Subscribe
  1. clonecollector's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,591
    Jan 13, 2009, 10:12 AM - Your opinions on my back armor #1

    I posted a a few pics of mine in the the "Propbuilding" section but I have a specific question about the backplate. I traced the WOF template on .19 guage aluminum. I scored the lines where the bends should be with a razor and they bent into shape nicely. My problem is that when I place the armor on my back it still doesn't conform properly. the bottom sticks out. If I bend the shoulders more then you see a small gap between my shoulders and the armor. Is this normal? I used the XL template because I'm not a small guy, but I'm not umpbacked either. What experiences has anyone else had with this? let me know. Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dsc02105-jpg   dsc02103-jpg   dsc02109-jpg  

    dsc02108-jpg   dsc02110-jpg   dsc02111-jpg  

    dsc02112-jpg  
  2. dankenman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    529
    Jan 13, 2009, 12:50 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #2

    Thats some good work. Great job with metal. I am currently working on mine, but its out of trash can plastic. I have had similar issues with getting it to fit right, and mine currently has a slightly larger gap up at the shoulders, like you were describing. I did notice when I move around with it, this extra space gives my arms more range of motion without rubbing against the back plate. I dont know how accurate it is, but it is more comfortable. I also am interested in other peoples views/ideas on this. I am waiting to receive my fp armor, and am excited to see how his back plate sits on me for a comparison.
  3. ShocKNurse's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    328
    Jan 13, 2009, 1:07 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #3

    The armor really shouldn't be "form-fitting". The shape you have looks good. When you place the jet pack on top of the armor, it will help hold the bottom of the armor down.
  4. mmgraphics's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1,012
    Jan 13, 2009, 2:37 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #4

    I must admit, I like this alu-backplate!

    Well done cc!
  5. clonecollector's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,591
    Jan 13, 2009, 5:37 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #5

    Thanks for the replies! I think I may have a solution for my issue with the backplate. When I read WOF's "Read Me" page he stated that XL is for someone 6'1". I'm 5'9" - 5'10". I should look into Medium/ Large size templates. I will reprint the correct size templates and try again. Luckily I have more aluminum and I can probably re-use the current plate for other pieces I need when doing my metal guntlets.

    If anyone has pics laying around of themselves in costume without the backpack on I'd like to see for comparison. (especially if you are Lg/ or XL and have used the WOF templates) Thanks!
  6. CalohVorn's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    50
    Jan 13, 2009, 5:52 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #6

    Oh man, I wished that my backplate was looking like this one! XD...I've done mine from 3mm thick gutta gliss and the edges seem to disappear in a strange curve ^^...

    Really good work!
  7. I helped at SDCC '08 GCNgamer128's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,520
    Jan 13, 2009, 5:52 PM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #7

    I think that you got an awesome shape out of that. How sturdy is it??
  8. clonecollector's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,591
    Jan 14, 2009, 6:09 AM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #8

    It is not ready to wear at all. The aluminum I used was thin but allowed me to score it with a razor and fold the seams. It would have to be reinforced with fiberglass to thicken it and keep it solid. Its too cold now where I am to glass it outside so I will have to wait for the weather to warm up a bit. Thanks for the comments.
  9. FettSniper's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    347
    Jan 14, 2009, 9:03 AM - Re: Your opinions on my back armor #9

    I had the same problem when i first tried to get my back plate to fit, it stuck out at the bottom and i thought it would look weird but i took the plunge and just attached it to my flak vest and voila...the problem solved itself, not sure how but the flak vest seemed to just pull it into the right shape, maybe you should just have a go...

Similar Threads

  1. Pics of drilled holes for back armor to collar armor?
    By Jodo Kast 3 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Oct 9, 2007, 2:56 PM
  2. Armor Weathering: Need Opinions
    By Jimmy BufFETT in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Feb 7, 2007, 11:52 AM
  3. Paintball Armor Opinions
    By tubachris85x in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2006, 10:01 PM
  4. Back Armor - opinions please
    By bobamaker in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: Dec 22, 2004, 3:11 PM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 3:19 PM