Subscribe
  1. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    503
    Dec 28, 2005, 3:58 PM - Opinions please on this base gun. #1

    Going to start a scratchbuilt ROTJ. What do you guys think of this toy 357 as a base gun?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails dsc01325-jpg   dsc01328-jpg  
  2. RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,173
    Dec 28, 2005, 4:41 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #2

    looks like a nice bet, you can even leave the left side of the handle off and attach your grip for the stock there by simply screwing it into place.

    go for it
  3. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    503
    Dec 28, 2005, 5:56 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #3

    yeah, the whole gun comes apart in halves. i was thinking about injecting something into the middle to make it heavier and sturdier.
  4. I helped at SDCC '08 MandalorFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,738
    Dec 28, 2005, 7:06 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #4

    Looks good. A little PVC, sintra, and paint and you're on your way!
  5. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    503
    Dec 28, 2005, 7:10 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #5

    Yup. Heading to home depot in a few minutes
  6. psberetta's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    751
    Dec 28, 2005, 9:51 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #6

    That looks like the same one I used..... Worked out great.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_0422-jpg   100_0431-jpg   100_0443-jpg  

    100_0447-jpg   100_0617-jpg  
  7. LionsPride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    208
    Dec 28, 2005, 10:09 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #7

    Nice find

    love the idea that the grips come off, like RBF said, will work nice for attaching the stock plate

    Ive made a few scratch build props, an e11 and a mg34, that didnt turn out bad. I'm thinking about tackling an ROTJ version myself.

    Anyone know of any tutorials around ? I'd love to compile as much info as I can before I start a project.
  8. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Dec 28, 2005, 10:16 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #8

    That's the same pistol I was going to use .
    Last edited by slave1pilot; Dec 30, 2005 at 12:28 AM.
  9. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    503
    Dec 28, 2005, 11:02 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #9

    Thanks for the pics psberetta, that gives me a great idea of its potential.
    I just picked up everything but the rifle stock. I've got scrap wood lying around the house but I don't know if I want to use wood. I'll post pics of my assembly progress as it happens.
  10. psberetta's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    751
    Dec 30, 2005, 9:47 AM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #10

    No prob
  11. HeadlessHunter's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,584
    Dec 30, 2005, 10:47 AM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #11

    Yeah looks promising, remember to post any progress pics!!

Similar Threads

  1. OPINIONS: How's this for a jumpsuit base?
    By Peregrinus in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Apr 24, 2009, 7:28 PM
  2. possible base helmet
    By Ronin677 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Dec 9, 2006, 7:37 AM
  3. Base gun
    By Ronin677 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Oct 11, 2005, 6:53 AM
  4. Base paint job.
    By soilman in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Oct 13, 2004, 1:30 PM