TRASH CAN ARMOR! *PICS*

From
    winters, california

Re: TRASH CAN ARMOR! *PICS*

thats a great idea! im about to start my first costume and i think im going to try your method. it looks fantastic. wish me luck.

From
    Carlisle, PA

awesome idea!!! I'm thinking about trying this for my first set. I'm looking to do a budget fett for conventions and such and overtime upgrading piece by piece until I'm happy with it for 501st approval. This would be an excellent starting point!

From
    gainsville GA

wow thanks for this post. I'm new to the whole building your own armor idea so this really helps me get off the ground for my suit

Dragon-con 2010 here I come!

Definitely have to try this when I get mine up and running. Thanks for sharing!

From
    Louisville, KY

I was in Meijer today, and I found a stack of three to five of the original garbage cans used, so either these have been around there a long time, or they're just hard to find.

From
    In the heat of Avondale Az

Nice Thread!!

How do you get the templates to fit out on a printable sheet? I think they're going to be a bit too large.

From
    Marion, Ohio

Been surfing the topics around here for awhile till I came upon this and had to register. Brilliant idea.

This is going to be my winter project as well as customizing my Jango helm. I was going to try sintra but I think I'll give this a go first. Time to make a list and gather materials.

I'll be starting my own trashcan armor today. Going to Kmart to look for the right size and material trashcans.

What was used to initially cut out the rough shapes before scoring them with a knife to get them in proper shape?

Could a dremel be used as well? To smooth out rough edges? Are regular scissors not strong enough to cut through the trashcan material? And what is a good way to heat the plastic to mold it to shape (as for the back plate over the shoulders? Hot water?

Thanks!!!

dude thats brilliant!

From
    Corbin, Ky

Stevexe said: View Post