris85x's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2006
    From
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    2,896

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    CombatBaby said: View Post
    does anyone know if it has midnight showings across the US thursday night? or is it just a regular release Friday?
    Trooping at the midnight showing here

  8. #8

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    I missed it.....but what part did R2KT show up?

    I remember when Katie passed, but I never did hear about the droid until just now. I'll definitely watch for her the next time I see Clone War.

  9. #9

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Nevermind.......just found it:
    http://www.r2kt.com/clonewars.html

  10. #10
    Alcfalath's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    548

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    I too loved the inclusion to R2-KT into the script... it touched my heart in a big way...

    I saw it on Sunday morning, and will again on Wed night, before the week of trooping the cinemas happen from Thurs night onwards.. :P

  11. #11
    FettOfficer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    S.F. Bay Area California USA
    Posts
    803

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Yeah, I've seen it today along with several of my Garrison and TDH members
    in S.F. It was for a special press release preview night.
    Don't want to say anything about the movie. I don't want to spoil it for anyone.
    Last edited by FettOfficer; Aug 12, 2008 at 10:37 PM.

  12. #12
    pennywise's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    1,437

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Ok, ok, ok, come on already! The big question is Boba Fett in the movie!

  13. #13
    pennywise's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    1,437

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Hunh, I guess it's a secret

  14. #14
    FettOfficer's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    S.F. Bay Area California USA
    Posts
    803

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Sorry Bro!
    No Boba just yet. See you this Friday...

  15. #15
    pennywise's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    1,437

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    FettOfficer said: View Post
    Sorry Bro!
    No Boba just yet. See you this Friday...
    Thanks Looking forward to Fri., hope it's not too hot

  16. #16
    BREWZA's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2008
    From
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    41

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    This has probably been asked somewhere else but why didn't they get Tem to do the voices of the clones in The Clone Wars?
    When reading Karen Traviss novels, my mind is reading the clones with a New Zealand accent, obviously.
    The clones (in The Clone Wars) sound like ( no offense intended) someone trying to do an Australian accent.. badly.

    Please don't get me wrong, I am going to see it this weekend with my partner and we are both very exited but I was just curious about Tem's lack of involvement.
    Last edited by BREWZA; Aug 14, 2008 at 1:20 PM.

  17. #17
    Jaiden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    From
    Titusville, FL
    Posts
    578

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    BREWZA said: View Post
    When reading Karen Traviss novels, my mind is reading the clones with a New Zealand accent, obviously.
    Funny thing about that. My 6-year-old wanted me to read "The Mandalorian Armor" (not Karen Traviss) to him, and I find myself doing the accent when I read Boba's lines. And he also runs around with his new Clone Trooper helmet doing the accent himself. It's so cute.

    Going to see it at the first showing on Friday.

    David.

  18. #18
    never_ending_fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2006
    From
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    1,158

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Just got back from the Midnight showing. It was great! Much better than I anticipated!

    Make sure to stay past the credits!

  19. #19
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    I've seen it twice in pre-screening and LOVED it!

  20. #20
    Foxbatkllr's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2003
    From
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    2,566

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    It was very entertaining. I loved the battle droids.

  21. #21
    DarthMiller's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    From
    Ft. Worth, TX
    Posts
    1,193

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    just saw it...I loved it !!! very fun and great for kids!!

    i am going to enjoy the weekly TV show

  22. #22
    mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    From
    Central Upstate NY
    Posts
    1,603

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    never_ending_fett said: View Post
    Just got back from the Midnight showing. It was great! Much better than I anticipated!

    Make sure to stay past the credits!

    Just got back from watching it. I thought it was pretty good, loved the battle scenes, the way you felt like you were in the middle of it. Didn't stay past the credits, what did I miss

  23. #23
    xfettx's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2007
    From
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    541

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    Just got home from seeing it. I had only one complaint.... the guy sleeping behind me was snoring reeeaaally loud. It was a fun movie. As cartoony it was I loved the textures of everything. the armor all looked amazing. And the eyes. especially the hutt's eyes

  24. #24
    I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    From
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    Posts
    5,520

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    mrgr8ness said: View Post
    Just got back from watching it. I thought it was pretty good, loved the battle scenes, the way you felt like you were in the middle of it. Didn't stay past the credits, what did I miss
    Nothing important. It was just a Jawa trio holding onto the LucasFilm logo, they drop it and run away.

  25. #25
    vadr_h8r's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2008
    From
    Greensburg Indiana
    Posts
    832

    Re: Just watched CLONE WARS (special preview).......possible spoiler

    MY REVIEW.....
    the good... very nice battles and all the spaceships looked so good they looked like the live action movies!!!... Assajj Ventress rocked!!!!... and its STAR WARS!!!!

    the bad... the opening crawl... where was it??? that was such a let down!!! it wouldn't have been so bad if I didn't see the "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far, away... "screen. Then they tried to do some type of Starship Troopers opening and I was saying NOOOO!!! what are you doing to MY movie!!! that took about 20 minutes to get over... next... Zero the hutt?? I have a few gay friends so I'm not even close to being homophobic but why did they make a Hutt gangster so wildly and openly gay??? that just doesn't fit in the Star wars universe. and lastly a lot of the music did not fit star wars at all...I thought the phantom menace soundtrack was out of place.. they did a cheap muzak version of the opening theme alot of weird stuff in the middle and at the end, a weird muzak ending theme... very odd ... well the verdict.....
    GRADE C+++

Similar Threads

  1. The Clone Wars: Clone Trooper Helmet Templates
    By Skupilkinson in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 66
    Last Post: Jun 8, 2013, 9:34 AM
  2. Star Wars Holiday Special
    By Mando_Pirate in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Dec 22, 2009, 1:11 PM
  3. Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes
    By bevbor in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Oct 14, 2009, 7:23 PM
  4. Just Finished Snow Clone /CLone Wars
    By Big_water99 in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Aug 20, 2009, 12:51 AM
  5. The Clone Wars Preview
    By bobafett669 in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 9, 2008, 11:30 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •