Subscribe
  1. phantomfett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    613
    Jan 2, 2010, 1:48 PM - Need opinions on Webley repair #1

    Hey everyone!

    So I recently acquired another Webley. I owned three others prior to this, but sold them all as I didn't need them any longer. Well, the Webley bug bit me again, so I bought this fourth one. Only problem is, it wasn't working properly when I got it. The hammer and trigger weren't working correctly, so I took it to a gunsmith. He opened it up and we found that the top of the trigger is broken.

    Here's the part where I need everyone's opinions: Do I try to fix it or just reassemble it broken, knowing it will never work properly that way? I've looked online at the various Webley triggers and the MK VI trigger looks the closest, but it would still need some tweaking to fit properly. But if I replace the trigger, it will likely not match the rest of the gun. Thoughts?
  2. Gilmortar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,748
    Jan 2, 2010, 1:56 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #2

    I take it that assembled the trigger doesn't seat when you cock it? and so its causing the hammer not to sear as well?
  3. phantomfett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    613
    Jan 2, 2010, 5:11 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #3

    Yes. The top of the trigger piece is broken off. It's not engaging the spring, so its not moving the hammer at all.
  4. Gilmortar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,748
    Jan 2, 2010, 7:13 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #4

    well...in all honesty, since it wont be fired at all truly, I would just leave it be. Now if you plan on flipping it...I would consider having a new trigger machined to bring the value up on it. A gunsmith should be able to recreate the trigger sear easily.
  5. phantomfett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    613
    Jan 2, 2010, 10:14 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #5

    Do you think I can recoup the $1,000 I paid for it, though, if that's not working?
  6. Gilmortar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,748
    Jan 2, 2010, 10:46 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #6

    for a collector? No. For someone looking to reproduce a Fett piece....yes. Because its not a neccessity for a Fett enthusiast, but for a collector, they are going to want a fully functional piece. Were as any collector is going to look to score low on a piece. I think your best bet IS to repair it. Check online and find some Webley Diagrams, I know they are out there...and then try replicating it yourself using JB Weld, a metallic based resin. You can put it on the piece and then sand and shave it down to work just like any trigger sear and hammer assembly.
  7. phantomfett's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    613
    Jan 2, 2010, 10:54 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #7

    I did find a MK VI trigger that looks like it can be reworked to fit. Do you JB Weld will hold under the stress of the moving parts?
    Last edited by phantomfett; Jan 2, 2010 at 10:59 PM.
  8. Gilmortar's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,748
    Jan 2, 2010, 11:11 PM - Re: Need opinions on Webley repair #8

    yeah, it is a thick metallic resin, and is VERY strong. I glued 24 1lb ball bearings together like a pyramid using JB weld and its been holding together for almost 7 years now, and hasnt ever failed. i would just glob it on and then sand it down to be exactly like that MK VI trigger and youd be set. the best part is if it doesnt work just right you can sand it down and try it over.

Similar Threads

  1. Fiberglass Repair
    By Caomhanach in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jul 27, 2009, 9:18 AM
  2. hyperfirm repair??
    By napalm in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Sep 21, 2008, 2:19 PM
  3. Any licensed AC repair guys here?
    By Wes in forum The Sarlacc Pit
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Jun 2, 2008, 9:24 PM
  4. Helmet Repair
    By Mycher in forum Boba Fett Helmet
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jul 26, 2007, 7:32 PM
  5. How to repair a crack in MS2?
    By bobafett669 in forum Prop Building Workshop
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jul 14, 2005, 10:00 PM