Opinions please - My First try at painting

  1. #1
    Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    From
    New England
    Posts
    250

    Opinions please - My First try at painting

    Brutal honesty please. I put these shoulder bells together yesterday and this is my first painted peice. I figured I should start with something small and easy to redo before I get into painting my helmet. I cut the shoulders out of Sintra, shaped them, painted them and weathered them.

    I have my own opinions which I will keep to myself until I've heard from some of you. These are ESB styled and the pic has changed the color some but not much.

    Anything goes, what do you think?


  2. #2
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    Very Nice!
    I Really like the color on the right Bell, and the weathering is really nice...I think the Left one is a little too clean looking, and maybe needs a little more orange (but then again I know how the flash washes out alot of detail)
    Where did you get the decal by the way?
    Josh

  3. #3
    Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    From
    New England
    Posts
    250

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    Thanks Bro. My problem with the lighter/left bell was lack of ref pics. I went through the movie and got screen shots wherever possible and Fett always seems to have the cape draped over the left one. It is a little dirtier in person as well. The left bell in ESB is more yellow than orange too, at least from what I've seen.

    The decal I printed out on some photo paper sprayed the backside with spray adhesive and stuck it on, cleared over it in the end too.

  4. #4
    Kripps's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2004
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    203

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    I hear you on the lack of reference.


    Christo Fett said:
    The decal I printed out on some photo paper sprayed the backside with spray adhesive and stuck it on, cleared over it in the end too.
    Wish I thought of that........

    Josh

  5. #5
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    I really dig what you did man... looks great!

    One thing I'm noticing (could be wrong) is that the curve on the bells seems a bit too much? Does that make sense? They seem to be bent a bit too much... not sure how to describe it.

    I like the paint job, nice use of layering.

  6. #6
    Christo Fett's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2005
    From
    New England
    Posts
    250

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    You think they need to be a little flatter? I guess when I get myself a vest it'll be easier to tell when attaching them. I do see what you mean though.

  7. #7
    RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    From
    Same planet as you, in a country that is below sea-level... the Nether-realm.. Oh wait.. Netherlands
    Posts
    2,173

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    ur doing one hell of a good job there!! keep it up!!

  8. #8

    Member Since
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    10

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    Hi Christo, welcome. For your first painted piece I think you've done incredibly well. I agree with Kripps that the right bell does look a little too clean but that is nothing a little weathering can't cure. Really good job though, keep it up! You can only get better thru repetition anyway! It's always a good idea to start small. I think Kripps went thru like 2 other buckets before he was satisfied!! I'd rather go thru a few shoulder bells!

  9. #9
    Sir BobaFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2005
    From
    Rivendale, England
    Posts
    48

    Re: Opinions please - My First try at painting

    I like them they have that well used look




    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Expanded Universe Bounty Hunters
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 23, 2008, 12:52 AM
  2. Can I get some opinions on this please?
    By bradbucholtz in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Feb 23, 2008, 5:44 PM
  3. Looking for Opinions
    By mandosoldier in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 19, 2007, 11:54 AM
  4. Opinions please.
    By Kripps in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: Mar 20, 2006, 10:47 PM
  5. Your opinions, please...
    By jarodpenn in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Dec 6, 2004, 10:04 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •