Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

  1. #1

    Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    Click here.

    Price seems good. I'd probably replace the bits with machined aluminum ones.

    Are they recasts?

    Anybody else bought from this seller?

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can provide any input,

  2. #2
    superjedi's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2003
    From
    Newport News, VA
    Posts
    4,313

    Re: Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    I swear I've heard that seller's name before. . . but I can't remember the context.

    EDIT: Just did a search for the seller's name. Only found 2 comments about him, but both were positive. Anyone else had experiences with this guy?
    Last edited by superjedi; Aug 29, 2007 at 10:26 PM.

  3. #3
    I helped at SDCC '08 MandalorFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    From
    California USA
    Posts
    2,738

    Re: Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    The pieces look pretty inaccurate, and thin shells. Not sure about the seller.

  4. #4
    Bubba Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    I know him and would be very surprised if they were recasts - he HATES recasters. The molds I have seen at his place he has either made, traded something for, or bought. He is a very nice guy (and a member of the 501st) and has been very helpful as I have made my costumes.

    That said I have bought things from him in the past, and you sort of get what you pay for. I got a JP from him and part of it is vacuum formed and was really soft. The resin parts though were top notch, however, and I may build another pack around those pieces.

    I do have a pair of gauntlets from him and they are ok, but not super accurate. Actually I got some shin tools and a rocket from him that were great, so it's hit and miss.

    This is one of those times where you have decide which is more valuable, your time or money? Me, I would probably save up and buy a BKBT, MOW or one of the other sets probably.

  5. #5

    Re: Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    I have bought from him before.He is a very good seller.I had no problems.Those gauntlets look pretty decent actually.

  6. #6
    Bubba Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    SF Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    1,308

    Re: Opinions Wanted on Gauntlets on eBay

    wickedbeard said: View Post
    Those gauntlets look pretty decent actually.
    Yes, they do look sharper than the ones I bought from actually. Might be a new mold.

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on this ebay Jango armor as a cheap start for a female mando?
    By skruffynerfherder in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: Sep 1, 2009, 11:22 PM
  2. MQ-1 circuit board..opinions wanted
    By Jluck in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Nov 22, 2007, 1:50 PM
  3. wanted to show off and get opinions on my idea
    By morpheus1977 in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 12, 2007, 9:11 AM
  4. ESB gauntlets-- opinions please
    By slave1pilot in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Oct 1, 2005, 5:26 AM
  5. Fiberglass Armor (Opinions wanted)
    By C*E*N*O*B*Y*T*E in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Nov 18, 2004, 3:19 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •