Opinions needed on costume

  1. #1

    Opinions needed on costume

    I'm new to the world of Fett but I've been lurking on the boards for some time now. I came across a deal for an almost complete costume from a fellow 501st member but lacking any knowledge I was going to see what you guys think of it and how much work it appears needs to be done.

    [table] style="width: 100%"
    |-
    | style="font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" | [table] align="center" style="width: 100%"
    |-
    | valign="top" style="font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" | [table] cellspacing="1" cellpadding="3" style="width: 100%"
    |-
    | width="100%" valign="top" style="font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; background-color: rgb(212, 189, 164); color: rgb(0, 0, 0)" | [table] cellpadding="4" style="width: 100%"
    |-
    | colspan="2" style="font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif" | Here are the pics -Boba armor pictures by rk4679 - Photobucket
    |-
    [/table]

    |-
    [/table]

    |-
    [/table]

    |-
    [/table]

    I can see that the spats on the bottom of the flight suit needs to be a Velcro strap for the ESB version, which the gauntlets are, and that the cape will need to be reworked but overall, how does it look to your trained eyes? The seller did not know the maker of the pieces since he bought it used over 4 years ago. Said it appears the armor is fiberglass. I figure I would need a new flight suit regardless since I have doubts the one provided would fit my frame and maybe a replacement of the vest. Thank for any input guys.

  2. #2
    DanzoFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2009
    From
    Ireland
    Posts
    462

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Looks a lot like star fortress...are some other shady prop builder..I know cus I bought something close to that cost a lot to start over...buy at ur own risk..

  3. #3

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Thanks for the heads up. I took a look after you said that and it does appear to be one in the same. Following your advice and passing, not to mention that most would not fit me anyway.

  4. #4
    intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    From
    England
    Posts
    603

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    There are no shortcuts.

  5. #5

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Too good to be true is usually the safe bet

  6. #6

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    I would pass on that. No thank you. Fett is a journey, don't be in a hurry

  7. #7
    sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    From
    Modesto, California
    Posts
    872

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Pass on it. You'll be happy you did.

  8. #8
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,269

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    intwenothor said: View Post
    There are no shortcuts.
    Once in a blue moon you'll get a good deal, but definately no shortcuts to a quality Fett. Keep an eye on the cargo hold act fast but with Haste. Dont jump on something you dont have any idea about. Ask questions but if its any of the Major players the person selling will name the maker and all. If they dont know who its made by and it looks shotty potentially it is shotty. You can always PM myself or TX Fett(he knows way more then me) but we're always around the forum.

  9. #9

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Thanks for the help. Overall do you think Boba or Jango is the more expensive if the two?

  10. #10
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,269

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Tough question, well depends on what you do for stuff, blasters for jango can be pricey...but if you have to have stuff painted Boba can be pricer then the Jango...I paint so I dont have that issue.

  11. #11

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    If you have the skill, time and patience to do it yourself, you'll be happier with your finished fett in the end. Something you made and can be proud of.

  12. #12

    Re: Opinions needed on costume

    Good advice guy's.

Similar Threads

  1. ROTJ upper cheek color...opinions needed plz!!!
    By Jluck in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Sep 4, 2007, 7:09 PM
  2. OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET*
    By slave1pilot in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Mar 12, 2007, 4:06 PM
  3. Opinions needed on Jango bucket
    By dark1rises in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Nov 28, 2006, 4:53 PM
  4. Accurate Hood -- Opinions Needed
    By LisaFett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Aug 18, 2003, 11:06 PM
  5. Opinions needed(PICS)...
    By Nicholas Wolfwood in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 9, 2003, 11:12 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •