The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

  1. #1
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    OK, I received my vest with the jumpsuit recently and I really like the material - a nice slight sheen to it with a little extra thickess. (the shine here is accentuated because of the flash.) It comes in Prepro-like light gray, but I'm sure they would do it in another color if you asked.

    Pros:
    - nice, slightly padded thickness
    - great fit
    - good proportions (shoulder caps, fit through the chest)
    - neckseal attached
    - zipper back
    - nice neckseal

    Cons:
    - too long
    - velcro sewed in all the wrong places
    - no slots for harness straps in back
    - quilted rows may be a little too small

    Resolving Issues:
    - I removed all velcro and sewed back on where it meets up with my armor. You'll need to add extra as well. (best to ask them to not sew on the velcro, but still include it in shipment)
    - I shortened it (like hemming up a pair of pants)
    - added extra velcro in back for the backplate
    - Mrs. TK-409 sewed some slots for the harness in back. Thanks honey!

    http://www.tk409.com/images/fett/vest/3.jpg
    http://www.tk409.com/images/fett/vest/4.jpg








  2. #2

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS COMING*

    I'll be interested in seeing some pics. I've never heard much good come from PPalace customers. Except for the ammo belt, the pouches were decent.

  3. #3
    ukscout's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    From
    South Devon UK
    Posts
    297

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    hi chris

    the vest looks good, how did you pay for it and how long did it take to get to you in the post?

    cheers

    neil
    uk-scoutTB7290
    www.uk-scout.co.uk
    ukbikerscout@hotmail.com



  4. #4

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    Wow that's pretty nice. The material looks a bit too shiny for my taste though, but besides from that it looks really good.

    -Mikael

  5. #5

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    That design does look pretty nice. Good score TK4

  6. #6
    hansoloway's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Palatine, IL
    Posts
    1,212

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    I have one of these vests and had to completely modify it as well. I shortened it, moved some velcro around and heavily modified the back to accomidate the jet pack. I also thought it was too shiney so I misted it with white and grey spray paint. It turned out quite well.

  7. #7
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*


    micke wrote:

    ...a bit too shiny for my taste though...
    -Mikael
    I'll take some photos in daylight this afternoon. The flash really amplifies the slight sheen. more pics coming.

  8. #8
    Jango's kid's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    SW Minnesota, very small town
    Posts
    2,517

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    Whoa, that is a damn fine looking vest! I'd be super happy with that! armour looks top-notch as well! very nice set-up!

  9. #9
    METALBOY
    Guest

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    I've got the same vest but it's thinner than yours I guess who ever made it has improved the padding thickness. I had the vest put away for about a year now and was contemplating on throwing it away. I always wanted to do some modifications on it ,so I might just do it. For those who are wondering how long it takes for shipping well it took close to three months for mine to arrive and I wasn't happy with it at all.

  10. #10
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*


    ukscout wrote:

    ...the vest looks good, how did you pay for it and how long did it take to get to you in the post?
    Here's the link:
    http://www.geocities.com/theproppalace/costumes1.html
    I got both the jumpsuit and the vest in 4 weeks.

  11. #11
    ukscout's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2002
    From
    South Devon UK
    Posts
    297

    Re: The Prop Palace Vest Review *PICS UPDATED*

    hi chris

    thanks for the link, just a quick q

    did you buy online or did you send a cheuqe or MO to place your order as im thinking of buying mine from there.


    cheers

    neil
    uk-scout
    WWW.UK-SCOUT.CO.UK
    ukbikerscout@hotmail.com

Similar Threads

  1. Prop Palace flak vest
    By stevel48 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Nov 5, 2003, 12:16 PM
  2. My Prop Palace Jumpsuit Update - PICS ADDED!!! 10/05 DYED!
    By Jedi-Bob in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: Oct 13, 2003, 10:20 PM
  3. Prop Palace Coveralls Owners - HELP!!!
    By Jedi-Bob in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Aug 7, 2003, 10:52 PM
  4. The Prop Palace jumpsuit
    By Migrate from As You Wish in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 77
    Last Post: Jul 31, 2003, 10:15 AM
  5. Prop Palace armor....???
    By Tim Allen in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: Feb 11, 2003, 8:55 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •