Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    55
    Apr 4, 2014, 11:33 PM - What are you guys using for a voice changer? #1

    I'd like to sound as close to Boba as possible, but I'm not sure where to go. I've searched the forums and alot of the links in them are dead. I've check hyperdyne, but seems they're out of stock on anything that sounds like Boba. So I'm wondering if there's someone else out there who offers a good Boba voice changer, not a stormtrooper. Or maybe even one that can easily be calibrated to sound like Boba. I've even tried to look up how to make my own and seems like that's where I might have to go. I'd rather not thought since I have no experience at all in something like that.
  2. Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    655
    Apr 4, 2014, 11:43 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #2

    I am going to go with a plain old Aker voice amp. Why? I don't think Boba had any of the 'com clicks' normally associated with stormtrooper communications, so no need for any of those fancy ICOMM boxes. As well, I just started a clone trooper costume, and I don't remember any of them having the com click effect. Just a simple voice amplification, with a tiny amount of distortion or overdrive.
  3. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 5, 2014, 2:43 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #3

    I'm interested in this as well. I wasn't too keen on the hyperdyne stuff. I already have an aker 1505. For my partners Boushh we are going to try to plug her iPhone into the input and use a Bluetooth headset with a voicechanger app. Haven't tested it, but I've heard of decent results for a cheap price.

    How are you getting the distortion necronaut? Just crank the volume?

    Doesnt hurt to give your voice a little raspy effect as well.
  4. locitus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    745
    Apr 5, 2014, 6:13 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #4

    I will be using my rom/FX. It's normally used by stomtroopers. You can turn off the clicks, but keep any distortion.
  5. Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    655
    Apr 5, 2014, 10:07 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #5

    I haven't purchased one yet. Maybe that Rom FX unit will be the way to go if it has a built in distortion?
  6. AFettFullofDollars's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,153
    Apr 5, 2014, 10:10 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #6

    A heavy night of drinking and lots of cigarettes...
  7. Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    55
    Apr 5, 2014, 4:09 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #7

    Quote Necronaut said: View Post
    I am going to go with a plain old Aker voice amp. Why? I don't think Boba had any of the 'com clicks' normally associated with stormtrooper communications, so no need for any of those fancy ICOMM boxes. As well, I just started a clone trooper costume, and I don't remember any of them having the com click effect. Just a simple voice amplification, with a tiny amount of distortion or overdrive.
    So does the amp come with that or do you need something else to help it?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote DeathProof said: View Post
    I'm interested in this as well. I wasn't too keen on the hyperdyne stuff. I already have an aker 1505. For my partners Boushh we are going to try to plug her iPhone into the input and use a Bluetooth headset with a voicechanger app. Haven't tested it, but I've heard of decent results for a cheap price.

    How are you getting the distortion necronaut? Just crank the volume?

    Doesnt hurt to give your voice a little raspy effect as well.
    Let me know how the voicechanger apparently works cause that set up seems lIke something I'd easily be able t do for cheap.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote locitus said: View Post
    I will be using my rom/FX. It's normally used by stomtroopers. You can turn off the clicks, but keep any distortion.
    I didn't know that. I was under the assumption they were just for stormtroopers. That's good to know though.
  8. Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    655
    Apr 6, 2014, 2:33 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #8

    Ouch, I just looked up the Rom/FX kit. It's complete, but it's 150 GBP plus 20 GBP shipping; works out to about $275 Cdn!? I can get an Aker with a microphone for about $70. And I can probably find a decent voice mod board for less than $100.
    Last edited by Necronaut; Apr 6, 2014 at 2:46 AM.
  9. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 6, 2014, 2:57 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #9

    Hey necronaunt...I got my Aker 1505s from China for $36 a piece, with shipping. ...they do include that MP3 input...

    Let me putz around with this bluetooth iPhone voice changer thingy tomorrow, and I'll report back.

    I like the iComm system for TKs...but Fett doesn't have the static bursts...and the iComm...while much cheaper than the Rom/FX ....can't get rid of the bursts.
  10. Member Since
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    655
    Apr 6, 2014, 10:56 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #10

    Did you find your Aker off of fleabay or something? I can get them from Amazon.ca, Trooperfx.com, etc.

    If you can get the voice changer to work on the iPhone, that would be sweet!! Better than paying $150+ for a voice modulator… I did do some more looking this morning. $$$
  11. Jesuit24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    145
    Apr 6, 2014, 11:01 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #11

    What's better? The Aker 1505 or the 1506?
  12. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 6, 2014, 11:35 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #12

    Yup. Definitely got them off fleabay. Was so cheap I got two. One for Fett and one for Boushh.

    Did another round of looking for changers myself this morning....the hyperdyne stuff is crazy expensive....and I wanna sound like the old school Fett. I don't think anyone has hit it perfectly yet as a premade product.

    Just found an iphone app called Voice Synth. It does live voice changing. Many of the apps require you to record first...well that doesn't work. You need real time. It has 100 voice presets (free version), one being "human heavy throat" which just by the name sounds promising. If you want to pay the whole $5, you can program your own voice.


    Gonna grab a mic and test it out when my partner is awake

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Jesuit24 said: View Post
    What's better? The Aker 1505 or the 1506?
    Depends how much pep you want. The 1505 is what I have and is 12w....it's loud. The 1506 is 10w and is still good from what I understand.

    I plan on having the 'boba fett sound' (watch the supertrooper video) looping underneath my voice. So with a louder amp, I can plug that in, and have it going so it's actually heard. My mic I can turn down separately so it's not overwhelming. It will take some time and practice to balance it out properly. I think both have mic and mp3 input, so it's really just a matter of how much power you want.
  13. Jesuit24's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    145
    Apr 6, 2014, 11:48 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #13

    I was planning on installing the speaker from whichever I get into either the chest plate or the diamond, so my main concern is feedback from the mic. Will the 12W run more risk of feedback?
  14. locitus's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    745
    Apr 6, 2014, 1:13 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #14

    Quote Necronaut said: View Post
    Ouch, I just looked up the Rom/FX kit. It's complete, but it's 150 GBP plus 20 GBP shipping; works out to about $275 Cdn!? I can get an Aker with a microphone for about $70. And I can probably find a decent voice mod board for less than $100.
    Well, you get what you pay for. And the rom/FX is worth every bit of it.
  15. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 6, 2014, 7:22 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #15

    K....update.

    Supplies used:

    Samsung HM1300 Bluetooth headset.
    iPhone with Voice Synth app (full version - $5)
    Aker 1505


    The Voice synth app works really well. I'm still trying to nail that perfect Fett voice, but you can save a lot of variations to the voice. Personally, it works really well, you just have to make a lot of adjustments to what you want.

    Here was my setup:

    First I just put a male to male 3.5mm headphone jack from my iPhone to the Aker amp. I spoke regularly and the Voice Synth changed my voice perfectly. The supplied male to male cord from Aker was a bit short, so I got a bunch of feedback. I would just need a longer cord, but in order for that to work properly, I would need to have the phone in my helmet...not ideal. Plus, the screen needs to remain on.

    Synced the bluetooth headset up. Synched easily, but my main issue with this is that the audio did NOT go out through the headphone jack to the Aker amp. It went BACK to the bluetooth headset.

    Voice changer still worked and all, but not where I wanted to audio to go.

    The deal now will be to find a bluetooth MICROPHONE ONLY. Something that does not have a speaker to go back to. Hopefully then, the audio will go through the headphone jack to the Aker amp. I have looked everywhere for this, but everything I find is cellphone based and has an ear bud of some kind.

    Another thought I had....was to take the supplied Aker microphone....and make it bluetooth. Has anyone ever worked with Bluetooth transmitters before? I think you can just plug the mic into the unit and it sends a bluetooth signal.

    Then, that can go to iPhone and then the audio gets filtered to the amp.

    Thoughts?
  16. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 6, 2014, 10:04 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #16

    Just had an EPIPHANY!

    Instead of having all kinds of bluetooth waves floating around your head...

    Take the iPhone's combo input/output jack and SPLIT it!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mHfN-h13tCvDAC81d8txhQw.jpg 
Views:	128 
Size:	4.8 KB 
ID:	75822

    This way, you can plug the supplied Aker microphone into your iPhone's splitter, and then use the supplied male to male cable to go from your iPhone to Aker amp.

    Much cheaper than a $20 bluetooth set.

    Will post results tomorrow!
    Last edited by DeathProof; Apr 7, 2014 at 12:02 AM.
  17. animattor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    189
    Apr 8, 2014, 10:47 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #17

    I hear puberty will change your voice too.
  18. BobaFiend's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    787
    Apr 8, 2014, 10:54 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #18

    Honestly I just use my aker and do my best Christian Bale TDK impression. It works no problem. No muss no fuss.
  19. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 9, 2014, 12:11 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #19

    Granted, I'm mainly researching this for my partner's Boushh costume, but I figure if I can nail a distorted fett voice, why not.
  20. Mr Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    2,077
    Apr 9, 2014, 1:04 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #20

    I use just a normal Aker as well. Don't need to "voice change" because people flip out when they hear you speak anyway. Since Boba doesn't talk much, it usually comes down to replying when they say "Thanks" after taking a picture with you, and your voice comes out of the Aker with "You're welcome", and they're suddenly "OH MY GOD, HE'S GOT A VOICE CHANGER. THAT'S SO COOL!!!!"

    LOL yes....but it happens every time I troop.
  21. Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    55
    Apr 9, 2014, 4:00 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #21

    Quote Mr Fett said: View Post
    I use just a normal Aker as well. Don't need to "voice change" because people flip out when they hear you speak anyway. Since Boba doesn't talk much, it usually comes down to replying when they say "Thanks" after taking a picture with you, and your voice comes out of the Aker with "You're welcome", and they're suddenly "OH MY GOD, HE'S GOT A VOICE CHANGER. THAT'S SO COOL!!!!"

    LOL yes....but it happens every time I troop.
    That makes sense.
  22. Member Since
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    55
    Apr 9, 2014, 4:09 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #22

    Quote Mr Fett said: View Post
    I use just a normal Aker as well. Don't need to "voice change" because people flip out when they hear you speak anyway. Since Boba doesn't talk much, it usually comes down to replying when they say "Thanks" after taking a picture with you, and your voice comes out of the Aker with "You're welcome", and they're suddenly "OH MY GOD, HE'S GOT A VOICE CHANGER. THAT'S SO COOL!!!!"

    LOL yes....but it happens every time I troop.
    That makes sense.
  23. intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    667
    Apr 9, 2014, 4:23 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #23

    I know it's a different character but I have a Vortex 2 for Vader and have to say that the results are very impressive.
  24. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 9, 2014, 4:25 PM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #24

    Quote intwenothor said: View Post
    ...I have a Vortex 2 for Vader and have to say that the results are very impressive.
    Some might even say...most impressive....

    har har har
  25. DeathProof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    758
    Apr 11, 2014, 12:58 AM - Re: What are you guys using for a voice changer? #25

    Hey guys!

    Here's a quick video on the voice changer that I've been playing around with.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7cOJ0GyYso

    Supplies

    1. Aker 1505 Amp (with supplied microphone, speaker and male to male cable)
    2. iPhone 4s
    3. Voice Synth App from the App Store
    4. EDIT: go to page 3 for correct cable! Previous splitter didn't work.

    The audio sample in the video isn't the greatest - recorded on an iPad, plus my own voice kinda overpowered the speaker and I didn't want to get feedback.

    Things to REMEMBER: You MUST connect both the speaker and microphone cables BEFORE you plug in the splitter to your phone. Otherwise the speaker works without the mic (for some odd reason). Also I have not found a way for this to work with the phone locked. I'm debating putting some type of protector over the phone to avoid buttons being pushed while in my pouch. Finally, ...if you receive a call while using this...well...maybe you should set your ringtone to the Imperial March or something

    Other voice changers can be oodles of dollars. The splitter was $8, the app was $5. Not a bad deal.

    IF you are interested in this.....GUESS WHAT....I can EXPORT the presets that I made and EMAIL them to you! You just need the Voice Synth app to install them!

    Let me know what you think!
    Last edited by DeathProof; May 27, 2014 at 9:06 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. What are these pieces used for?
    By cdrake in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Nov 22, 2011, 7:39 AM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: Feb 4, 2010, 8:48 PM
  3. HAPPY THANKSGIVING! - WHAT ARE YOU THANKFUL FOR?
    By Art Andrews in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Dec 4, 2008, 9:59 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: Nov 12, 2007, 5:55 PM
  5. What are you using for boots?
    By Jedibrain in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: Sep 30, 2007, 1:12 PM