Subscribe
  1. paucarmelbea's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    107
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 6:47 AM - Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #1

    Hi folks,
    I love looking at everyones costumes....everyone is brilliant and all slightly different. So, as the actual Fett costume pics are often difficult to copy from, who do you think has the best/ most accurate pictures to use as reference material ?......you can see much more detail from our modern day photo's so I'm interested to see what people think is the benchmark to inspect

    Cheers.
  2. Become a member for 90 days and create 50 posts and you won't see these ads.Register now!
  3. Member Since
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    273
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 7:32 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #2

    Have you pressed the gallery button here on this forum and looked at the pictures there?
  4. syllander's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1,237
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 7:54 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #3

    The gallery is the best resource for Boba pic reference.
  5. catbread's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    248
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 7:58 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #4

    I think he's mainly on the lookout for forum user suit photos for reference.
  6. Member Since
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    245
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 8:20 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #5

    Never use someone else's work as a reference for yours. A bit like playing "Telephone". The final product will continually get more diluted from the original. You'll copy whatever mistakes that person made, as well as some of your own, so you will end up with double. Just use the images in the gallery, no matter how difficult it is to find the right one, or a clear one.
  7. Jesuit24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    231
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 8:30 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #6

    I used Ponte's photos for reference on SE weathering; he's put a lot of work into his outfit. I also think Matty Matt's ESB statue is a work of art. But, mirroring cbrant, you're better off using the real deal as reference material.
  8. paucarmelbea's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    107
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 8:32 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #7

    Yeah I was just wondering who people think has the best costume.....I'm not bothered about being 100% accurate at all....I find I look at other peoples builds as the photo quality is much better.
    so out of interest I just wondered what would be the best costume to look at
  9. 3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 8:58 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #8

    I agree with what everyone else has said. Your better off using the gallery pics available here rather than someone elses suit for reference. Noones is completely perfect. You can also take screen caps from the DVD or bluray.

    That said, Ponte's ROTJ SE is one of the best ive seen for that version. Deathproof's ROTJ is also outstanding. Theres this guy, Antonino, i dont know his screen name here, he has an outstanding ESB i saw on FP's FB page. There are lots of great Fetts on here and its almost like starting a war to ask who has the best Fett here lol.

    Theres also the CRL's on the 501st legions page, but im a little biased as the ESB one is me...even though ive pretty much redone all of the hard parts at this point.
  10. Lazarus's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2015
    Posts
    50
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 10:46 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #9

    There are a ton of great Fetts, but only one is the best.
  11. Jesuit24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    231
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 11:29 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #10

    Quote Darth Voorhees said: View Post
    There are lots of great Fetts on here and its almost like starting a war to ask who has the best Fett here lol.
    Clearly mine is the best.
  12. Member Since
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    200
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 11:49 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #11

    Jeremy Bulloch has the best costume, no one else gets what is inside the costume right.
  13. Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    284
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 3:34 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #12

    Damn, some mighty nice people in this thread.

    But for real...the gallery photos of the screen-used costume will forever be your best bet when setting a "benchmark" for Fett. I'll give advice on colors/techniques I've used, but I would NEVER want anyone using my armor to directly replicate because if I'm 1mm off with the length of a scratch I drew...then yours might up being 2mm off. ALWAYS copy the real deal.

    It also takes a lot of self-honesty on your part too. If you can look at your costume, or a part of it, and look at a photo of the screen-used and go "Ehhh, mine's kinda off here and here", then you haven't reached your benchmark, and that's when you strive to do better on the next paint up or start from scratch. It's a pain in the ass, but the desire to match your replica color for color, scratch for scratch with the original will ensure the best possible costume you could make.
    Last edited by Ponte; 3 Weeks Ago at 3:43 PM.
  14. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,083
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 3:50 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #13

    I think this is a bit of a loaded question. We've got a great community here and everyone adds something to the costume that someone else might not have. I know my suit isn't perfect scratch for scratch, but I'm really happy with it, and that's all that matters to me

    I'll echo what was said above - the gallery shots are the best source for reference when choosing colours, damage placement, etc.

    Also - don't be too critical on your own suit, or compare it to others. We all come from different backgrounds, skills, etc, and we're all different shapes and sizes. You shouldn't judge or be judged on your painting because your painting skills aren't great or you couldn't afford to get it done properly. You often hear of Fetts here saying that the suit is never done. There's always something that could make it better until you've realized that you've done your best and that's that.
  15. formerly Woodman woodman's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,409
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 5:49 PM - #14

    Ponte all the way for SE
    Quote Quote Posted from Android app
  16. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,843
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 6:09 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #15

    Quote Darth Voorhees said: View Post
    I agree with what everyone else has said. Your better off using the gallery pics available here rather than someone elses suit for reference. Noones is completely perfect. You can also take screen caps from the DVD or bluray.

    That said, Ponte's ROTJ SE is one of the best ive seen for that version. Deathproof's ROTJ is also outstanding. Theres this guy, Antonino, i dont know his screen name here, he has an outstanding ESB i saw on FP's FB page. There are lots of great Fetts on here and its almost like starting a war to ask who has the best Fett here lol.

    Theres also the CRL's on the 501st legions page, but im a little biased as the ESB one is me...even though ive pretty much redone all of the hard parts at this point.
    Antonino is Wasteland...the ESB I did up for him this last year for his Halloween outing and of course C7....and really came out better then I could have hoped for...and he wears it really well. And I really do agree its ONE of the best, as I feel like people are always improving and there can always be better, or more accurate right?

    And Ponte's ROTJ SE back at C5 was Awesome to see in person, first time we had met in person....and became BFF's....and like I said above as we like to do UPGRADE....he has redone and redone things to make it REALLY frickin awesome....Havent seent the latest iteration in person but his attention to detail is ridiculous....and I admire that most about him. His Suit is right now my favorite (next to @Wasteland since I have so much blood sweat and tears into it). I don't think theres one BEST though as far as what you're asking for....like Darth Vorhees said and I always preach...don't copy others work...even if it was the BEST....use their WIP threads as a guide...but use the gallery for the reference....as theyre what youre trying to copy...the real suit.
  17. Hunter930's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2014
    Posts
    193
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 7:40 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #16

    Everyones is awesome, as the time energy and commitment put in by the crew here at TDH is extraordinary !!!!!!!!
  18. Member Since
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    543
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 9:35 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #17

    Quote DeathProof said: View Post
    I think this is a bit of a loaded question. We've got a great community here and everyone adds something to the costume that someone else might not have. I know my suit isn't perfect scratch for scratch, but I'm really happy with it, and that's all that matters to me

    I'll echo what was said above - the gallery shots are the best source for reference when choosing colours, damage placement, etc.

    Also - don't be too critical on your own suit, or compare it to others. We all come from different backgrounds, skills, etc, and we're all different shapes and sizes. You shouldn't judge or be judged on your painting because your painting skills aren't great or you couldn't afford to get it done properly. You often hear of Fetts here saying that the suit is never done. There's always something that could make it better until you've realized that you've done your best and that's that.
    Well said!
  19. 22ssplt's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,735
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 3, 2015, 10:06 PM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #18

    I'm gonna lay this all to rest and say that Sean Yllander has the best Fett out there. His attention to detail and willingness to put it all out there is second to none. Sean we salute you.

    imageuploadedbytapatalk1433387172-227765-jpg


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  20. Wasteland's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    147
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 4, 2015, 12:57 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #19

    Thanks guys. Everyone's right, the suit is never done. I've already made improvements to keep everything from moving and staying where they should be while trooping.
  21. paucarmelbea's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    107
    3 Weeks Ago - Jun 4, 2015, 3:06 AM - Re: Who's got the BEST costume in your opinion ? #20

    Thats the best one yet
    Quote 22ssplt said: View Post
    I'm gonna lay this all to rest and say that Sean Yllander has the best Fett out there. His attention to detail and willingness to put it all out there is second to none. Sean we salute you.
    Thats the best one yet
    imageuploadedbytapatalk1433387172-227765-jpg


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Need your opinion
    By impi in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Feb 1, 2011, 12:58 PM
  2. In need of opinion.
    By Alpha33 in forum Star Wars Costumes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Oct 1, 2010, 1:11 AM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 7:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 7:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 12:31 PM