Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Opinions on flak jackets

  1. #1
    TJDFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    From
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314

    Opinions on flak jackets

    Hey everybody. I'm in the market for a flak jacket, and I wanted some opinions. I've been planning on buying bobamaker's for a while. In your opinions, tell me who's got the best out there. ROTJ style. Pictures would help greatly, as the most important factor is the shade and color of the material. Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Hands down, Bobamaker is the most accurate vest you can possibly get. Before I go into explaining why, take a look at my vest:



    His vests are an off-white color, and if you choose to have him weather it for you, your vest will look incredibly screen-accurate. You won't have that reflecting sheen in your pictures like you see with a lot of other vests. I've had my vest EXTENSIVELY modified by Daz himself, including adding a seam running a long the bottom, as well as a double stitched seam on each side to replicate the AOSW vest, which was clearly tailored to the wearer. I also had him sew the holes for the jetpack harness straps and lower bars, as seen on the MOM vest.

    Above all, THE most important factor when getting your vest is the size. The vest (as well as the flightsuit) needs to be FORM-FITTED. It needs to almost hug your sides, as that's how it fits the wearer in both the screen apperances and promo-photos. I can't tell you how off the baggy flak vest looks, making the armor look flat and hanging. I've honestly sent my vest back to Daz a good 3 times just to get it perfect.

    P.S. - Opt for the no-neckseal vest. Your neckseal should be sewn onto the flightsuit, like ALL of the original suits.

    Hope this helps you out man.

  3. #3
    TJDFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    From
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Wow! That's actually a huge help and very comforting to hear. Needles to say, Daz has an email sitting in his inbox I've never actually head of these seams. Have they been confirmed as screen accurate? I wouldn't mind getting them myself. Also, what did he charge for the modifications? (especially the jetpack strap/bar holes)

  4. #4
    Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Yup, here's a great shot of the double stitching on the AOSW vest:


    Back slots for the hooks as seen on MOM vest:

  5. #5

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Yeah I completely agree. I bought the Bobamaker as well and have never been disappointed with it, in fact I've also bought his boot spikes, helmet, collar armor, and gloves. He always delivers quality product. However it's not cheap. The price of the product is fair, but he's in the UK, so for those of us in the US it gets pricey, Ladysewforus is stateside and also does good soft parts. But if you're willing to pay the extra BM is never a bad idea.


  6. #6
    TJDFett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    From
    North Carolina
    Posts
    314

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Ponte said: View Post
    Yup, here's a great shot of the double stitching on the AOSW vest
    Ahhhhh. I see the seam, I'll be sure to specify that I want that in mine. Do you have a BM jumpsuit? I guess while I have an active thread, I might as well get opinions on those

  7. #7
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,124

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    He does required a extensive amount of tayloring as will any flightsuit if you want it to fit perfect...ladysewforus will be close and probably want to get it taylored to u

  8. #8
    Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    TJDFett said: View Post
    Ahhhhh. I see the seam, I'll be sure to specify that I want that in mine. Do you have a BM jumpsuit? I guess while I have an active thread, I might as well get opinions on those
    Yea Bro, Bobamaker suit, and I've had so much tailoring done on it (after the photo taken) that I may as well bought a new suit. I moved the pockets up, got the sleeves and pant legs MUCH more form fitted. In my opinion, Bobamaker uses the most spot-on fabric weight for the jumpsuit. Reminds me of my M1942 reproduction US Paratrooper jumpsuit, which is made out of 100% cotton twill, and reacts very much like the screen used Boba suit.

  9. #9
    TommyD's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2010
    From
    Kaiserslaturn Germany
    Posts
    68

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Ponte as a new member to TDH I just want to say thank you already for some great advice. I am in the info collecting stage and just a few weeks away from the ordering stage (my wife isn't going to be happy about that stage).

    I was going with BM for the flightsuit and flack vest. I had intended on getting the vest with the neck seal sewn on until I read that you recommend having it sewn onto the flight suit. Is this modification something that Daz will do or is there another outlet to get the neck seal from?

  10. #10
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,530

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Ponte said: View Post
    Hands down, Bobamaker is the most accurate vest you can possibly get.
    You won't have that reflecting sheen in your pictures like you see with a lot of other vests.
    You mean the reflecting sheen on the vest that's seen on display at C4 and at the Magic of myth exhibit?



    Because it's also on the neckseal that isn't weathered as much, but is the same material(photo from MOM)


    and it's also there on the Pre-Pro Bobas




    and also in ESB


    The weathering makes the sheen less noticeable.
    For example, here is my vest before weathering;


    and after weathering;




    so, I am saying the Sheen should be there since it was on the original suits.


    Ponte said: View Post
    I've had my vest EXTENSIVELY modified by Daz himself, including adding a seam running a long the bottom, as well as a double stitched seam on each side to replicate the AOSW vest, which was clearly tailored to the wearer.
    The double seam is present in the AOSW display and at C4
    But...
    Not in the MOM disply;


    (also, notice the sheen on that pic)

    or at the "Star Wars, The Exhibition"


    so, what I'm saying is;
    Single stitch and double stitch are both accurate.

    Now that the facts have been given, here is my opinion on the best Vest maker;
    Crazy4bobafett
    Christi does absolutely fabulous work. She is very detail oriented and uses the correct Tackle-Twill (as far as we know at this point, that is)
    She takes numerous measurements and tailor-makes each vest. They are sized to your body, and not just made from some basic pattern.

  11. #11
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,124

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    WELL if u can find him Loanstar has the same thing as well...and as far as the neck seal not sewn to the vest it cant be because the seal seals in the front not the back of the neck so like on mine its a separate piece from the vest and the suit but could be put to the suit if u wanted but having it separate piece you can run a cable for a voice amp down through it

  12. #12
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,530

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    WELL if u can find him Loanstar has the same thing as well...and as far as the neck seal not sewn to the vest it cant be because the seal seals in the front not the back of the neck so like on mine its a separate piece from the vest and the suit but could be put to the suit if u wanted but having it separate piece you can run a cable for a voice amp down through it
    The vest and neckseal ARE NOT attached to each other.
    The Neckseal IS attached to the Jumpsuit.

  13. #13

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    The reality is, of all the bazillion pieces that make this complicated costume what it is, the flak vest remains one of the few pieces, along with the neck seal yet to be properly replicated by anyone in correct material or pattern. I have a BM vest made from tackle twill, and I can tell you, despite that the color is exactly right, there is no way the tackle twill material is correct. The shine is completely different from the screen used suit, with or without weathering. And it is far too heavy of a material. Just too stiff to drape properly, especially on the neck seal. The screen used vest has a very thin material on the shell and it looks more like a nylon twill because of the shine. Nylon has a very plastic shine like you see in the display photos. The tackle twill has a multi-banded shine like silk or satin. But just like everyone else, I am just guessing at this. It's just strictly my opinion. What I wouldn't give for the lost info on what they really did use. I have been hunting for the correct material for about two years now.

  14. #14
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,124

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Slave1pilot i said it Cant be attached to the vest not the flightsuit...I was saying you could have it as a third piece all together to hide the cord from a mic

  15. #15

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    eh got mine attached to my vest and it works fine. As for the sheen or not, I;m liking the realism of not having the sheen. I've just spent a year in the desert without the level of combat most soldiers see, let alone the amount of combat Fett would have seen, and believe me after about 2 months in a desert/sandy climate nothing has sheen, it's all just dirty and dull. Plus to me, the sheen just looks at odds with all the rest of the grit and grime, almost like he washed the vest but not the rest of his armor.

  16. #16
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,530

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Obviously, you can leave your neckseal unattached from the jumpsuit and you can make your vest out of any material you'd like.
    but...
    If you are attempting to replicate the ACTUAL COSTUME then you will need to attach the neckseal to the jumpsuit and the vest should have some sheen to it.

  17. #17
    james007bond's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    From
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    348

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    My BM vest as no sheen whatsoever and does not resemble the C4 or MOM pictures above...
    Last edited by james007bond; Aug 28, 2010 at 12:41 PM.

  18. #18
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,124

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    The actual vest had no curve...it was cut to accommodate the bars...This is the only image Ive seen of the "cutout" which is just cuts in the material not curved not openings like bobamaker does either

  19. #19
    Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    As far as the sheen goes, those museum pictures really don't give off the reflective tendencies of a brand new vest...they're clearly weathered, beat to ****, and yes, while they aren't a complete FLAT color, they aren't a shiny article of clothing. Heck, shuffle through my CV pics on facebook, and depending on how you take the picture (flash/lighting/etc) you can see a "sheen". Either way, super-shine vests detract from the overall appearance.

    Maybe I didn't clarify, but as far as the double-stitch seam, that's for only the AOSW vest. It isn't on the MoM.

    Now back to what this thread was originally intended for, answering TDJFett's questions, I can say that from just my eye and research, my opinion is to go with a bobamaker flightsuit and flak-vest. If you're doing straight up ROTJ, I would go by the MoM Exhibit photos as far as the stitching/weathering. Just let Daz know, be very specific, and you'll receive some incredible soft parts that really make you stand out. I've gotten A LOT of compliments on the suit, which re-affirmed I chose right.

    And just to re-iterate man, make sure it's FORM FITTED! Expect to head to your local tailor, OR, take as many minute measurements as you can before you hand them off to Daz.

    Really hoped we could all help you out. Any other questions you have, just shoot me a PM.

  20. #20
    High Speed Low Drag Fett 4 Real's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    From
    USAF Utah
    Posts
    5,124

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    The vest and neckseal ARE NOT attached to each other.
    The Neckseal IS attached to the Jumpsuit.
    All i was saying bud was that it shouldnt be attached to the vest being its seam is in the front of the neck...it doesnt have to be attached to the flightsuit thats a prepro flightsuit who knows what happened for ROTJ or ESB, as long as the seals not attached to the vest backwards which I almost did last year when i got it

  21. #21
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    3,530

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Ponte said: View Post
    As far as the sheen goes, those museum pictures really don't give off the reflective tendencies of a brand new vest...they're clearly weathered, beat to ****, and yes, while they aren't a complete FLAT color, they aren't a shiny article of clothing. Heck, shuffle through my CV pics on facebook, and depending on how you take the picture (flash/lighting/etc) you can see a "sheen". Either way, super-shine vests detract from the overall appearance.

    Maybe I didn't clarify, but as far as the double-stitch seam, that's for only the AOSW vest. It isn't on the MoM.

    Thanks for reiterating what I said about the stitching & the sheen (and the weathering required to dull it).

    Ponte said: View Post
    Now back to what this thread was originally intended for, answering TDJFett's questions, I can say that from just my eye and research, my opinion is to go with a bobamaker flightsuit and flak-vest. If you're doing straight up ROTJ, I would go by the MoM Exhibit photos as far as the stitching/weathering. Just let Daz know, be very specific, and you'll receive some incredible soft parts that really make you stand out. I've gotten A LOT of compliments on the suit, which re-affirmed I chose right.

    And just to re-iterate man, make sure it's FORM FITTED! Expect to head to your local tailor, OR, take as many minute measurements as you can before you hand them off to Daz.
    I'm not on here to bash DAZ or his work . He does a good job on everything he makes, but like you said, you had to send your vest to DAZ 3 times to get what you wanted.
    I realize that here are inaccuracies in EVERY maker's wares. It all depends on what you are willing to settle for.
    I was also trying to stay on topic by offering my advice on the vest and neckseal ,while at the same time showing reference photos to substantiate my opinion . After all, the man did ask for opinions on Shade,color,and material.

    And I've gotten one or two compliments on my suit as well. I even got a compliment from this guy (although he prefers the ESB suit )
    Last edited by slave1pilot; Aug 28, 2010 at 1:39 PM.

  22. #22
    Account Deactivated
    Member Since
    Sep 2006
    From
    Spain
    Posts
    1,712

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    Fett 4 Real said: View Post
    All i was saying bud was that it shouldnt be attached to the vest being its seam is in the front of the neck...it doesnt have to be attached to the flightsuit thats a prepro flightsuit who knows what happened for ROTJ or ESB, as long as the seals not attached to the vest backwards which I almost did last year when i got it
    All the flightsuits were made by Berman and Nathan, all were made at the same time, and they were made for a new elite group called "Supertrooper", there is no reason to modify them for ESB or RotJ.

  23. #23
    Ponte's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2006
    From
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    239

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    slave1pilot said: View Post
    And I've gotten one or two compliments on my suit as well. I even got a compliment from this guy (although he prefers the ESB suit )
    Hey, then we've gotten kudos from the same guy

  24. #24
    peanutbutterstrangle's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    From
    Long Island
    Posts
    73

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    So, can someone give an actual answer to WHAT COLOR IS THE FLAK VEST. "Off white" is an arbitrary color. If I walk into a fabric store and ask for "Off white Tackle Twill" the clerk is most likely going to point you at a rack of about 7 "Off Whites".
    Last edited by webchief; Oct 11, 2010 at 8:16 AM. Reason: Another post which needed moderating due to insulting other members.

  25. #25

    Re: Opinions on flak jackets

    ya wanna calm down there mr. grumpy? lol.

Similar Threads

  1. my BM flak vest came today!!!
    By Desert_Beagle in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: Oct 9, 2008, 3:14 AM
  2. Flak jacket ?
    By Southern hunter in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2007, 8:19 AM
  3. Flak vest
    By Ronin677 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jan 24, 2006, 10:10 AM
  4. Cheap Flak Vest
    By Tguntony in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Dec 13, 2004, 11:12 AM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •