Subscribe
  1. Dougie Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    295
    May 28, 2008, 4:42 PM - Vaticast (just an opinion) #1

    Recently built a ESB blaster (have shots in separate post) the webley body was bought from Vaticast (Ebay). There have been previous posts tearing them to shreds, basically saying that they are recasters and bad people to deal with.
    TBH, they were not the quickest to send out the kit and their communication left a lot to be desired. But as kits go, it was actually a decent cast, the stock was the worst part (full of air bubbles) but it was easily sorted with filler. The main webley body was a good cast and not the horror story that I was lead to believe in previous posts.
    Overall I wouldn't buy from them again not because of the kit but the bad communication and long shipping time. Plus the kit is very incomplete, had to source greeblies, scope and scope mounts form other sources.
    Sidewinder all the way (better, cheaper, more complete kits).
  2. mrgr8ness's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,604
    May 28, 2008, 4:54 PM - Re: Vaticast (just an opinion) #2

    I think the biggest reason that people rip them, is because they are recasters. The webley kit is apparently a direct recast of Sidewinders kit. He had a thread a while back even showing all the exact nicks and gouges.
  3. Dougie Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    295
    May 28, 2008, 5:23 PM - Re: Vaticast (just an opinion) #3

    On inspecting the stocks, they definitely have the same marks and scrapes.
    The main body, I'm not so sure.
  4. Sidewinder's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    446
    May 29, 2008, 7:08 AM - Re: Vaticast (just an opinion) #4

    It is a definite recast, as said I showed all the evidence. However, the ROTJ kit you got recently is from different/newer molds so some of the areas that were blocked off with plasticine etc will be different now.

    Look at the serial numbers stamped in various places (assuming VCS hasn't removed them).

    SAS

Similar Threads

  1. Opinion on Helmet
    By TK8495 in forum Site Support & News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Jul 30, 2009, 7:47 AM
  2. I need your opinion Guys
    By Lokan in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Jun 21, 2009, 1:32 PM
  3. Opinion
    By escho34 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Jun 25, 2008, 8:37 PM
  4. I need an opinion
    By recklessabandon in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 1, 2008, 8:00 PM
  5. need opinion one or two
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2006, 1:31 PM