WIP : An Irishmans' scratch-build ESB Boba Fett

steoconnor

Jr Hunter
Greetings all.

I've been lurking here for some months now, learning from you all and being dumbstruck by the talent I've seen. I must say I didn't think it was possible to build a Boba Fett from scratch but this community is just incredible for proving it can be done, and in so many ways.

So first things first. My budget isn't what you'd call generous, so I'm going to have to build everything by hand (save for a flightsuit and boots maybe). I also don't know how much time I will have over the coming year (which is my estimated timeframe for the build) but I will post every detail I can, in the hope that someone would like to learn from or correct me as I go along.

I don't think my tools, time or talent will allow me to produce something that will be 100% screen accurate either so I might have to upgrade as I journey on but I'll give it my best.
Also, I've never built or done anything like this before so bear with me as I stumble through it all.

So without further ado... let's begin...

To start with, I've purchased some 3mm Aluminium sheets (Aluminum to many of you :) ) to build my armour. A shout out to cyberpyrot for his teachings on how to work with this metal.

I used medium sized templates for this armour work. Traced onto cereal-box cardboard and then onto the aluminum.
I used a Jigsaw tool to cut the metal (I found out the hard way that I need to cut really close to the lines because I have to hand-file all the edges and this takes some time) :)
DSC_1369.JPG
DSC_1373.jpg

After looking at Cyberpyrots' videos and testing different hammers on the metal, I ended up using a rubber mallet which seems to have the added bonus of not marking the metal and giving a nice rounded shape to the metal when I need to add curves in places. Oh yeah I also got some tiny pieces of metal stuck under my skin (which I later had to remove with a sewing needle), so I eventually wore gloves :$