ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

  1. #1
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    HOW DO I MOUNT THIS THING lol.
    this is what my chest piece looks like.
    front

    back

    and the vest I use.

    now I have already excepted the fact I will have to punch a small hole in the vest for the wires to pass through and just have the battery attached on the inside of the vest. My mulitple questions are (because I dont want to screw this up) whats the best way to attach it to the armor piece? velcro? hot glue? do I make the windows the same size as the display units so they slide though? or do I make them slightly smaller. I would love some help with this....

  2. #2
    DL44 Blaster's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    The first state
    Posts
    1,935

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I used aluminum duct tape to hold my chest display onto the rear of it. There are more fancy ways to go, but it works for me. I don't have the dimensions of the chest cut-outs on hand, perhaps somebody will chime in with them.

    Steve

  3. #3

    Member Since
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,001

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I use snaps to attach my plates to vest, but here is a pic. I used hot glue for the board and just put a little piece of velcro on the 9V

    This is a BM chest plate V2 with a Tk409 light. The top section slides right in and the bottom sits back against the plate.
    Last edited by Wes; May 15, 2008 at 10:51 PM.

  4. #4
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I hot glue mine in. I have the Shackman lights. Remember to put a small peice of dark visor lense between the armor and the lights to dim them a bit.

  5. #5
    I helped at SDCC '08 Jimmy BufFETT's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2006
    From
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,861

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I also hot glue mine in, but I have a slit in my vest to allow the wire to run through it. That way, I don't have to take the armor off the vest to turn it on/off or to change the battery. My battery is attached to my jumpsuit.

  6. #6
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I ended up just using a butt load of hot glue to attach it and all I have to do is build up the courage to put a whole in my vest for the battery line LOL

  7. #7
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    ok so I have every thing attached but now the armor plate sticks out a little so I may have to cut a hole in my vest the size of the circuit board to it sits in the hole (I am not the only one who has had to this correct?? I am very nervous about cutting a big ol hold in it...)

  8. #8
    Admin Staff webchief's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2002
    From
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,702

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    Yes, I had to cut a hole into my vest to fit the electronics as well.

  9. #9
    Predatormv's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 2002
    From
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    2,199

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    Yea I think most of us cut holes in the vest for it. I am actually cutting two holes, one behind each armor peice since the shackman lights are two boards.

  10. #10
    morpheus1977's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2006
    From
    San Diego Ca,
    Posts
    377

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    well the only whole I had to end up making was just for the wire it self. the armor plate stick out just a little bit nothing that a couple extra pieces of velcro cant fix...

  11. #11
    stormtrooperguy's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2004
    From
    Waltham, MA
    Posts
    5,039

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    i have the shackman display (the 2 board style).

    both boards are inside my vest, duct taped in. the vest is cut through to let the lights out of the chest.

  12. #12
    Admin Staff Trooper TK409's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2003
    From
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,068

    Re: ok I just got my chest Display now my question is..

    I cut a hole in my vest, ran the cord down to one of my pouches. The board doesn't lay flat on a curved chest plate so I just cut a few pieces of styene, hotglued them on to the board to make little feet to level it out - then hotglued the feet to the armor.






Similar Threads

  1. TK 409 Chest Display help please.
    By TK 4130 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: Apr 16, 2009, 2:06 PM
  2. Advice wanted for chest display to BM chest armor
    By Flettch in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Aug 24, 2008, 1:33 PM
  3. Chest Display
    By OrtharRrith in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Dec 21, 2007, 2:43 PM
  4. chest display instilation question.
    By morpheus1977 in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Dec 4, 2006, 4:03 PM
  5. My Chest Display
    By DarthBish in forum Boba Fett Costume
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Dec 29, 2004, 6:14 PM
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •