Subscribe
  1. Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Aug 2, 2012, 9:13 AM - Opinions needed on costume #1

    I'm new to the world of Fett but I've been lurking on the boards for some time now. I came across a deal for an almost complete costume from a fellow 501st member but lacking any knowledge I was going to see what you guys think of it and how much work it appears needs to be done.

    Here are the pics -Boba armor pictures by rk4679 - Photobucket

    I can see that the spats on the bottom of the flight suit needs to be a Velcro strap for the ESB version, which the gauntlets are, and that the cape will need to be reworked but overall, how does it look to your trained eyes? The seller did not know the maker of the pieces since he bought it used over 4 years ago. Said it appears the armor is fiberglass. I figure I would need a new flight suit regardless since I have doubts the one provided would fit my frame and maybe a replacement of the vest. Thank for any input guys.
  2. DanzoFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    510
    Aug 2, 2012, 10:26 AM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #2

    Looks a lot like star fortress...are some other shady prop builder..I know cus I bought something close to that cost a lot to start over...buy at ur own risk..
  3. Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Aug 2, 2012, 10:52 AM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #3

    Thanks for the heads up. I took a look after you said that and it does appear to be one in the same. Following your advice and passing, not to mention that most would not fit me anyway.
  4. intwenothor's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    651
    Aug 2, 2012, 2:29 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #4

    There are no shortcuts.
  5. Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Aug 2, 2012, 3:42 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #5

    Too good to be true is usually the safe bet
  6. BobaFiend's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    783
    Aug 2, 2012, 11:10 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #6

    I would pass on that. No thank you. Fett is a journey, don't be in a hurry
  7. sleepalot's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2012
    Posts
    889
    Aug 2, 2012, 11:33 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #7

    Pass on it. You'll be happy you did.
  8. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,451
    Aug 3, 2012, 12:22 AM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #8

    Quote intwenothor said: View Post
    There are no shortcuts.
    Once in a blue moon you'll get a good deal, but definately no shortcuts to a quality Fett. Keep an eye on the cargo hold act fast but with Haste. Dont jump on something you dont have any idea about. Ask questions but if its any of the Major players the person selling will name the maker and all. If they dont know who its made by and it looks shotty potentially it is shotty. You can always PM myself or TX Fett(he knows way more then me) but we're always around the forum.
  9. Member Since
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13
    Aug 3, 2012, 8:55 AM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #9

    Thanks for the help. Overall do you think Boba or Jango is the more expensive if the two?
  10. High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,451
    Aug 3, 2012, 9:03 AM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #10

    Tough question, well depends on what you do for stuff, blasters for jango can be pricey...but if you have to have stuff painted Boba can be pricer then the Jango...I paint so I dont have that issue.
  11. Armydad's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    345
    Aug 3, 2012, 1:45 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #11

    If you have the skill, time and patience to do it yourself, you'll be happier with your finished fett in the end. Something you made and can be proud of.
  12. Aug 3, 2012, 9:08 PM - Re: Opinions needed on costume #12

    Good advice guy's.

Similar Threads

  1. ROTJ upper cheek color...opinions needed plz!!!
    By Jluck in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Sep 4, 2007, 7:09 PM
  2. OPINIONS NEEDED *ROTJ OR ESB HELMET*
    By slave1pilot in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Mar 12, 2007, 4:06 PM
  3. Opinions needed on Jango bucket
    By dark1rises in forum Jango Fett Costume
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Nov 28, 2006, 4:53 PM
  4. Accurate Hood -- Opinions Needed
    By LisaFett in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: Aug 18, 2003, 11:06 PM
  5. Opinions needed(PICS)...
    By Nicholas Wolfwood in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 9, 2003, 11:12 PM