Subscribe
  1. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    507
    Dec 28, 2005, 4:58 PM - Opinions please on this base gun. #1

    Going to start a scratchbuilt ROTJ. What do you guys think of this toy 357 as a base gun?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01325.jpg 
Views:	204 
Size:	61.9 KB 
ID:	7597   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC01328.jpg 
Views:	202 
Size:	64.7 KB 
ID:	7598  
  2. RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,173
    Dec 28, 2005, 5:41 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #2

    looks like a nice bet, you can even leave the left side of the handle off and attach your grip for the stock there by simply screwing it into place.

    go for it
  3. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    507
    Dec 28, 2005, 6:56 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #3

    yeah, the whole gun comes apart in halves. i was thinking about injecting something into the middle to make it heavier and sturdier.
  4. I helped at SDCC '08 MandalorFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,738
    Dec 28, 2005, 8:06 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #4

    Looks good. A little PVC, sintra, and paint and you're on your way!
  5. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    507
    Dec 28, 2005, 8:10 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #5

    Yup. Heading to home depot in a few minutes
  6. psberetta's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    751
    Dec 28, 2005, 10:51 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #6

    That looks like the same one I used..... Worked out great.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0422.JPG 
Views:	185 
Size:	62.4 KB 
ID:	7613   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0431.JPG 
Views:	177 
Size:	65.0 KB 
ID:	7614   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0443.JPG 
Views:	178 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	7615  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0447.JPG 
Views:	179 
Size:	63.5 KB 
ID:	7616   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_0617.JPG 
Views:	163 
Size:	69.1 KB 
ID:	7617  
  7. LionsPride's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    208
    Dec 28, 2005, 11:09 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #7

    Nice find

    love the idea that the grips come off, like RBF said, will work nice for attaching the stock plate

    Ive made a few scratch build props, an e11 and a mg34, that didnt turn out bad. I'm thinking about tackling an ROTJ version myself.

    Anyone know of any tutorials around ? I'd love to compile as much info as I can before I start a project.
  8. slave1pilot is offline slave1pilot
    Dec 28, 2005, 11:16 PM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #8

    That's the same pistol I was going to use .
    Last edited by slave1pilot; Dec 30, 2005 at 1:28 AM.
  9. digital509's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    507
    Dec 29, 2005, 12:02 AM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #9

    Thanks for the pics psberetta, that gives me a great idea of its potential.
    I just picked up everything but the rifle stock. I've got scrap wood lying around the house but I don't know if I want to use wood. I'll post pics of my assembly progress as it happens.
  10. psberetta's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    751
    Dec 30, 2005, 10:47 AM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #10

    No prob
  11. HeadlessHunter's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,584
    Dec 30, 2005, 11:47 AM - Re: Opinions please on this base gun. #11

    Yeah looks promising, remember to post any progress pics!!

Similar Threads

  1. OPINIONS: How's this for a jumpsuit base?
    By Peregrinus in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Apr 24, 2009, 8:28 PM
  2. possible base helmet
    By Ronin677 in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Dec 9, 2006, 8:37 AM
  3. Base gun
    By Ronin677 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Oct 11, 2005, 7:53 AM
  4. Base paint job.
    By soilman in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: Oct 13, 2004, 2:30 PM