Subscribe
  1. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 9, 2006, 11:33 PM - Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #1

    Ok folks I have a bit of a delema that I can't decided the proper route to go on.

    So here it is, I am putting the finnishing touches on my pre-pro2 costume it's all done but a few last little touches. I had one of the MLC1 jet packs that i painted in the ROTJ scheme because it's a more weathered better looking jet pack, I was very happy with it and everyone else seemed to like it as well. Now recentally after MLC said he was updating his jet pack I sold my old one and I just recieved my brand new MLC v.2 jet pack (which is awesome by the way). Now the delema should I paint it ROTJ just because it looks better or should I go 100% accurate and do the less cool looking brighter pre-pro2 jet pack?

    I am looking for your opnions on this one not the usual do what ever I like better answer (only because I can't decide). Part of me wants to paint the ROTJ version just because it looks better (its colors are a little less bright and it is more weathered) but the other part of me wants to do the pre-pro2 version to go with the rest of my costume. Yes I know it doesn't really matter as most people won't know the difference but I will and you folks will.

    Oh and I need an diffinative answer soon because I have to get it painted by dragoncon and it will drive me nuts sitting around my house in all of it's silver glory.
  2. Jaster Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    266
    Aug 10, 2006, 12:00 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #2

    Go with the pre pro look on your jet pack!
  3. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 10, 2006, 12:10 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #3

    Just incase anyone doesn't know which version I am talking about here are two pics the first one is not it, that is the pre-pro1 pack the 2nd one is the one I am thinking about. Until about 12 min ago I thought it was the first one also so I am really leaning toward the pre-pro2 pack since it isn't nearly as ugly as the pre-pro1.



  4. I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,861
    Aug 10, 2006, 12:15 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #4

    I'd say if you're costume is pre-pro, then I'd suggest you do a pre-pro paint scheme on your :jet pack. Just my $0.02.
  5. Ripcode's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2,268
    Aug 10, 2006, 11:20 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #5

    Keep it all Pre-pro!

    I think it's going to look sweet!
  6. sithlord23's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,221
    Aug 10, 2006, 3:11 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #6

    Go pre-pro man! You'll be glad you did in the long run. What with the TDH strive for accuracy that flows thru us all.
  7. RBF's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,173
    Aug 10, 2006, 3:20 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #7

    I agree, ROTJ may look more "real" but it would kind of throw down the idea of your entire pre-pro suit.

    heck, everybody has a ROTJ pack, you'd be a welcoming change of routine.

    pre-pro.
  8. Tyler Durden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,696
    Aug 10, 2006, 8:23 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #8

    Just as the ROTJ and Preproduction 2 helmet are similar in terms of painting style and color, so are the ROTJ and Preproduction 2 jet pack; they are almost interchangeable. So, go Preproduction 2!
  9. DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,935
    Aug 10, 2006, 8:36 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #9

    Pre-pro 2 all the way....it's my favorite suit right after ESB....LOVE the flamethrower!!!

    Steve
  10. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 10, 2006, 11:19 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #10

    Ok I think it is settled I am doing the pre-pro2 pack! So now the big question, does any one have any more pics besides the one posted above? Or even that one but bigger?
  11. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 10, 2006, 11:20 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #11

    Quote DL44 Blaster said: View Post
    Pre-pro 2 all the way....it's my favorite suit right after ESB....LOVE the flamethrower!!!

    Steve

    Yea it was the flame thrower that sold me on the suit in the first place.
  12. DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,935
    Aug 11, 2006, 11:53 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #12

    Funny thing about the pre-pro 2 is that I have more memories as a kid seeing that suit in promotions back in 1979 than even the movie suits...the pre-pro 2 was on T-shirts, posters, and the stand ups too....It is an awesome design!!

    Can't wait to see the finished product.

    Even though my memory of the total suit is vivid, I'm not sure if these pics are of the pre-pro2 jet pack or not.....I think they are....I've studied ESB for so long, I'm afraid I've lost touch with the larger picture of Fett as an evolution of suits.

    Hope these help....I'll email them to you as they are too large to put on here.

    Steve

    EDIT: I forgot I'll need your email as the server doesn't make out address public.
  13. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 11, 2006, 11:37 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #13

    Yea I also grew up looking at the pre-pro2 suit. That is why I love this suit so much. Yes it's a techincolor wonder but I love this suit.

    Any one who wants to send me pics can e-mail them to Predatormv@aol.com

    Big thanks to everyone who is helping and offering opnions.
  14. Tyler Durden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,696
    Aug 11, 2006, 11:50 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #14

    I sent a pair your way. Hope they help a bit.
  15. Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    2,199
    Aug 12, 2006, 2:41 AM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #15

    Yes thanks Tyler they will be a big help.

    The angle I am looking for is either straight on from the back or the underside. And if anyone has the one from above in higher resolution it would help a ton.
  16. DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,935
    Aug 12, 2006, 1:05 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #16

    pics sent
  17. Tyler Durden's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,696
    Aug 12, 2006, 5:51 PM - Re: Opinion Pre-pro2 or ROTJ paint? #17

    Two more sent your way. Unfortunately, I've never seen a higher-rez shot of that particular Kenner photo.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: Sep 16, 2009, 1:38 PM
  2. Showoff: My Pre-pro2 helmet MSH2
    By Predatormv in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: Feb 4, 2009, 10:34 PM
  3. ROTJ armor paint up
    By gbeef in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: Jun 13, 2008, 12:51 AM
  4. Pre-Pro2 Blaster- anyone up for Making a Cast of Mine?
    By hellopike in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Aug 13, 2007, 9:43 PM
  5. Pre-Pro2 Helmet repaint: progress thread
    By Predatormv in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: Jun 6, 2007, 9:16 PM